We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Already planning our next stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Widewath Barn

Widewath Barn adjoins the Grade II listed farmhouse at the heart of the steading.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Widewath Barn adjoins the Grade II listed farmhouse at the heart of the steading.
Restored stable stall provides privacy in the bedroom. Bedroom with a double and 2 sets of bunks.  Underfloor heating.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Widewath Barn adjoins the Grade II listed farmhouse at the heart of the steading.
Restored stable stall provides privacy in the bedroom.
Bedroom with a double and 2 sets of bunks.  Underfloor heating.
Living/dining area with large farmhouse table.  Kept toasty warm with underfloor heating.  TV.
Fully equipped kitchen.
If you fancy eating it there's everything you need.
Spacious, powerful shower.
Recycled Armitage Shanks sink.
An ancient packhorse track leads from Bampton Fell up towards the farmhouse.
Panoramic views across the Eden Valley.  A very rural setting.
Mixed woodland on the Farm - alive with wildlife. Look out for red squirrels.
Lowther Castle and Gardens - hundreds of acres of romantic gardens.
Just a 10 minute ride across Helton Fell.  Ullswater Lake.  Ride the roman road, High Street!
Feeling leisurely?  Take a steamer journey across to Howtown, Glenridding or Aira Force.
Take a dip in Askham outdoor heated swimming pools surrounded by grassland.  Great for a picnic.
The Lake District is amazing in all seasons!!
Plenty of vantage points across Ullswater whether you are cycling, walking or horse riding.
The lane up to Widewath.  Can you spot the Farm?
The tough Swaledale ewe who spends much of her time on the fell.
Sun shines at haymaking time.
Gathering the sheep from the fell for clipping.
Two medieval packhorse bridges exist on the Farm.  They are Scheduled Ancient Monuments.
Miles of open countryside to explore.
Rhubarb!  And loads of it!!  Grown in the garden in the well stocked veg plot.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Askham, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kat_marie...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“Already planning our next stay!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I couldn't fault anything at Widewath Barn, it was clean, beautifully decorated and Alice and George couldn't have done any more to make our stay more enjoyable. They advised us on great local restaurants and tourist attractions which was great as we had never visited the lake district before. Their two boys are also two of the coolest kids around who clearly love the farm life.

The barn was perfect for us and we would definitely recommend it to family's as well as couples as everything you need is there making life so much easier, it felt safe and it was fun all at the same time. We had all the privacy we wanted but could also enjoy the farm when Alice and George were around which taught us a few interesting things we didn't know.

We are hoping to be able to book another stay in the future.

Thank you for an amazing trip away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The close farm animals and beautiful barn
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL0z
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfortable, welcoming.”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely place, a great find. Can't wait to go back. Would recommend it to anyone.
Very thoughtfully decorated, furnished and equipped - it has pretty much everything you need. And nothing that you don't - no clutter.
Loved the snug, and the underfloor heating! Loved being able to walk from the door down through the garden and fields to get to a restored old stone bridge - perfect for pooh sticks.
Its only 10 minutes out of Penrith but feels miles away from anywhere - quiet, peaceful, expansive views.
Would definitely recommend a day at Lowther Castle while you're here. Its in the process of being restored, but there is loads of space to explore and play.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - felt like the middle of nowhere, as it was so peaceful, but actually really convenient. Baby lambs!
Liked least: We didn't find the beds very comfy.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautifully converted barn on a picturesque working farm, a perfect base for exploring the Lake District.”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent a few days at Widewath Farm over the Easter holiday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the small but cosy and beautifully converted listed barn and the chance to explore a part of the Lake District we had only ever passed through before. The farm is nestled in a hidden valley, within walking distance (if you like walking) of nearby Askham village and its good pubs, and a short drive to the amenities in Penrith. The scenery was stunning and, as the weather was very kind, we had a great time climbing Helvellyn, walking over Askham Moor and taking the Steamer across Ullswater. The warm and friendly welcome from Alice, George and their boys, whose company we thoroughly enjoyed, and the opportunity to get close to the new born lambs and learn more about life on a farm, made this a very special and memorable holiday. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maan99
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had the most wonderful holiday at Widewath farm. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. The owners had thought of everything. The layout of the place was brilliant. Loved the bedroom and bunk beds. Kitchen was very easy to use with everything you could need. Really liked the additional amenities, like tea, coffee, sugar, cleaning things etc.
The owners were so helpful and friendly.
The views around the farm were amazing.
We were so sad to leave after 3 nights. Easily could have stayed another few days. There was a relaxing and restful feel about the place.
Thoroughly recommend a day in Glenridding.
Can't wait to return :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the accommodation
Liked least: No dressing table with mirror
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randi S
Ry, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent - a great experience to stay in this accommodation”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have stayed at the Widewath farm for three nights. The Widewath barn is a marvelous place to stay. The old barn is made into a charming accommodation with all we needed for a great stay. The barn is cozy, nice and warm even on a cold evening and very clean.
There are many good places for walking and other outdoor activities nearby the farm. The family that live at the farm are very welcoming and really helpful should you need any good ideas for activities or fantastic places to walk and experience the impressive nature in the Lake District.
We give this accommodation all our best recommendations and we really hope to come back another time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All were excellent
Liked least: We liked it all very much
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveWend...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The converted barn was very tastefully done with plenty of space for our family of 4 (15 and 11 year old sons). With it being recently converted, everything was immaculate and new. The kitchen area was extremely spacious, with everything we would need. The bedroom consisted of a double bed and 2 x bunkbeds. Even though all the beds were in the same room, there was still some privacy between the double and bunkbeds. Even though it was below freezing outside, the open plan apartment was warm and cozy. There is a TV in the lounge/dining area with a good selection of channels (HD tv). There is wifi, but we couldn't get a phone signal (Virginmedia). The shower in the bathroom was very spacious - as hot as you want, plus as powerful as you want - I loved the shower. Plus there's even under floor heating in all rooms but the kitchen area. :-). All the rooms were very well lit and immaculately clean.

It was lovely to be away from towns and villages, but not that far if you needed something from the local village (car dive really, but not that far)). There are plenty of walks from the doorstep. Particularly one walk from the farm to Howtown on Ulswater (2hrs min) to catch the ferry up the lake to Pooley Bridge (25 mins), then continue walking back to the farm (1 1/2hrs max).

Its a working farm, but you can have a private tour if that interests you. Oh, and there's a full size table tennis table in the barn opposite which was lots of fun.

We had a lovely weekend away (2 nights) and wouldn't hesitate recommending it to others. Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesson
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and well-designed, the place exceeded expectations by a mile”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The converted barn is beautiful, combining a rustic feel with creature comforts. The owners of the barn thought of essential items one might need, with towels, parking, cooking utensils all provided. The bathroom was beautiful, and the beds were very comfortable, all 5 of them! To top the cake, there are wonderful views around the place, and the hosts were a wonderfully helpful and friendly family.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Thank you for your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing