We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and reasonably close to city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and reasonably close to city”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed on a powered site and also stored the van there while staying in Melbourne. This is the second time staying there and is a fairly quiet, neat and tidy park. Reasonably close to city and takes about 30 to 40 minutes on public transport by bus then tram with a short wait between the two, which is not too bad. Overall a good location. Showers have low pressure, seems to be the norm though due to water saving, decided to just use my own shower. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Len M! Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community, and for highlighting how close we are to Melbourne city. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    109
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
106
106
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ceduna
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in a cabin with our 3 young kids. They were kept
very well entertained by the playground, games room and lovely pool when we weren't out and about in Melbourne city (we were pleasantly surprised by how close it was to the park). The new supermarket just down the road was very handy!
We also went to the local drive in which is less than 5 minutes away and far more affordable than taking 3 kids
to the cinema! This Caravan Park is excellent. The staff were very accommodating when we arrived 4 hours early and happily found us an available cabin so we could check in straight away. They were also very helpful with info about public transport and places to go. I saw a review on here that stated that the cleanliness was lacking, I totally disagree, our cabin was immaculate as were the grounds and facilities. I have worked in the hospitality industry for over 20 years and have very high standards in regards to hygiene and cleanliness, I was very impressed. Other than that all I can say is WELL DONE GUYS.... YOU ROCK! We'll be back with all 5 kids next time so look out :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazzaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
wazzaprincess, we are so very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us! We always like to make sure that our guests have a great experience with us, and it certainly sounds like you guys did just that! We look forward to welcoming you and all five kids back again soon - bring it on! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona Vale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our stay was for five nights in a cabin. We found the Park to be very tidy and quiet. The Cabins very clean, and well laid out.
The only issue was adjusting the water temperature in the shower....it would be even temp at one minute, then without warning change to either boiling or freezing....quite dangerous....especially with children having a shower!!
Other than this issue in our cabin, the Park was in a good location, close to shops, transport into the city.
Would stay again....it the shower water temps have been fixed!!

Room Tip: Select a room with good water temp control in the shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Peter C! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very serious about guest comfort and safety, and are very appreciative that you alerted us to the issue with your shower. Rest assured that this will be forwarded to our maintenance team to be addressed. We hope that this didn't impact too greatly on what was an otherwise enjoyable stay; and that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moruya, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great place to stay, beautiful clean cabin we stayed in, We have never being to Melbourne but this place is so close to the city (10 mins), we were surprised. Owners let friends and family of ours have a BBQ lunch at there BBQ facilities for a twins christening we attended, they had no worries. This is where we would stay with our kids if we ever get to go back. Gorgeous pool, kids play area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
It is never a problem to accommodate our guests and we will always try to meet special requests that will make your good stay, a GREAT one. We are glad that you were able to stay at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, Natalie N and discover all that Melbourne has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed there for two nights. The staff was very helpful, facilities very clean, the pool was great. To get to the city centre we used public transportation which is close by. Overall a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elli_272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thanks for summing up the features that your enjoyed during your stay at Melbourne BIG4, Elli_272 and we hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Staff at Melbourne Big 4 could not have been more helpful. The park is convenient for the airport but a bit far out of the city for those using the bus and tram but the staff were great in explaining the card system and routes to use. The pool is great. Everything clean and well looked after.The cabin was comfortable and had all we needed for a few days stay. During our stay we had a medical emergency. Staff were sympathetic and helpful when we needed to go to the doctor and find the Medicare office. Accommodation gave good value for money. We joined Top 10 for our trip to NZ and this included Big 4 sites in Australia. If you stay for more than a few days it's worth joining to get 10% discount.

Room Tip: We had a basic cabin which was good value. If you have a longer stay it's worth paying a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thanks for sharing what you loved about Melbourne BIG4 and the many advantages of BIG4 membership, Wlliam S.

A medical emergency is always distressing and even more so when you are in unfamiliar surroundings so our team will always do everything possible to assist guests in this situation. We appreciate you sharing our efforts with the Trip Advisor community and hope that you come back if your return to Australia again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We traveled between Melbourne and Adelaide and used Big 4 camp grounds throughout our two weeks and found that they are excellent in location. The staff are very helpful and all facilities are excellent. They just need to update internet connection,

Room Tip: All Big4 are brilliant camping facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Billiorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thanks for your feedback, Billiorc and we are happy that you enjoyed your trip to Oz.

We are always looking for ways to improve the park for guests and WiFi is just one area that we are on the look out for better options. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Our team appreciate the pat on the back for customer service and look forward to seeing you on your next visit across the ditch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coburg
2.1 mi away
BreakFree Bell City
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mantra Bell City
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,172 reviews
10.7 mi away
Crystal Brook Tourist Park
Crystal Brook Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Doncaster East
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Melbourne
4.2 mi away
Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments
3.9 mi away
Parkville Place Apartments
Parkville Place Apartments
#3 of 3 in Brunswick
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park

Property: Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park
Address: 265 Elizabeth St, Coburg, Moreland, Victoria 3058, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Coburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Coburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park is ideally situated just 9kms from the Melbourne CBD and offers a range of accommodation, caravan and camping sites.Choose from self contained accommodation ranging from luxury three bedroom villas that sleep up to seven people to Spa Cottages for an ideal couple escape. Our sites are suitable for caravans, tents, camper trailers and motor homes and you will love our extra touches such as heated amenities floor and camp kitchen.Ask our friendly staff about public transport close by and make Melbourne BIG4 Holidya Park your base to explore Melbourne ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Big4 Holiday Park Hotel Coburg
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park Greater Melbourne/Coburg, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing