We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Country Hall”
Review of Askham Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Askham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Askham Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Askham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Country Hall”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is an amazing country retreat in a beautiful area, service is top notch and food is brilliant aswell. Rooms are giant and well stocked with comfy beds. Breakfast is also very good, a special mention must go to the chef who is a fantastic chef and made us a fantastic meal.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozzyozoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Askham Hall is a truly amazing venue up in the rarified atmosphere of Cumbria where we attended a truly spectacular wedding this week. The evening before the wedding when we arrive, we decided to eat in the restaurant, and the meal was absolutely perfect. We could not find fault if we had tried, and we certainly didn't need to feel the need to try. The service was friendly and pitched just right without being intimidating or overbearing, and the food was sublime. Breakfast was as good as anywhere I have eaten, which was useful as it needed to soak up a few drinks from the night before. On to the wedding, and wedding catering is difficult, but this was the best wedding food we have ever experienced. Again, fresh local produce, well prepared and delivered with precise timing so everyone on a table got fed at once, and the food was hot. This has to be one of the best venues in the country for a weekend wedding, and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The rooms were delightful.

Room Tip: My one comment would be that the hotel should put an external door key as well as your room key on y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked exclusive use of Askham Hall for 2 nights with the wedding breakfast and dancing taking place in the beautifully converted Barn. Friday night was spent with 36 friends and family eating in the Hall, the food was divine and the ambience was superb with everyone feeling very comfortable and relaxed. We helped ourselves to drinks from the honesty bar with our young nephew popping logs onto the fire with the help from Charles Lowther.
The wedding itself.........where to begin? St Peters Church, a short stroll from the Hall, the service and setting were perfect. After the service the wedding party followed our Piper up to the hall through the beautiful gardens to be met by the staff outside the hall on the red carpet with champagne and the most delicious canapés we have tasted.
The wedding breakfast in The Barn was amazing, the quality of the home produced meat and vegetables would be hard to surpass-both presentation and colour were a picture, photographed by many guests, this was served by the most professional and helpful of staff who were not at all intrusive.
Our late night snack was pizza cooked outside in the stone oven, our guests were full of compliments on the taste and thought it a great idea rather than a traditional sausage roll type of buffet.
At the end of the evening my elderly mum was driven back to The Hall (2 mins) in a golf buggy by the very helpful Leanne who seemed to be on duty night and day along with Lindsay and all other staff.
I can't finish without mentioning the bedrooms, they are truly beautiful, each individually designed, we were all popping from room to room to check out the designs. The beds and pillows were so comfy and the quality of the linen superb.
Charles Lowther and staff should be very proud of what they have achieved, many other establishments would not go wrong to follow their excellent business model. Well done to you all from - Mother of the Bride!

Room Tip: Top floor front rooms have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pepespet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Easter weekend and the weather was glorious to take a stroll around the beautiful gardens! The room was lovely with a great view of the garden with lovely crisp linen. My only criticism would be the wash hand basin needed re-tiling or grouting other than that everything was lovely! Dinner was superb and we loved the tiled floors! Breakfast was equally delicious with delightful staff!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is so special from the moment you walk through the door you feel like you are being welcomed into a family home not an hotel and that they are happy to share it with you. We were lucky enough to be upgraded at no extra charge to the Old Dressing Room which had the most ornate door I have ever seen. The room was large and very comfortable and the table and chairs in front of the mullioned windows which overlooked the lovely gardens was a lovely place to sit and drink tea and sample the lovely home made biscuits. We ordered our evening meal in the drawing room where we were served canapés and Charles Lowther came and had a chat and took our drinks order. The food was divine and worth every penny even the bread(3 different varieties) and the biscuits with the cheese were homemade and it was so nice not to have any background music just the gentle chatter of people enjoying themselves. We had coffee and homemade chocolates in front of the roaring log fire in the drawing room and the chance to look at photos of how Lowther Castle and gardens used to look in its heyday which as a keen follower of the restoration of the Castle and grounds I found absolutely fascinating. After a really good nights sleep we went down for a superb breakfast all made with local produce. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A special thank you to Lee-Ann who always had a smile and who so obviously loves her job and the place she works in. You are a credit to the place. I can honestly say we enjoyed our stay so much we didn't want to leave. Please can we come back we love you

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vettrianogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

After a very enjoyable stay at the George & Dragon last year we tried to rebook it for a short trip to Centreparcs but it was unfortunately full. Fortunately we were recommended Askham Hall instead and from the moment we walked through the door we knew we were somewhere completely different. Don't expect a conventional hotel or Inn. This "gem" of a find is something far more special. From the outset we were made to feel very welcome by a young lady called Leanne who showed us to our room. Little did I know when I booked that we were staying at such a magnificent family residence of such historical importance and it was fascinating to hear from Charles on his family history and Royal connections. Charles was an excellent host throughout and every commercial aspect of the stay was very subtle. In fact it felt more like we staying as invited guests rather than paying customers! We booked Dinner in the Garden Room and the food was of exceptional quality, all sourced locally and cooked to perfection. My two girls were very impressed with their specially typed menu which was a very nice touch and is typical of the attention to detail. We left next morning having had a very relaxing stay which is not always the case with a seven and four year old! Charles was kind enough to show the children his newly born piglets and the overall feeling is one of having made new friends rather than found a new hotel. Keep up the good work, my father in law will be making a reservation soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Admirals Room which sits perfectly on the corner of the Hall overlooking the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
428 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our first visit, it won't be the last! This is a restaurant with superb rooms set in a characterful building. The food is well thought out & presented beautifully. The wine list, though small is not run of the mill & has obviously been carefully chosen. The service is friendly, attentive and the staff knowledgeable. This is an establishment which has been carefully planned with attention to detail. The grounds were lovely in early spring but will be beautiful when summer arrives. The location is not in the tourist Lakes but well worth seeking out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saabaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askham
4.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
18.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
16.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askham Hall

Property: Askham Hall
Address: Askham | Penrith, Askham CA10 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Askham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning grade I listed Pele Tower dating back to the 13th century, Askham Hall has recently been transformed from a stately family home into a stylish and contemporary luxury retreat. Each bedroom is totally unique and individually named. A restaurant, private gardens and Scandinavian influenced spa are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Askham Hall Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing