We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont hesitate just destinate”
Review of Greenkiln Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tirril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenkiln Cottage
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“dont hesitate just destinate”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

my boyfriend and i stopped here for a night to break the journey up on our way south. We found our stay very warm and welcoming. This B&B is excellent the room was lovely. Suzanne and David are a lovely couple and very helpful.The breakfast was amazing. We enjoyed a nice meal at the Queens head which is a 5min walk from the B&B. We really enjoyed our over night stay and would definately use this B&B again. Would strongly recommend it, dont hesitate just destinate,,,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mold
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We arranged a 2 night stay and will definitely be back. The warm & friendly welcome was only surpassed by the accommodation and wonderful breakfasts. Suzanne & David are consummate hosts with just the right level of guidance provided. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marton
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here last year in July and have booked again for this July.This is an excellent B&B, don't look any further you will love it too!! Beautiful rooms, clean, comfy and relaxing.
Excellent breakfast with plenty to chose from. Would recommend anyone to stay here. Suzanne and David made us feel very welcome, we are very much looking forward to our break in July and catching up with them again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Booked in here as a stopover from Scotland to Lincolnshire. The directions sent by the host were accurate and easy to understand (very important on a tiring journey.)
The welcome was warm and we'd been "upgraded" to a vacant room, which was excellent. South facing over beautiful hills. The en-suite (heated floor) bathroom was of the highest standard.
Dinner was a lovely meal at the nearby pub (800 yards away), which the host had reseved us a table at.
Sky TV in the room, wasnt viewed for long as the bed was too comfey, and we were fast asleep in no time.
The breakfast was out of this world - Have the Scrambled Eggs they are to die for !!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Ensuite South facing room is THE BEST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little1_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We have stayed here twice first time was just my husband and myself. We stayed in the primrose room lovely and cosy everything you need to relax. The living room was cosy with the fire lit and a tray of tea on arrival. We went to the local pub for our evening meal which was lovely.The breakfast was out of this world so much choice and plenty of it. This will fill you up for a great day of walking or shopping. The second time we stayed we took our friends with us and they stayed in the rose room. They too thought the same as us great accomodation and food was fanasic. The cottage itself is a real treat beautifully decorated and peacefull. Our hosts suzanne and david were lovely and friendly nothing was too much trouble. If you want a real treat in the beautiful lakes look no further.Looking forward to returning this year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz70Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

On arrival a very warm welcome - guests sitting room was like 'home from home'. Bedroom has cosy chairs -sky TV- quality bedlinen and large bathroom ( just short of some surface to put things down on). Our room looked over the rolling corn fields at the back of the cottage 5 mins walk to local pub for food etc!
Excellent breakfast was served by Suzanne & David who made interesting conversation along the way.

Room Tip: Although not on a busy road - the room at the rear is extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samediMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Peaceful and tranquil, set in beautiful rolling countryside. Well maintained garden to sit out and enjoy. Superhosts, nothing is too much trouble. Great breakfast, lovely choice to suit everyone. We stayed in the Rose room which sleeps four people, very clean and tidy and very impressive.Would highly suggest a visit, very good website and great customer service.This was our third visit and we were made to feel very very welcome indeed, Can't wait till next year. Many thanks to Suzanne and David.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayboy11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirril
1.3 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
223 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Queen's Head Inn
Queen's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Tirril
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
342 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ullswater Guest House
Ullswater Guest House
#2 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenkiln Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenkiln Cottage

Property: Greenkiln Cottage
Address: Nr. Penrith, Tirril, Penrith CA10 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Tirril
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tirril
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenkiln Cottage Tirril, Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing