We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting with a fantastic chef”
Review of Askham Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Askham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Askham Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Askham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Easter weekend and the weather was glorious to take a stroll around the beautiful gardens! The room was lovely with a great view of the garden with lovely crisp linen. My only criticism would be the wash hand basin needed re-tiling or grouting other than that everything was lovely! Dinner was superb and we loved the tiled floors! Breakfast was equally delicious with delightful staff!

Stayed: April 2014
4  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Askham Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is so special from the moment you walk through the door you feel like you are being welcomed into a family home not an hotel and that they are happy to share it with you. We were lucky enough to be upgraded at no extra charge to the Old Dressing Room which had the most ornate door I have ever seen. The room was large and very comfortable and the table and chairs in front of the mullioned windows which overlooked the lovely gardens was a lovely place to sit and drink tea and sample the lovely home made biscuits. We ordered our evening meal in the drawing room where we were served canapés and Charles Lowther came and had a chat and took our drinks order. The food was divine and worth every penny even the bread(3 different varieties) and the biscuits with the cheese were homemade and it was so nice not to have any background music just the gentle chatter of people enjoying themselves. We had coffee and homemade chocolates in front of the roaring log fire in the drawing room and the chance to look at photos of how Lowther Castle and gardens used to look in its heyday which as a keen follower of the restoration of the Castle and grounds I found absolutely fascinating. After a really good nights sleep we went down for a superb breakfast all made with local produce. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A special thank you to Lee-Ann who always had a smile and who so obviously loves her job and the place she works in. You are a credit to the place. I can honestly say we enjoyed our stay so much we didn't want to leave. Please can we come back we love you

Room Tip: They are all good
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vettrianogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

After a very enjoyable stay at the George & Dragon last year we tried to rebook it for a short trip to Centreparcs but it was unfortunately full. Fortunately we were recommended Askham Hall instead and from the moment we walked through the door we knew we were somewhere completely different. Don't expect a conventional hotel or Inn. This "gem" of a find is something far more special. From the outset we were made to feel very welcome by a young lady called Leanne who showed us to our room. Little did I know when I booked that we were staying at such a magnificent family residence of such historical importance and it was fascinating to hear from Charles on his family history and Royal connections. Charles was an excellent host throughout and every commercial aspect of the stay was very subtle. In fact it felt more like we staying as invited guests rather than paying customers! We booked Dinner in the Garden Room and the food was of exceptional quality, all sourced locally and cooked to perfection. My two girls were very impressed with their specially typed menu which was a very nice touch and is typical of the attention to detail. We left next morning having had a very relaxing stay which is not always the case with a seven and four year old! Charles was kind enough to show the children his newly born piglets and the overall feeling is one of having made new friends rather than found a new hotel. Keep up the good work, my father in law will be making a reservation soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Admirals Room which sits perfectly on the corner of the Hall overlooking the garden...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our first visit, it won't be the last! This is a restaurant with superb rooms set in a characterful building. The food is well thought out & presented beautifully. The wine list, though small is not run of the mill & has obviously been carefully chosen. The service is friendly, attentive and the staff knowledgeable. This is an establishment which has been carefully planned with attention to detail. The grounds were lovely in early spring but will be beautiful when summer arrives. The location is not in the tourist Lakes but well worth seeking out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saabaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent an afternoon, evening, night and morning here, including entertaining our son and daughter-in-law to dinner. There are many fine things about this place, but what defines it, like its sister establishment the George and Dragon at Clifton, is the service from the very high calibre staff, who are friendly, enthusiastic and interested in you and all of whom have engaging positive attitudes. It is so much more than just "service", we felt we were staying with friends. The house is striking, the public and bedrooms amazing, the gardens beautiful, and there is very good well chosen food and an intelligent wine list. Prices are reasonable for the quality on offer. In the leaflet for the bedroom it says "please treat this as your home" and this is style of the place. Not a hotel (as they freely admit) but a restaurant with (very good) rooms,
it may not appeal to oligarchs or people with more money than taste who demand over the top luxury and fawning servility, but that's fine by me. It is the very best blend of traditional and modern English hospitality. We have stayed at the Michelin three star Waterside Inn at Bray and Le Manoir aux Quat Saisons, and while the food at Askham Hall doesn't- yet- match those very great heights, the overall experience is better, and it is an awful lot cheaper! Well done Charlie and Lian in particular and good luck!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank SexagenarianC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at Askham Hall in November and again in February 2014 and cannot praise the whole experience enough. The bedrooms are all beautifully decorated and have really comfortable beds. On our last trip we were upgraded to the Lonsdale room which is lovely; a large room with an Emperor sized bed and a bathroom with listed wallpaper! Sitting by the huge fire with pre dinner drinks is so relaxing and the staff are helpful but unobtrusive. The main attraction though is the food which is simply fabulous. Ingredients are either grown at the Hall or sourced from the surrounding area and it's evident in the quality of the dishes. I have a lasting memory of an apple and sorrell sorbet which was served with autumn fruits and pannacotta - fantastic. This is the place to visit if you appreciate well designed dishes that have obviously taken great skill to prepare. The area is good for walks and the Hall is dog friendly (as is their other establishment 'the George and Dragon' near by). If you do have a wet, cold walk as we did, there is no better way to thaw out than in the sauna which is in the soon to be completed spa. We will be returnining as soon as we can!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. It all depends on personal choice re size of room and whether you want a bath...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We went here in December to celebrate my birthday with dinner, bed and breakfast. It's a beautiful location with great walks from the door. The house is fabulous - slightly quirky (in a good way) and very well done. We were shown to the room we had chosen online (Griffin) as soon as we arrived. My, it was lovely, but we noticed it was just a wee bit cool. Before we could get to the radiator to turn up the heat, our hostess was back, tapping on our door. "I noticed the room was a bit colder than normal", she said. "I've brought the keys to some others for you to look at". How's that for service? We ended up in the Lonsdale Room, which was gorgeous. Check it out on the website. We had a great evening, chilling in front of a roaring fire in the comfortable sitting room, having helped ourselves to a drink from the well stocked honesty bar, then headed into the dining room for a gastronomic delight. The food, cooked by chef Richard Swale, was superb, and the staff could not be faulted on their service and easy charm. We even had a good natter with Charles, who's business it is. We would highly recommend it and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We saw three rooms and they were all great, but each with their own special characteristics, so deci...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tennisfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editor89, Owner at Askham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Tennisfiend,
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Askham Hall. We hope to welcome you again soon.
From all the staff at Askham Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askham
3.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
411 reviews
20.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
16.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,135 reviews
9.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askham Hall

Address: Askham | Penrith, Askham CA10 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Askham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Price Range: £150 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Askham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning grade I listed Pele Tower dating back to the 13th century, Askham Hall has recently been transformed from a stately family home into a stylish and contemporary luxury retreat. Each bedroom is totally unique and individually named. A restaurant, private gardens and Scandinavian influenced spa are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Askham Hall Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing