We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Punchbowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Punchbowl Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Askham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights over May early bank holiday weekend. Whole weekend was excellent: hotel warm, clean and comfortable; staff very friendly; excellent real ales; superb food (especially recommend the duck breast and pigeon breast at dinner and the good quality sausages and bacon at breakfast).
Would certainly recommend it and we are definitely going again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Excellent stay at this quaint country village hostelry. It has changed hands several times over the last decade but has been in safe hands for the last 18m. Several room's recently refurbished with the remainder undergoing the same treatment. Thoroughly recommend as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had a lunch after walking on the fell plus an evening meal with friends. Both enjoyable. The rustic bread was excellent with our sandwiches. We also sampled the pork 3 ways and the duck breast. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Glad you are back open.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We are pleased to see this pub open again, today we called in with family after a local walk to be greeted by pleasant staff and a roaring fire. The beer ,food and service was excellent we will definitely be calling here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The service that I received and the quality of food was absolutely outstanding. The menu covered a wide range of Gluten free options as well at no extra cost. I would definitely visit here again and recommend it as a good welcoming place to eat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Lovely Village covered in daffodils Welcomed by a friendly Waitress and presented with a mouthwatering menu. Unfortunately our order then arrived all was dreadful, overcooked pasta that was served as a solid blob of dough even the small salad was awful tasting and smelling of fish.Fishcakes that were vastly over fried and poorly presented, the poor cooking reflected in everything presented. It was difficult complaining to much to the delightful waitress who tried to do all she possibly could but there appeared to be no management in charge and the kitchen appears to be to aloof to bother with providing basically palatable food for customers. You get what your given just pay for it.
Maybe this was an off day but the management should ensure better consistency if they want customers to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnW349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punchbowl_Inn_Askham, Manager at Punchbowl Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal on the afternoon you came to dine with us, we make every effort to be consistent with our food, it is very strange. We did in fact serve the same carbonara with a gluten free pasta on the same day to a customer who went on to praise the dish in the next review on this forum... Anyway getting back to the point, we always courtesy check our table to ensure customer satisfaction and to allow us to correct or replace a dish if it is unsatisfactory, instead of posting negative feedback on the Internet days after why not let us know when this takes place to give us the chance to do something about it if you are not happy? On the day I was made aware you did not like the dressing on the salad garnish so the chef immediately made you up a fresh one to replace it minus said dressing. Your husband ate every last bit of his meal but on paying the bill you you made it clear to us that he only almost licked the plate clean because he was hungry not because he enjoyed the food? You say that the 'waitress' was very polite and attentive yet you rate us 1 out of 5 for service? You go on to say there was no management on hand? Said waitress was in fact the owner of the business and would have been more than happy to discuss any of your concerns again if you had brought them up at the time. She takes all feedback negative as well as positive in the best possible way so we can always try to amend or improve our product, the very last thing we are here is aloof. Regarding your comment that "you've had you food now pay for it" we do feel this is slightly unfair as on the day we found it very difficult to discount your meal further as you came for 2courses with a £25 e-voucher discount and then only had two glasses of tap water totalling your bill to £9, maybe as well as the two free courses we could just have paid you but even then I doubt you would have been happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

After a few seasons in the doldrums this hostelry has finally re-emerged as a haven for a good lunch when in the Lowther area. The food is again very good, well prepared and presented. The meals are substantial and served by a young accommodating staff. Prices are more than reasonable and the inn is steadily regaining the atmosphere it previously had. This review in not solely for Trip Advisor viewers but also to act as encouragement for a new young management staff who are obviously making major efforts to re-establish .....well done!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allezlesbleus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punchbowl_Inn_Askham, Manager at Punchbowl Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very proud that you feel the place is moving in the right direction and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Punchbowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punchbowl Inn

Address: Askham, Askham CA10 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Askham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Price Range: £87 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punchbowl Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Restaurant, Pub and Bed & Breakfast located in the picture postcard village of Askham. We offer Twin and Double Rooms all En-suite and would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to escape the mundane pressures and stress of everyday life and enjoy a wonderful break with us in this picturesque region.We serve food from 12 noon through 'til 9pm every day (service hours during winter may vary). Finally, dogs (and children) are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Punchbowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punchbowl Hotel Penrith
Punchbowl Inn Askham, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing