We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage with all the facilities”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
The back of the cottage.
This is the viaduct at Monsal Head. The tunnels on the Monsal Trail have all been reopened for visit
If you are fit you can walk from the cottage through Biggin Dale and all the way to Dove Dale.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andrewwin...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage with all the facilities”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Nice cosy cottage, which provided all the facilities we needed. Easy parking to front and quiet location. Excellent place to get away from it all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2017
So glad to hear you enjoyed your time in our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Great to hear you had a comfortable stay over Christmas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JRein26
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quintessential Country Cottage”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We absolutely loved our stay in 1 Club Cottage. Biggin is the perfect country retreat. The location was perfect. Hiking trails were very close, the adorable Waterloo pub in walking distance, and Hartington (local town) with markets, restaurants and tea rooms just 10 minutes down the road.

The cottage was so quaint, cozy and comfortable. The fireplace and board games maid it truly feel like home. We truly enjoyed our time and the only downfall was having to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
What a lovely review. Thank you so much! We are always pleased to hear when our visitors have a good time in the area, and find everything they need in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solo_trav...
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage in a picturesque setting”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A cottage with loads of charm that exceeded our expectations. It was very cosy and comfortable, especially with the added bonus of the open fire which we thoroughly enjoyed during those cool days and evenings. We loved the view of the rolling green hills with sheep and chickens just over the back fence and the wonderful neighbours we met during our stay. We spent three days in this cottage and it is one of our special experiences on our UK holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of staying in this style of dwelling, something so different to what we are used to in Australia
Liked least: Having to bring our own towels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. You made quite an impression on the neighbours too! So glad you enjoyed your UK holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was a typical Peak District stone cottage
Liked least: The weather and the downstairs bathroom/toilet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you for this review. The cottage is in the heart of the White Peak area so is a good base for exploring. Glad to hear you found all you needed in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S B
N.e lincs
1 review
“Cannot fault it”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wonderful cosy cottage in a beautiful surrounding village. Cottage has everything you may need or want, from board games to DVDs. Lovely gardens and a lovely view that comes with it. The local pub serves fantastic home made food which tastes even better when eaten infront of a log fire after a hard days walking.
Cannot praise the cottage enough, will definitely return for future stays....thank you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Thank you for this fabulous review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break in our cottage and exploring the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchvisi...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy and well equipped”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage is cosy and well equipped. The fireplace is comfortable to come home to after a day in the cold outside. The beds for one person are a bit hard but after a day hiking you will sleep anyway.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the open fire. I personally prefer a firm bed to a squishy one - better for your back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing