We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just sleep in the car!”
Review of Big Horn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Horn Motel
Reviewed 10 July 2014

No blow dryer, no coffee, no air conditioning, almost lumpy mattress, no screen on door- so you can eaten by bugs all night or lay down in stifling heat for a few hours.... and listen to highway traffic or your next room's conversations. Soap, but no cream rinse for hair. If you book early enough, you can get a decent place in Camrose for same money. This is barely one star, so don't be fooled.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111michele2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Big Horn Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

The place is good for low budget travelers and last minute place to sleep. Nice mountain view and close to the highway. Only five minutes drive to Canmore... The room size was ok and the heat in our room was working, but making funny sound. For the price and basic things it offered i find it to be ok. The most important it was clean and very cheap compared to other accommodations in Canmore.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FedGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed one night on the way through, arriving late. The beds were clean, the showers were hot, and that's all we really asked for at $80 per night with three kids in tow.

There was a fold out couch, but there was no sheets on it, nor any in the room for it. The heater was a bit crabby, but I gave up on it and went to sleep. Didn't hear much noise from the highway at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place is consistently 30-50% less per night than any hotels in Canmore. Good place for families or groups looking for budget accommodations and just 5 minutes to Canmore. Rooms are small but clean, kitchen facilities available.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side away from the highway are much quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinzemli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Right on Highway 1, so lots of traffic noise, but the view is lovely. Sheets stained, but clean. Coffee maker in room didn't work. Room and bathroom clean; housekeeping a bit erratic -- had to ask for clean towels. $490.50 for 4 nights -- a bit expensive for very basic accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Came to the Big Horn Motel with 2 friends. We came to area seeking employment in the Tourism sector and are renting room for a week. So far our stay n pleasant n quiet. Owner is really helpfull and nice. Affordable, clean, safe. The basics. Good deal if its what you looking for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PucknBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

First, let me state the obvious. This isn't a luxury resort. Anyone expecting more for this kind of a price range is, quite frankly, a fool. This is a very basic older motel with few amenities but in a great location for a fantastic price. It is perfectly safe. Anyone who finds this or any hotel in the Banff/Canmore area unsafe has obviously led a very sheltered life. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, the shower was hot, and I even had a nice little balcony with a mountain view. My only recommendation would be to put a microwave in the common area where the coffee maker is (since there isn't one in all the rooms). Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
5.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,125 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
4.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.7 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#22 of 28 in Canmore
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Motel

Address: #1 - Trans Canada Highway at Deadman's Flat, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range: £44 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Horn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel
Big Horn Motel Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing