We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinese Owned Japanese Restaurant”

Matsuyama Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 902 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Chinese Owned Japanese Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Let's make onm thing clear...this is a Chinese owned and operated restaurant. The food is OK but dont expect to have a true authentic Japanese dining experience..more quantlty than quality. The presentation and preparation is not real Japanese cuisine

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jtfoodie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were staying nearby for a conference and stopped by. My friends are into sushi and me not so much. They absolutely loved the sushi and it was a great deal. I had bacon wrapped shrimp and scallops. They brought the wrong order and gave me both rather than whisk one away. These were some of the best mouthfulls I have had in my life!!! I also had a tempura plate that was very good. Subsequently I heard from friends in Richmond they think it is one of the best spots in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rndm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal always!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We always choose to eat at at Matsuyama when we have a craving for sushi. Great and fast service. Lots of choices on the menu including a few Vietnamese combos. Some of our favs are the Spicy Crunchy Roll, salmon sashimi, agedashi tofu, and takoyaki (on their special menu board by the front door). Also their coconut ice cream/gelato is so delicious. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great sushi, but rolls a little large to take in one bite!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Ate here a few times, but first review. Staying at nearby hotel, loads of choices around and a number are AYCE.
This one is a la carte and is much better quality than all the belly fill places. Rolls are well made, tasty but a little on the large side for eating. Last time they seemed smaller. Overall good place and I have returned a number of time now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claudedoiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“carry out - tasty, quick, and inexpensive”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Ordered a combo of salmon teriyaki, tempura, miso soup, and rice. Was ready in 10 minutes and was only $12. Salmon was a good size and very flaky. Tempura was shrimp and variety of vegetables, overall good, though one vege piece was overcooked and soggy. MIso soup was as food as any others I've tried. Overall a very good deal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuyama Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Matsuyama Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing