We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, deceptive practices”
Review of Grand Heykel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Heykel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Osmangazi B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, deceptive practices”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The location of the hotel is good, just a 5-minute walk to Ulu Camii and a block off of the main street through town. However, when booking the hotel online I didn't pay the best attention and booked the "no meal" option for the room. I've never been to a hotel in Turkey where breakfast wasn't included in the room price, so of course I wasn't looking for that when booking. The staff who checked us in said that we could add breakfast for 20TL each. After I brought to the hotel staff's attention that we had also booked and paid for a larger room (double) but were put in a smaller room (economy double), he said it was no problem for us to have the breakfast free.

Breakfast ended up being mediocre anyway, with packet jams and honey and standard Turkish breakfast fare. Definitely not worth 20TL. However, the view over Bursa was lovely from the rooftop terrace.

Our air conditioning also didn't work during our stay and the room was very warm. We didn't feel safe opening our windows to get an airflow because the window was very easily accessible by the neighboring room. We mentioned the air conditioning to the manager the next morning and he laughed it off.

If the air conditioning worked, the hotel would be comfortable and it is in a good location. However, the deception of the breakfast situation and room size brings the whole experience down.

Room Tip: Be wary when booking online that you choose the "breakfast option". Check that the AC is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjh4009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    3
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
10
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Grand Heykel Hotel has a great location, in city centre...nice, clean room.not to big but enough for 2 people..the breakfast was very good on the terace...the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Mr.Ercan....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikoalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because the location and price was reasonable, but we ended up having a terrible experience.

We booked a room through booking.com called 'double or twin room' and paid 101 TL for a night. When we got there, we were made aware that that was the rate for one person only, and that two people costs 145. We agreed, and also booked to stay the next night for the same rate. When checking out though, they jacked up the price even further and charged us 340TL.

The room itself was ok for budget accommodation but the bathroom was terrible. It hadn't been cleaned properly and the drains stank horribly. Breakfast was bad but that seems to be standard in turkey.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Romara0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Osmangazi hotels

Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Its location is great, right in the middle of the city center. The staff was nice. The breakfast was good. The only problem was that the heating system in my room was making an annoying sound all the night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramzi135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omsk, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very good location in the city centre next to the market. Breakfast on the last floor with a view over the city. Our room seemed to be not cleaned at all, we didn't have toilet paper and we had only one pair of towels. Personnel spoke English really bad, so we couldn't explain them the issue. Poor breakfast, dirty forks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreySekachev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel location is good. Close to attraction area + restaurant to eat. The reception, Mr. Ercan Aydamir is friendly and can speak English well. He has recommend a good transfer for me and family to travel to Uludag, the snow mountain + other attraction area in Bursa. My children enjoy so much at Uludag and Selale (waterfall).

The only thing to consider is that the room is just nice for 3 adults. If more than 3 adults, another room shall be consider as it is quite small.

Room Tip: Room facing main road is good view. My room is 502 and is good side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zohdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Nice pretty nice city hotel
Good place
Close to city center
Clean
Rooms are good and new furniture
Personnel are very kind

Breakfast good
Bathroom need improvement
Internet free
Best for single and couple
Maybe space problem for children family

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akcicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmangazi
0.1 mi away
Kent Hotel
Kent Hotel
#1 of 13 in Osmangazi
41 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Bursa
Ibis Bursa
#10 of 48 in Bursa
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Efehan Hotel
Efehan Hotel
#8 of 13 in Osmangazi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artic Hotel
Artic Hotel
#12 of 13 in Osmangazi
44 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kadi Konagi Hotel
Kadi Konagi Hotel
#13 of 48 in Bursa
55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tiara Hotel & SPA
Tiara Hotel & SPA
#18 of 48 in Bursa
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Heykel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Heykel Hotel

Property: Grand Heykel Hotel
Address: Ressam Sefik Bursali Cd. No:30, Osmangazi, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Bursa Province > Osmangazi
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Osmangazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Heykel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Heykel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Heykel Hotel Bursa Province, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing