We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and relaxed, perfect for families, couldn't of asked for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queens Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Askham B&B and Inns
1 review
“Warm, friendly and relaxed, perfect for families, couldn't of asked for more!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Queen's Head for my brother's wedding and my entire stay was ideal. Welcoming staff accommodated every need of the wedding party, from its dog friendly policy, to vegan dietary requirements, nothing was too much trouble. Staying here for two nights with friends and family we really felt at home. A hearty full English was perfectly cooked and even included haggis as bonus. Having young children with with us the kitchen were really accommodating in catering for their preferences. While the rooms are small, the carefully considered decor and well planned use of space means they are cozy rather than cramped. Chatty locals and a picture postcard setting really made this place a home from home. I would recommend The Queens to anyone, to eat and to stay, I look forward to my next visit. A big thanks to all the staff who really put in a lot of effort to make my brothers wedding and our stay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    23
    8
    2
    11
See reviews for
27
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had luch here and the food was excellent...really good chef !
however the carpet at the back entrance is appallingly dirty and there is no fresh smell on arrival ....also there is a tiny dog running around that is in grave danger of being squashed by an unsuspecting customer !
The meal when it arrived was very very good.
However the ladies toilet had no light, maybe a blessing as was not clean, paper towels just stacked near sink. The men's were also not clean. Rather disappointing and off
putting.
We have eaten here frequently in the last but after the recent change of management I doubt we will return unless There is a general improvement in the level of hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensHeadAskham, Owner at The Queens Head Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi thanks for your review, we are pleased you found the food really good and yes we have an excellent chef, as for your other points one of the bulbs had blown in the ladies toilets which was replaced as soon as we were notified, hand towels placed on the sink does not constitue an area being dirty our toilets are cleaned reguarly, sadly the carpet is a little worse for wear (we inherited it with the pub) however its not dirty but very worn in places of high foot flow, and as for Oscar he is our teacup Yorkshire Terrier who would always get out of your way so don't worry about standing on him he is very friendly and as we are a dog friendly pub we sometimes have him with us, but only during the morning, we would love it if you came back to visit us as you obviously enjoyed your meal hope to see you soon.

regards

Eileen Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Spent two nights from 6th September. Lovely old inn with a good menu. Really enjoyed the evening meals. However, the breakfasts were something else - we could hardly move afterwards!! Although the rooms were only small, they were comfortable. Everyone was really friendly. Have already recommended The Queens Head to a number of friends, and hope to return in the not-to-distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Queens Head, Ashkam and we were delighted with our 'find'! It was a last minute booking but we were very impressed overall. The location is excellent for access to The lakes, but the surrounding area is beautiful and well worth a visit. The hotel is family run, very friendly and the service and the food are both excellent. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the hotel is brimming with 17th century charm. Obviously, the room was quite small (if you compare with a modern hotel for instance) but it more than met our needs. We are already planning our next visit and hope to book the Lowther suite so we can treat the family. It's probably also important to note that the owners are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming and it's fair to say that they go out of their way to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Askham is an excellent base for the Lakes & Cumbria but not overrun by tourists; it's a working village community with friendly local people in the pub. Lowther Suite very good for family with older children as they have their own room in the suite. Please see also my full Google review.

Room Tip: Lowther Suite very good for family with older children as they have their own room in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Spent two nights here with my son and would recommend to anyone who wants comfortable pub accomodation with good food and beer.The staff were very friendly and helpful.When I asked if there was a local map,one of the owners made a special trip to her house and returned with a pile of guide books and maps.The village is very attractive and there are a range of pleasant walks from the front door.Unfortunately I didn't have my trunks but there is an open air heated swimming pool just round the back.There's a good range of food and real ales to savour at the end of the days activities.I was particularly impressed to get a properly cooked raw steak.Handy for the motorway and Haweswater is not far away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here with my wife on our way to the Lake District in June 2013. Fantastic friendly service, excellent food, and the room was also quiet and peaceful. Only minor problem was the water tank for the toilet making a really loud noise as it filled up. Must be seperate from the rest of the system. Aside from that, we had a great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askham
3.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
4.8 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
13.6 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head Inn

Property: The Queens Head Inn
Address: Lower Green, Askham CA10 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Askham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Inn Askham, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing