We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jack and Jill Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Bull(Ditchling)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Hickstead(Bolney)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
29
39
9
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
39
9
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth downs waythe pubjack and jillfor sunday lunchserved quicklyplay equipmentfunction roomenjoyable staybreakfast was excellentcooked breakfastgood sizefellow walkershassocksbrightonsdw
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Very good wifi both in restaurant and room. Though located at the main road calm garden at the back and nice clean room. Perfect for a refreshing evening/night. Large parking. About half a mile from the trail first up and then down a hill.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Peter Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I won't go on at length, as trying to forget the experience of staying here. Room filthy, no lightbulb, one threadbare towel for 2 people for 3 night stay, no external lighting when we returned in the pitch black, urine stains and hair on the loo seat from previous occupant, etc, etc.....when we complained, we were insulted, also told we were the only people to ever complain about the place, the landlady was unpleasant and we felt she was trying to make us to feel threatened. I cannot comment on the food as we ate elsewhere. A horrible experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank HelenMiller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulhU2020OQ, Owner at Jack and Jill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi
Thank you for your feedback. All reviews good and bad are taken seriously and help us to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Didn't stay but went for drinks. Nearly 12 quid for two pints of shandy, a pint of lime and soda, and a bag of crisps. Ouch.

Fine if customers will stand this, but when it's deathly quiet on a sunny July Saturday, they must not be.

Real shame because food is good (but also a massive shock to the wallet), and the people that run it are charming.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timsymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We needed to stay some where near Brighton, as we had tickets for the Rod Stewart concert at the 'Amex'. All hotels in the town were fully booked - it was the London to Brighton bike race that weekend, so we looked for those outside the town, the last on the list was the 'Jack & Jill', we managed to book the last room available - room 4.
On arriving it looked promising, nice building from the outside in an even better location, but inside - so tired, badly in need of an update, not been decorated since the smoking ban, smelt musty/smokey. The rooms were also tired, the damp had attacked the wall paper, it was coming lose at the edges, the mattresses were lumpy, and seriously needed 'mattress-toppers', and there is an early morning alarm at 7.30am in the form of the kitchen extractor fans.
We didn't eat there apart from breakfast as we didn't have time, so can't give an honest appraisal of the food, breakfast was ok. The staff were friendly enough, and efficient.
If a little bit of money was spent on this place it could be a gold-mine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaramays345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was cycling the South Downs Way over 3 days with a friend. Our wives drove between stops and supported us. We all stopped for one night at the Jack and Jill and had dinner and breakfast there. Both meals were very good and the staff friendly and helpful. Our bikes were muddy and we were able to partly clean them using a bucket and water - unfortunately no hose was available; also there was nowhere to store the bikes so we locked them onto the car's bike rack. The room was quite small and there was some black spots in the bathroom. Overall, however, very friendly serice and excellent meals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews