We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value !”
Review of Big Horn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Horn Motel
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Came to the Big Horn Motel with 2 friends. We came to area seeking employment in the Tourism sector and are renting room for a week. So far our stay n pleasant n quiet. Owner is really helpfull and nice. Affordable, clean, safe. The basics. Good deal if its what you looking for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PucknBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

First, let me state the obvious. This isn't a luxury resort. Anyone expecting more for this kind of a price range is, quite frankly, a fool. This is a very basic older motel with few amenities but in a great location for a fantastic price. It is perfectly safe. Anyone who finds this or any hotel in the Banff/Canmore area unsafe has obviously led a very sheltered life. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, the shower was hot, and I even had a nice little balcony with a mountain view. My only recommendation would be to put a microwave in the common area where the coffee maker is (since there isn't one in all the rooms). Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Small room, smells from cooking nearby. Did not feel safe. We did not stay a second night even though prepaid. After 500 days on the road over 10 years, this was the worst room. Only one step better than sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: No good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lvc2jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had the most comfortable bed and very spacious room. It was also very clean with frig and microwave. We loved sitting on the porch and visiting with other guests. Also there is a gazebo with lots of bird feeders and two trees that had more birds flitting around. Then at dusk 5 big horn sheep were in the neighbors yard having a snack. It was a real treat staying here.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sunnySonomaCounty_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We weren't sure about this as a stopover but it turned out quite nicely, especially for the reasonable rates. The room was large with two queen beds and a cot, TV (not flat screen and not many channels), fridge, and microwave. It was also relatively clean and odor free. Located close to the highway means lots of highway noise during the day but very little overnight. No AC so on hot days, that might be a problem! We would probably consider using it again for a short stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bigger front windows than others, so check that out first. Don't think I'd l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The motel itself is okay. Nice bathroom, kitchen was well equipped. Staff is so so.
It's just that the rooms are not that much cheaper as some in the canmore area but I guess the others offer a bit more. So if you just need it for a night I guess its okay, but if you stay longer in the area I would spend some dollars more and try another motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I called several months in advance to reserve a room for one week. I was interested in a a room with a kitchenette and the proprietress immediately lowered the price down from 99 to 79 dollars a day for staying a full week. The first thing I can say is that nowhere in Banff or Canmore will you find a room with a kitchenette for SO little money. Nowhere. My room was fairly big. The bed was comfortable and they had a fan that I used. The room was clean. The shower was high so I didn't have to squat down to take my showers. The kitchenette consisted of two burners, a sink and a microwave with plenty of counter space. The owners supplied pots, pans, silverware, dishes, dish towels and dish washing liquid, and I used that little kitchen while I was there. I made things that I like. It really was nice! My room wasn't on the highway side, so I was not bothered by noise. No, it's not the Hilton. The room was not perfect, but I figured I saved three to four hundred dollars by staying there for one week rather than staying at a typical room in Banff. If you're loaded, I recommend Banff. If you want to have a long, productive, fun stay in the Rockies without having to take out a second mortgage on your home, this a great place to stay. The owners were pleasant. Yeah, it's a litltle far to drive to trail heads. (It is even from Banff) But believe me, it is a great option for a person watching their nickels and dimes. I will probably come back here the next time I come to the Canadian Rockies.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floridahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
5.7 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
558 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
4.7 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#23 of 28 in Canmore
627 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mountain View Inn
Mountain View Inn
#21 of 28 in Canmore
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Motel

Address: #1 - Trans Canada Highway at Deadman's Flat, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range: £34 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Horn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel
Big Horn Motel Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing