We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit in the sticks”
Review of Big Horn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Horn Motel
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit in the sticks”
Reviewed 16 August 2007

Nice room with use of communal room and kitchen. Closeness to transcanada highway meant no open windows. No sound proofing so every nearby bathroom noise was chronic, especially late at night and very early morning. We chose this motel because its website advertised a texmex restaurant called Bandeleros next door, saving evening driving. Unfortunately this was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, so a drive into Canmore was the only option - no other restaurants in this tiny hamlet.Manager, however, was very helpful.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Noise of other peoples flushing toilets and running showers during night
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    15
    22
    13
    27
See reviews for
21
35
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

After staying in several hotels in the greater Canmore and Calgary area, the Bighorn was the worst. It's a very basic motel located just off the main highway in Dead Man's Flat, just outside of Canmore.

We ended up in a room on the ground floor towards the back with a view of the parking lot which featured big rigs idling their engines all night long and bright lights aimed at the rear of the motel. Because this property does not have air conditioning, and Alberta summers are growing hotter, it required a window fan to keep the room bearable (as the drapes had to remain open at night to accomodate the fan in the window).

The noise from the parking lot and warmth in the rooms did not afford a comfortable night's rest. If you stay here, opt for a room facing the front if possible.

Further, the in-room amenities were second rate, including a dented in-unit refrigerator, open shelving for dishes (complete with a warning that failure to wash and dry them would result in a $10 penalty), and a shower that was among the smallest I've ever encountered in a hotel.

Internet access at this hotel carries a $10 fee which grants you access to the password required to connect to the wireless network, but it does not work unless your room is located very close to the office. I can't say how tired I've become in dealing with hotels that promise Internet access but provide inept or non-existant service (and have the nerve to charge for it to boot!) This isn't rocket science - hotels need to take this issue more seriously for those of us who book hotels, in part, based on their promised availability of Internet access.

Overall, this is a very basic motel which, at $50-60 a night, would be reasonable. But at rates twice that amount during the high season, there are far better choices nearby at similar rates.

  • Liked — The staff was friendly and reasonable.
  • Disliked — Room quality and location, lack of consistent Internet access.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dampier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dead Man's Flats hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

For $65 CDN (We were Off Season on June 5th, 2007), we found a good inexpensive motel in Dead Man's Flat, very close to Canmore.

As I'm not fond of motels, since I prefer B&B by far, i did not expect much from this one, which stood right next to the highway.

But I was gladly surprised! The owner was very nice, the motel was clean, and, surprisingly, apart from our neighbour who was watching his TV that we could hear through the very thin walls, and some trucks from the highway, there was almost no noise at all.

We also had a shared kitchen, which included a fridge, a stove, microwave, table, etc... where we could stock our food among other people food, and we could even cook meals (Which we did not).

It looked like it is a stop for people staying there for weeks, though. But for one night, it was perfect.

The morning after, I had to make my laundry while going breakfast to the Husky's restaurant, next to the motel (Breakfast is not included, but there is free coffee at the entrance of the motel). After I dried my clothes up, it was still wet a little after the cycle was finished. The very nice lady cleaner saw it was not dried up completely, and she offered to dry them up in her drying machine for free, which only took 5-6 minutes. I thought it was very nice of her.

I would say it's a typical motel next to a highway, but the staff if way nicer than the average.

  • Liked — The Staff was very helpful.
  • Disliked — Thin walls & usual motel noises.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Great hotel, wonderful service. The man at the front desk let us borrow a vcr and movies at no extra charge. We drove to Banff and Lake Louise during the day to sightsee. The Grizzly bear cafe next door has good food. The rate was very inexpensive. I can't recall exactly but probably around $40-$50 a night back in 2003.

  • Liked — Inexpensive
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed December 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ez4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2007

As part of a skiing trip to Alberta, my son & I stayed at The Big Horn Motel for two nights in March 2007

Although it is just off the Trans-Canada Highway, and located near two gas stations, there was no appreciable noise from trucks or cars

We paid $ 69 a night for a ground floor corner room, complete with kitchenette and two large beds. This appears to be a winter season rate, which increases slightly for the summer, but not by much

This motel is very conveniently located just east of Canmore for the ski hills around Banff and Kananaskis, which are no more than 30 minutes drive away. The town of Canmore itself is very close, approximately 5 to 10 minutes driving distance

More importantly, it seems to have been freshly decorated and is exceptionally clean and well appointed

We also noticed a small poster on the wall signed by all the members of the Whistler Mountain (BC) Ski Race Team thanking the Big Horn Motel for the hospitality shown to them during their stay in 2006. This says a lot for the motel as well

The Big Horn Motel far exceeded our expectations in terms of location, value for money and the type of room we anticipated. Additionally they have a selection of movies that can be rented at very minimal cost to play on the VCR that was provided in our room

In short, a very nice place to stay, good location, and great value

  • Liked — Value, Cleanliness, Location
  • Disliked — Not in centre of town
  • Stayed December 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Royal_Society
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2005

We stayed at the Bighorn Motel for two nights. The checkin went very smoothly. The lady (I'm assuming the owner) was very nice and helpful. Our room was in the back of the motel, on the ground floor. We were traveling with a dog so the ground level was great for this. Inside the unit were two beds and a night table, a very clean washroom with newer tub/shower, sink and toilet, a kitchenette with small fridge, sink, hotplate, dishes and table with two chairs. The flooring was tile throughout. I felt very comfortable in this motel. We paid only $69.00 per night..very reasonable I'd say!

Some minor cons...not complaints

Tv only had three channels (I thought it was supposed to have satellite?)
The room was a little to warm. We tried to adjust the thermostat..but it didn't seem to change anything. I guess we could have asked the front desk for help on that.

Overall, a nice inexpensive place to stay with nice owner. Will definitly be staying there again!

Helpful?
18 Thank dodgegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
5.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,098 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
4.7 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#22 of 28 in Canmore
600 reviews
4.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Motel

Property: Big Horn Motel
Address: #1 - Trans Canada Highway at Deadman's Flat, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Big Horn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel
Big Horn Motel Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing