We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
228
26
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
26
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jeep safari national park sri lanka the river monkey mountain attention to detail picnic breakfast wonderful experience two days naturalist guide excellent food highlight of our trip natural surroundings off the beaten track three nights swimming pool early morning
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016

An intimate experience in the company of dedicated guides. A chance view wildlife without the hordes you get elsewhere. The cabanas are stunning in there design and this continues into the atap roofed hotel and infinity pool under Monkey mountain. The food is excellent. Fresh and very tasty curries. Nourishing healthy breakfasts. Good choice of wines. Probably the best way of seeing wildlife in Sr Lanka, I'd recommend the boat safari. I hope to return one day.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed for mine and my partners 9th anniversary. We wanted to treat ourselves as we are travelling for a year so broke out of the budget home stays for a treat. Well it was amazing! Very quiet and romantic. Really beautiful food and great wine. The staff were very friendly! We went on the boat safari and saw many wild animals:crocodiles, elephants, peacocks, Eagles,monkeys and many more. The staff very knowledgeable about the animals. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vincent_kittendance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

We had an excellent stay at Gal Oya. The staff were very attentive, friendly and polite and the naturalists were also very knowledgeable, and we certainly learnt a lot about the local wildlife. The food and lodge were also great, with a number of activities on offer.

Overall, it was just lovely to get away from a busy working life and relax in natural surroundings, and we would certainly recommend visiting.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

This is a superb lodge set in stunning surroundings of jungle, lakes and mountains. Staying in this remote area far from other tourists is a magical experience. The lodge and bungalows have been beautifully designed in keeping with the natural surroundings. The individual bungalows are nestled in the lush vegetation and built with all necessary comfort and no fuss. Although there is no air-con the rooms are spacious and kept cool with a good flow of air and fans. The outdoor bathrooms are an absolute delight.
The jungle drive and boat safari on the lake were particularly enjoyable with wonderful birds, as were the walks around the lodge which included one particularly interesting walk with the chief of the indigenous Veddah tribe.
The staff were friendly and efficient and the naturalists extremely knowledgable.
Gal Oya Lodge is a perfect place to stay if you want to feel close to nature but cheating a little with comfort and delicious food!
I shall be back for another stay!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhino37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

I stayed at the Gal Oya Lodge last weekend and I have to say I had an incredible stay! The room was beautiful and clean and the service was fantastic. I highly recommend to any and all travelers coming to Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heyhey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews