We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal always!”

Matsuyama Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #90 of 910 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal always!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We always choose to eat at at Matsuyama when we have a craving for sushi. Great and fast service. Lots of choices on the menu including a few Vietnamese combos. Some of our favs are the Spicy Crunchy Roll, salmon sashimi, agedashi tofu, and takoyaki (on their special menu board by the front door). Also their coconut ice cream/gelato is so delicious. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great sushi, but rolls a little large to take in one bite!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Ate here a few times, but first review. Staying at nearby hotel, loads of choices around and a number are AYCE.
This one is a la carte and is much better quality than all the belly fill places. Rolls are well made, tasty but a little on the large side for eating. Last time they seemed smaller. Overall good place and I have returned a number of time now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claudedoiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“carry out - tasty, quick, and inexpensive”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Ordered a combo of salmon teriyaki, tempura, miso soup, and rice. Was ready in 10 minutes and was only $12. Salmon was a good size and very flaky. Tempura was shrimp and variety of vegetables, overall good, though one vege piece was overcooked and soggy. MIso soup was as food as any others I've tried. Overall a very good deal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantastic sushi in Richmond”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The restaurant has been around for at least 2 decades and it has not lost its edge. Sushi was amazing, service fast, ambiance pleasant - not too loud and 2 TVs are positioned just far enough away to be unintrusive if you don't care for what's on. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerrzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mirugai and salmon sashimi”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The last time I was here in this restaurant was 11 years ago. Yesterday, as a treat, we wanted to have mirugai (geoduck clams) sashimi. I remembered matzuyama, checked their reviews here in trip advisor which were good and off we went.

We had the most heavenly salmon sashimi, really thick buttery slices, 9 pieces that 2of us couldn't finish. And our target, mirugai sashimi, ummm! We had two lunch combos as well at less than cad10 each. All told it was a real treat as we had hoped, at a price point that was ok.

Would come back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwenwong68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuyama Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Matsuyama Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing