We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location location location!!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Positive - has an endless swimming jet in pool
Site was ok but no trees or privacy at all


Negative - staff were helpful with information but really didn't go the extra

No free wifi - cost $6 for 1 hour

The surrounding location is an absolute dump + very far from everything - even a shop.

This Holiday park is difficult to find

Would never stay again - to be honest I would avoid Melbourne altogether unless you wish to drive the great ocean road ! :)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig-norn-iron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review, Craig-norn-iron. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion your expectations for your holiday weren't met. We are somewhat puzzled that you found us to be "far from everything" as we are located only 9km from the Melbourne CBD, and public transport to the city is accessible and quite close to the park. As we are a city park, our surroundings (in terms of trees, etc) are somewhat different from other caravan parks; however we believe that this is offset by our park being adjacent to all that Melbourne has to offer. We are sorry that you had difficulty locating us - you would be more than welcome to call for directions should this occur again and our staff will assist. We hope that your next visit to Melbourne provides a more positive holiday experience, and hope to welcome you back sometime. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    101
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
95
101
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

i stayed in this park foir quite a number of nights over the months of Jan and Feb. Found it to be reasonably central with good access to most places -- city, airport etc.
Facilities were reasonably clean, kitchen facilities in main block were woefully inadequate.
overall, for a city park, this is good. Staff are excellent, friendly and informative.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasperlabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review, jasperlabrador. We are very conveniently located for visitors to Melbourne to enjoy some sightseeing in the city, while being close enough to other facilities such as the airport. Your compliments will be passed on to our staff – they always do their best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and make the most of all that our great city has to offer. Thank you for your feedback about the kitchen – this will also be passed on for consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

At Big4 Coburg we have been welcomed by polite staff every time we stay. They always have the information on tourist attractions and public transport we ask for. Rooms are well cleaned, comfortable and the grounds are always neat with a well maintained pool area including during the winter months.
Bookings online and by phone are easy and clear on all costings.
Great job guys.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dinahfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi dinahfax! Thank you for sharing your experience of Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park. Return visitors are the highest compliment our park can receive. We are extremely proud of our staff, and the fantastic local knowledge they share to enhance our guests’ experience. We also take great pride in the cleanliness and standard of our amenities, and so are pleased to hear your positive feedback on this. Thank you for sharing your experience with our online and phone booking systems. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very conveniently located, quiet, good amenities, helpfull staff. Still the best value for money if you choose (or have to) stay on a CP with the option to get to Melbourne CBD within less than an hour.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ursi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We hope you appreciate our short and sweet reponse to your short and sweet review, Ursi B. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Whether you are wanting cabin accommodation, as we did or an ensuite site for your own van or a van/mobile home/camp site this caravan park offers it all.
It is situated very close to Melbourne, yet it is in a very quiet location.
The tram trip into the city is not just very convenient, but a great experience.
The staff take their time to assist with tourist information, a map is provided on check-in which has maps printed of the different routes to tourist attractions. The closest major shopping centre is only a 10 minute drive away, and we found that the local shops were within walking distance.
The facilities are great - you can laze around the pool, the children can use the playground or the games room, and when you are ready you can explore Melbourne at your own pace. We have always enjoyed our stay at Melbourne Big 4.

Room Tip: Even though there are only the two of us we always choose a one bedroom cabin as it provides more ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello Sue! Thank you for taking the time to review Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park. We are happy to provide a range of accommodation to suit our guests’ requirements, and are really proud of the facilities we have to offer all of our guests. We are lucky to be quite conveniently located to Melbourne’s public transport system, which enables our guests to (as you said) “explore Melbourne at their own pace”. Our staff are always happy to assist our visitors with information about local events, and how to get there. We are always happy to welcome return visitors, and look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a great stay at this park. We stayed in a small cottage, which was about right for us (a couple with a toddler) - though we had been warned there wasn't room for a portacot in the small bedroom. That was fine for us. There seemed to be a lot of camper vans at this park - maybe it's their speciality.

The pool is *fantastic*. It's got a fun toddler area, and there's a separate spa pool (in-ground and bigger than a spa). The games room, playground and tv room are also good.

The bed was really comfortable, and the kitchen well-appointed with a mini-fridge, small stove and oven. Reverse-cycle air conditioning kept us very comfortable. The cottage included a nice little porch with a table and chairs.

The downsides: First, the park is at least fifteen minutes walk from the tram, and the public transport system in Melbourne is *not intended for tourists*. It's awful. The staff were helpful with information about it, but unless you have a car or lots of time for buses it's a bit inconvenient.

There were also a couple of little things that needed to be fixed, like one of the toys in the playground and a missing shelf in our mini-fridge. That's really nit-picking, though. We had a great stay and will return to this fantastic park.

Room Tip: Check the maximum number of people in a cottage or cabin. If you're travelling with a portacot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bliffitygibbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are glad to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback on the areas that need attention. We are sorry that you found Melbourne public transport challenging and will consider ways that we can assist future guests in this area. We hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a studio cabin. It was the smallest thing ever. Made us feel poor should of spent extra for a hotel. Was way out of our way to soccer oval when reception said wasnt far from park when booked.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chellios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello chellios5. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion you didn’t find your accommodation as enjoyable as it might have been. At Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park we offer a range of accommodation choices to suit a variety of tastes and budgets. Should you book with us again, please chat with our friendly staff about the most suitable option for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coburg
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crystal Brook Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Doncaster East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Hume Villa Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Fawkner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park

Property: Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park
Address: 265 Elizabeth St, Coburg, Moreland, Victoria 3058, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Coburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Coburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park is ideally situated just 9kms from the Melbourne CBD and offers a range of accommodation, caravan and camping sites.Choose from self contained accommodation ranging from luxury three bedroom villas that sleep up to seven people to Spa Cottages for an ideal couple escape. Our sites are suitable for caravans, tents, camper trailers and motor homes and you will love our extra touches such as heated amenities floor and camp kitchen.Ask our friendly staff about public transport close by and make Melbourne BIG4 Holidya Park your base to explore Melbourne ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Big4 Holiday Park Hotel Coburg
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park Greater Melbourne/Coburg, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing