We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and welcoming”
Review of Queen's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tirril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed and welcoming”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely relaxed atmosphere. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.We were welcomed like one of the family!

Room small but comfortable. Good value for money though. Heading down for a second visit at end of June.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coop2CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    32
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
76
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowle, worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A really good weekend, in a local pub with good atmosphere.
the food was excellent , the breakfast very high quality ( best bacon ever !)
the staff were friendly , helpful & knowledgeable about the service on offer.
highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcrowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Away for a walking trip, chose Tirril to be near Lowther Park, what a super pub, log fires, very friendly staff nothing to much trouble, lovely dinning room, excellent food, great local ales, cosy rooms will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAYNELancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Log fires, home cooking, super breakfast . Ideal stopover, for travellers . Large spacious car park too . Curry nite is excellent value . Good selection of ales.
If you can't be bothered with the hassle of town, this place fits the bill .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Having read previous favourable reviews, we booked a 3 day mini break and had a really lovely time at this friendly B&B.
Being keen walkers in the lakes, this cosy pub and B&B ticked all the boxes for us..
Great Value, Great Food, Great Local Ales, Friendly and Attentive service, Clean, Cosy Rooms, Great Location (near to Ullswater & Haweswater) Dog Friendly.
The food was particularly good and not overpriced; breakfasts were excellent and good menu choices and local produce.
What made our stay so good was the really friendly staff and homely atmosphere.
Only one minor criticism was that the bed in Ullswater Room was not very comfy; mattress perhaps a little tired...? But this did not detract from our overall enjoyment. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We ended up at the Queens Head because my daughter and partner had booked it as a suprise for us. We entered blindly, only getting sat nav directions. We walked in to be welcomed by friendly staff who showed us to our room. The room was immaculate, and as a present from our daughter there was a bottle of wine and chocolates waiting for us, which the staff had organised for us.
Their breakfasts are amazing, lovely sausages, bacon and everything else you could think of to make a breakfast special.
The choice of beers on tap where very impressive, well worth sampling............... or so my husband says.
Meals superb, but need to book early as very popular, although as guest we always had a table. Overhaul 10/10 Could not fault x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay at this lovely place. We had a family room, which was clean and cosy with very very comfy beds.
We received a very warm welcome and were looked after throughout our stay. Our little girl was under the weather, and she was told at dinner time that she could have anything at all she wanted, even if it wasn't on the menu. This was on a night when every table in the restaurant was booked...a really lovely gesture, though lost somewhat on our daughter who was looking forward to an excellent steak from the menu!! The meals were excellent, and the menu interesting and varied. Breakfast was absolutely top notch, made freshly to order, and served by a lovely member of staff. Again our little girl was specially catered for and was delighted at the offer of hot chocolate in place of tea or coffee!
Thank you to everyone at the Queen's Head..we will be back soon!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tatayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirril
1.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
223 reviews
5.3 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Head Inn

Property: Queen's Head Inn
Address: B5320, Tirril, Penrith CA10 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Tirril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tirril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Queen's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Head Hotel Tirril
Queen's Head Inn Tirril, Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing