We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
228
26
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
26
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jeep safari national park sri lanka the river monkey mountain attention to detail picnic breakfast wonderful experience two days naturalist guide excellent food highlight of our trip natural surroundings off the beaten track three nights swimming pool early morning
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016

My wife and I spent 2 nights here as part of a wildlife tour of Sri Lanka and we fell in love with the place. Fantastic rooms and wonderfully attentive and knowledgeable staff. We enjoyed a fabulous walk to the nearby 'lake' (10 minutes away) where we were introduced to a wide range of birds and plants by the staff naturalist. We followed this with a boat ride on Sri Lanka's largest lake and a safari jeep ride into the local wildlife reserve where we saw the very elusive Painted Francolin. The food, lunch, breakfast and evening meal were all great, as were the wines that accompanied it.

Our 'bungalow' was very large and well equipped. We particularly liked the elephant shaped taps on the sink in the bathroom, the outdoor shower and the large comfortable bed. We simply didn't want to leave

Find time to visit this magical place - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Spent 2 nights at Gal Oya lodge in March 2016. Here are the key points I remember. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and designed well. It is not AC but surprisingly cool due to the thatched roof and cement floors. The menu is interesting and service is quick, try the Chilli eggs and hoppers for breakfast, Nasi goreng for lunch and rice and curry for dinner. Do a river swim at Makare campsite at Nilgala national park and do the morning rock hike (only if you consider yourself fairly fit!). Introduce yourself to everyone from the guides to the owners (Sangjay and Tim are around most of the time).

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank RadheeshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Without exaggeration the best place I've stayed in Sri Lanka (and I've lived here 14 months).

Wild jungle location, cool cabanas, unique boat safari (tons of elephants and birds in stunning mountain setting), sufficiently grueling dawn cliff-climbing opportunities (voluntary), divine food, amazing service...the list goes on.

And I second the opinion of the January reviewer on the physical perfection of the owner.

Go if you can. It'd be the highlight of any Sri Lankan adventure.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Iona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Gal Oya Lodge is absolutely magical - we had such an amazing three nights there. The lodges are beautiful, all tucked away in the jungle, tranquil and serene - you really feel at one with nature.

The main restaurant area and pool is great as well - one can relax in the sun or shade.

The service is impeccable - all the employees are sourced from local villages and are delightful -smiley, polite and discreet.

And the food - absolutely delicious!! by far the best grub we had throughout our stay in Sri Lanka. Their Sri Lankan curries and 'hoppers' and all their produce is locally sourced and seasonal.

Would thoroughly recommend staying at Gal Oya. The owners Tim and Sanjay are both cracking young chaps and have done an amazing job with the place.

A MUST stay.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This is such a lovely place, greeted on arrival by Sebastian, who is attentive and charming though out our stay, giving the dining experience just that little bit extra. The water safari was a beautiful trip, the lake is stunning and the collection of birds and wild life is certainly enough to keep you occupied. The jeep Safari is another excellent experience and very different from any other game drive in Sril Lanka, as there are no other jeeps and the scenery is stunning. They have based the whole experience on conservation and attention to detail. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews