We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Widewath Barn

Widewath Barn adjoins the Grade II listed farmhouse at the heart of the steading.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Widewath Barn adjoins the Grade II listed farmhouse at the heart of the steading.
Restored stable stall provides privacy in the bedroom. Bedroom with a double and 2 sets of bunks.  Underfloor heating.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Widewath Barn adjoins the Grade II listed farmhouse at the heart of the steading.
Restored stable stall provides privacy in the bedroom.
Bedroom with a double and 2 sets of bunks.  Underfloor heating.
Living/dining area with large farmhouse table.  Kept toasty warm with underfloor heating.  TV.
Fully equipped kitchen.
If you fancy eating it there's everything you need.
Spacious, powerful shower.
Recycled Armitage Shanks sink.
An ancient packhorse track leads from Bampton Fell up towards the farmhouse.
Panoramic views across the Eden Valley.  A very rural setting.
Mixed woodland on the Farm - alive with wildlife. Look out for red squirrels.
Lowther Castle and Gardens - hundreds of acres of romantic gardens.
Just a 10 minute ride across Helton Fell.  Ullswater Lake.  Ride the roman road, High Street!
Feeling leisurely?  Take a steamer journey across to Howtown, Glenridding or Aira Force.
Take a dip in Askham outdoor heated swimming pools surrounded by grassland.  Great for a picnic.
The Lake District is amazing in all seasons!!
Plenty of vantage points across Ullswater whether you are cycling, walking or horse riding.
The lane up to Widewath.  Can you spot the Farm?
The tough Swaledale ewe who spends much of her time on the fell.
Sun shines at haymaking time.
Gathering the sheep from the fell for clipping.
Two medieval packhorse bridges exist on the Farm.  They are Scheduled Ancient Monuments.
Miles of open countryside to explore.
Rhubarb!  And loads of it!!  Grown in the garden in the well stocked veg plot.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Askham, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susannahc...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in Widewath Barn for 5 nights and had a wonderful time.

The cottage is all on one level with cosy underfloor heating, very comfy beds and a fabulously hot shower! It's the perfect place to come back to after a day exploring in the beautiful countryside.
The bedroom can sleep 6 with a double bed and 2 sets of bunk beds, so it's versatile for both couples, families and groups.

Alice and George were brilliant hosts and made us feel very at home from the off - giving us tips on the best local places to visit and letting us play with their 5 gorgeous dogs at every opportunity we could get!

Very highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieS999
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really lovely place”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is an absolutely super place. We stayed for three nights and wish it had been longer. The accommodation is a converted farm building, beautifully done and extremely well kitted out. A particular mention for the superb shower room! Alice and her family are lovely hosts, friendly and helpful with local knowledge and useful suggestions. Some lovely nearby places to visit as well of course as the Lakes. Askham Hall gardens are beautiful. Annie and David

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PaulandJe...
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing 3 days”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just got back from a lovely stay at Widewath, we stayed for 3 nights and wished it had been for longer!
Alice and George made us feel so welcome on their farm, giving us advice on where to explore and letting us see the lambs and very cute Jack Russel puppies The cottage was lovely to stay in and the beds and shower were great.
We can't wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yve332014
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A true rural getaway to escape from it all!”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Really late writing this review! We stayed at the barn last September with our 5 month old baby. It was idyllic! Lovely warm welcome by the family, clean, compact but perfectly adequate for the three of us. The location is quite rural but to be honest tha's the beauty of this accommodation,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillyates...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Widewath barn”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a great break at widewath barn. The barn is modern, cosey with everything you need. Easy walk to ulswater from the farm. Alice and George are very welcoming I would highly recommend a stay here the area is stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jones_Lon...
Yass, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful country escape”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had four nights at Widewath Barn and despite not being able to explore as much as we would have liked due to a sick child, they were an absolute highlight of our month long visit from Australia.
Alice, George and their two boys are wonderful hosts and made us feel extremely welcome. Even the dogs were eager to greet us when they were out and about! They were also extremely accommodating when we decided to stay another night which was great.
The barn itself is fantastic – an absolutely brilliant conversion, retaining so much of the original character but with all the modern bits you could need to be more than comfortable (plus lots of lovely little extras just to make your stay more special!). The fact that the barn is part of a working farm made it even more like a home away from home for us and we really loved being back in the peace and quiet of the countryside.
While we were a bit limited in what we could do with a sick toddler, we still managed to take a drive around Lakes Ullswater and Windermere with a visit to The World of Beatrix Potter which were great but it was lovely to be able to escape the crowds and come back to the cozy, peaceful barn. We also briefly ventured down to the ancient monument bridge (just a hope skip and a jump from the barn door) and up onto the hill behind the farm which provided fantastic views and we would have loved to explore further afield.
All in all a truly wonderful few days and if Australia wasn’t so far away we would be back in a heartbeat!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing