We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queens Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Askham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very old pub enhanced by the charming family who run it. Pub is in a delightful traditional village, but convenient for many Lake District locations. We were visiting the country fair ar nearby Lowther - just minutes away. Recommend dinner from an imaginative menu, and breakfast was 1st class. Good car parking.

Room Tip: Can only speak for our accomodation - 2 room suite with efficient modern bathroom. Suitable for up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackeyetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I recently stayed for four nights at the Queens Head, and at the last minute had to make the trip on my own. The staff, in particular Eileen the Landlady, made me feel completely at home. The room was comfy, the food was good and the bar was friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and Eileen is a fountain of knowledge on everything local! Would recommend it for a relaxed stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The location is gorgeous and better than the larger busier towns. The service is fantastic and the food is a big surprise for a pub in a small village of country England. Try to book for more than one night as there is so much atmosphere in the hotel and surrounds that you will need a longer stay. The cooked breakfast is served to your table and is very substantial - no walking away hungry here. If you want a base to stay whilst in the Lakes District - this is the one.

Room Tip: The Lowther suite are an excellent choice for families with two connected rooms and a shared bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenkoz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were staying in the lake District, called in here and were impressed. The place was busy, beer was good, landlord and company friendly with excellent food. We will certainly call again and maybe try a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RCGilfillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My fiance and I went to lake district, and had a previously booked hotel. In our booked hotel there was no good service, and we went looking for a good place to eat. We found the queens head inn and received AMAZING service, with even more AMAZING food! had we not had a hotel already we would have stayed in The Queens Head Inn, in a heartbeat. We were only in lake district for 2 days and both days we went back to eat there (you must have the lasagna from here!! just amazing, and great value!). Everyone who we saw there was having great time, thanks to a great service and lovely place!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina_Barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hi
Stayed here with a couple of friends and my puppy we all had a great time and were made very welcome. A dog trainer was even provided in the bar to help with puppy training! Food was great and we all enjoyed our meals in the evening. Rooms small but clean and were adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weesweetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Like the village (picture postcard), friendly, comfortable pub / hotel, nice people, enjoyed the food and Ruby the border terrier is welcome as well! Have the full breakfast and you won't need lunch. Like home but with a bar and real ales. Lovely walk over the fells to Pooley Bridge if you're that way inclined.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askham
3.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
455 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punchbowl Inn
Punchbowl Inn
#2 of 3 in Askham
224 reviews
2.0 mi away
Queen's Head Inn
Queen's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Tirril
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head Inn

Address: Lower Green, Askham CA10 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Askham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Price Range: £76 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Queens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Inn Askham, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing