We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior lodging with ok staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copperstone Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copperstone Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superior lodging with ok staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Situated in the rustic hamlet of Deadman’s Flats, Copperstone Resort offers nicely decorated, fully-furnished condominium lodging. The lower floor of our 2-story unit included a complete kitchen with granite counter eating bar, dining room, living room, balcony, and bedroom with a twin size bunk bed. The upstairs consisted of a bedroom with ensuite bathroom, a 2nd bedroom with a queen bed, and a 2nd bathroom. All of the beds were comfortable. There is no bathroom on the ground floor but that was never an issue. We found the in-room washer and dryer convenient and useful. Our unit had a slight bit of wear, but mostly cosmetic and not unreasonable. The underground parkade was well-secured and easy to maneuver but could be difficult for a tall SUV or truck, and there is outdoor parking. As noted in other reviews, the WiFi was very slow, but we discovered it worked faster in the early morning and late evening. The view from our room of the Three Sisters mountain range was exceptional. During our stay, the facility was fully-booked, but the layout of the buildings is such that you hardly see or hear anyone else unless there are noisy tenants in the hallway.

The staff really tried to be helpful, though they could use some training to be more professional in a manner that matches the high quality lodging. One example is that we requested a couple sets of towels and their response was of surprise and taken aback, and stated they would provide more towels “only if they could find them” - not a very fitting response. They also questioned us as to what “set of towels” meant. In the end, they only provided us with extra bath towels. At the same time, the staff was helpful with other requests.

As another reviewer noted, a gas station is located across the road. The advantage of this is you can purchase a park pass at the gas station and avoid the vehicle queue at the park entrance to purchase the same pass.

This facility is not a resort in the classic sense, as the pool and lounge areas are somewhat modest, but it offers modern and very spacious lodging at a price less than a standard hotel room in Banff. Canmore is a 5 minute drive away, and it takes about 20 minutes on the highway to reach Banff. The drive to Lake Louise is more challenging, about 1 hour. We would stay here again if visiting Banff for a few days, or if visiting Lake Louise for one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Three Sisters. Also, purchase a park pass at the Husky gas statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. I apologize for the reception you received when requesting additional towels, as we are more than pleased to provide additional amenities to all of our guests.

Thank you once again for the review.

Yours in hospitality,

Joey Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    310
    73
    28
    11
See reviews for
459
316
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked this as part of a birthday surprise. The hotel offered a "Romance above the Rockies" package which included a one night stay in the hotel and a helicopter tour leaving from Kananaskis. The hotel front desk were super friendly and very keen for you to enjoy the facilities and the associated flight. Hotel suite was stunning as were the mountain views. The bed was super comfortable too. The Kananaskis helicopter tour (located a short drive away) was superb and the scenery was spectacular. As part of the package we got to get out on top of a mountain and hike for perfect view photo opportunities as well as enjoy sparkling wine and a gourmet dessert. This was the first disappointment. The gourmet dessert was in fact a chocolate. The second disappointment was that the helicopter pilot never left our side. This was supposed to be a once in a lifetime romantic opportunity. But not so romantic with a third person. In fact, a little awkward. Otherwise 100% would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have spoken to the Heli-tour operator and made them aware of your comments. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Yours in hospitality,

Joey Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I'm just going to list things that may help you make the best decision:
1. The hotel is outside of Canmore, about 7 minute drive to town. It's in a quiet area with quiet hours between 11-7, so if you are a partier this is not your place.
2. It's close to the highway, so you will hear the noise
3. there's really nothing walking distance besides a gas station with a convenience store
4. The rooms are nice, beds are very comfy. If you like to open windows, ask for 2nd floor unit: the downstairs unit may have a door to the patio but you cannot keep it open: there’s no screen door and you will have a ton of mosquitos in the house. The second floor units have sliding doors to balconies with screens. Although it was nice and cool at night, we had to run the AC – total waste.
5. Beware that the bunk beds are located in a separate small room which is great for the parents like us with older kids, however, the room has no windows.
6. Kitchen was great but was missing certain essentials like salt and pepper. There’s no water or ice dispenser but we drank tap water – it’s clean.
7. Service was ok. Our room was not made every day which was disappointing. We had to call a few times to remind them to do it. They don’t like to wash your dishes. There’s a dishwasher but no dishwashing liquid. Plus I felt it was a waste to wash just a couple of dishes in there. So, we washed our own most of the time. Once they made our room and put the few dishes in the dishwasher which ran forever – waste of water.
8. Great to have a washer and a dryer which worked perfectly for us. They leave you some detergent – that was great.
9. Wi-Fi is patchy but works most of the time.
10. Front desk was helpful. They are getting a standalone computer soon, so you can print your own boarding passes. Otherwise you can drive into town and most other hotels have business centers you can use. We went to Coast, former Radisson.
11. Again, there’s nothing around the hotel but it suited our needs for a quiet and comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the confusion with respect to the dish tabs and soap. Front Desk is always stocked to provide additional emanates 24 hours a day. I will follow up to ensure that we maintain this standard. Salt & Pepper shakers are located in the kitchen of all our units. I will see that our team does not miss this going forward. I will also follow up with our team, as we do provide printing services to our guests. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

The Copperstone Resort is located in the beautiful Hamlet of Dead Man's Flats; a location that offers our guests the option of being only minutes from Canmore without having to deal with the traffic and rush that accompanies a resort town. Ours is truly a stay for those looking for a serene experience that can accommodate one person, or as many as a family of 8.

Thank you once again for your comments

Yours in hospitality,
Joey Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom for our 2 nights stay there as there were no other hotels in Canmore for our extended stay in Canada. We were staying at the Stoneridge hotel at Canmore so were expecting the same or equivalent hotel experience during our stay.

But when we get there, we just realized that there's nothing around the area. It is as how the address stated. A Dead Man's Flat. Prior to arriving, we were making jokes about how the name sounded strange, but it was actually true! There's nothing around there. Only a petrol station opposite the street, no grocery market ( the closest was at Canmore) 8 minutes away. I am not saying that it's far, but truly, nothing else is there other than a house opposite the hotel building, a petrol station, and a camping ground. It was nothing like in the picture. The creek was messy and run down, not maintained. We actually feel a bit scared staying there. It was barren. hotel swimming pool was really small. The only thing was the mountain view towards the main road that we get when not staying at Stoneridge hotel at Canmore.

We paid about 320USD for our stay per night but it was definitely not worth it. The room itself was nice, there's the in room laundry, kitchen, living room with sofa bed, but during our stay, the fireplace was not working due to the storm a few days before which short circuited the fireplace switch and not fixed. Plus there's a few missing items that is not in the kitchen too that we have to get one by one to the lobby or purchased one from the market.

But for the price we paid, it was not worth it due to the location and the overall feeling when we stayed at Stoneridge. With the money spent next time maybe we'll stay at the Fairmont or stay at Banff city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank member9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy staying with us. I am happy to know that we could accommodate you, as I do appreciate that Canmore can at times be a challenging place to find a stay.

The Copperstone Resort is only moments outside of Canmore, and we certainly appreciate that some may consider this a disadvantage, should they be seeking a location in town. We do however consider this to truly be our greatest quality. Where other properties can offer the benefits of being down town Canmore, only the Copperstone can offer the benefits of not being down town; away from the traffic and bustle, while still being only minutes away.

We wish you could have enjoyed our property more, but understand that it was not what you were looking for. As mentioned we are truly glad to know that you were able to secure a place to stay and that you chose to stay within Clique Hotels & Resorts family.

Thank you once again for visiting our beautiful area.

Yours in hospitality,
Joey Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We rented the condo for our family meeting and celebration - 8 people ,2 kids ...even one dog .
No problems ....wonderful staying ...enjoyed the kitchen , the BBQ outside and the hot pool (kinda jaqusi ) ....
300 and something C$ for 8 people - that's really resonable if not say - cheap .
The only one concern - very slow WiFI ...
Anyways - Will stay there again .
Strongly recommend .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are pleased to hear that The Copperstone offered your family suitable accomodation during your holidays. The suites provide the space and facilities such as the full kitchens to make your stay more convenient. As for Wi Fi we have made some technical changes to adress the issue. Thankyou again for choosing Copperstone and we look forward to your next enjoyable stay. Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first time staying at the resort and we will be back! Nice clean rooms, loved the kitchen supplies so we could cook our own meals. The in-suite laundry was awesome! We were on the main floor and it felt like we were the only people there! They had a toy, treat and doggie bags for our pup! Everyone was very happy to see him and even called him by this name!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager01, Senior GSA at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
It gives us great pleasure to know that all aspects of The Copperstone during your stay were enjoyed to the fullest. We consider your pets a guest as well and all the Staff at Copperstone love and apreciate them too. As we are a pet friendly resort we also have non pet friendly rooms for those who require them. Our Front Desk team are always happy to accomodate both and hope to see you stay with us again.
Senior GSA
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Copperstone Resort is about 7 very short kms from the center of Canmore, Alberta. It is very easy to find, just off the Highway and very easy to get back on the highway (if you know which way to turn). It would be nice to have a directional arrow pointing to the highway east or west as you pulled out of the parking lot. The condo we stayed in was near new. Upstairs were 2 very comfortable bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (one bedroom with an ensuite) and the other bedroom had the bathroom directly opposite it across the hallway. On the main floor was a fully equipped kitchen with and eating bar with barstools and a table and chairs and a living room with a pullout couch. Very clean and modern. Also a balcony with small table and chairs. It was everything one or two families together with plenty of room would need for a wonderful holiday. Pets are very welcome here they even give a little doggie bag with some plastic bags and a special huge doggie cookie with the name Copperstone written on it. The area is a new and upcoming area so is not very pretty around the resort but give it some time and I am sure it will be built up with more hotels etc. The only complaint was it was said that there was wifi and we could not get it at all. If given the chance we will definately recommend Copperstone and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for the kind comments. The Copperstone is truly a unique property; offering guests a beautiful, serene location within such close proximity to Canmore and Banff. We look forward to the enhancements that further development will bring to our little hamlet in the Canadian Rockies, while still being able to offer guests the quiet serenity that makes the Copperstone so unique.

We apologize for the Internet as we have just installed a completely new wireless network, and you may have been adversely impacted by the change over. We are very excited to have our new system in place; knowing that as we go forward our guests will benefit from a much better Internet experience.

Yours in hospitality,

Joey Belanger
General Manager



Development and Wifi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
4.5 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
5.2 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
4.6 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#18 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copperstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperstone Resort

Property: Copperstone Resort
Address: 250 2 Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copperstone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes outside Canmore, Alberta, in the serene hamlet of Dead Man's Flats, our all-suite property is just moments from downtown shopping and dining, world-class golf courses and Banff National Park . Whether you prefer to spend your time downhill skiing, hiking to glaciers, mountain biking, camping or fishing, every season brings a new reason to visit The Copperstone Resort Hotel. Our spacious, condo-style suites are designed to leave you feeling refreshed, so you can make the most of your time in the Rockies. All accommodations include fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, two HD televisions, in suite laundry machines, additional sofa beds and cozy electric fireplaces. Best of all, each suite features a private patio or balcony with breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains, so you can enjoy the beauty of Dead Man's Flats without even leaving your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Copperstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperstone Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Copperstone Hotel Canmore
Copperstone Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing