We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time...”
Review of Steveston Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steveston Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Richmond B&B and Inns
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A step back in time...”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We recently took a trip into the historic fishing village of Steveston just south of Vancouver. This small corner of the predominantly Asian city of Richmond boasts numerous shops and eateries and sits right on the mouth of the Fraser river. After a taking a whale watching tour and enjoying some sight-seeing in the village and a late dinner with drinks, we decided not to drive, but spend a night at the only hotel in the area, the Steveston Hotel. This turn of the century building houses not only the hotel, but also a bar and a restaurant.
The room was old and antiquated and loud noise from the bar could be heard, but instead of complaining about it, we went into the bar and enjoyed some beverages with the very young crowd until closing time. Back into the room, the evening's libations took over and we passed out immediately. During the night, nature called and I was forced to use a shared washroom. These rooms are bare bones basic, old furniture, old matresses, old carpets with a musty smell. If you are looking for 2+ star accomodations, look elsewhere. This place caters primarily to the local fishermen and is in dire need of updating in almost every area. It is cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
773 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I did NOT stay here but we (four of us) ate a really good dinner here, the service was great, fast and friendly, portions were good, and the big screen shows the game.Of course I tried the fish and chips and you get a good platter.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KweqSmanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Not bad for being in the centre of town but a bit dowdy overall. Smelled like it is old - which it is. No screens on the window that opened. Steep and long flight of stairs to the second floor (where all the rooms are.) Good air conditioner but noisy. Melas overpriced in the dining room. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachlander14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Steveston is a charming little piece of fishing community heritage and history, and this hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the village to make it easy for you to explore. There is a beer and wine store on premises, a restaurant, and a pub (the Buck and Ear) that was a lot of fun, which also serves a very good breakfast in the morning. The employees at the hotel were super friendly and the hotel itself was very clean, quaint and charming as well. The prices are very reasonable, and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyesiamtrish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The legendary Steveston Hotel. One of the old girls with a lot of time under her belt. Still, however the updates and value is fabulous. A few of us visit regularily the cafe for a monthly breakfast the old fashion way. Big plates, great value, Cholestrol heaven once in a while hits the spot. Love the place. The staff are not replaceable. Old fashioned cafe babes you all know as mom. Beautiful people. A lot of visits to this little gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bentley1Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I chose the Steveston Hotel for it's proximity to the Britania Heritage Shipyard and for the price - $64 for a single room with private bathroom, off-season. I was very pleasantly surprised - the location is excellent - right in the middle of the historic fishing village of Steveston, next door the the Gulf of Georgia Cannery - now a very interesting interactive museum of the salmon canning industry of days gone by. Another pleasant surprise was the Sunday morning market at the Cannery. The hotel room was very basic, but clean and amazingly quiet. The Buck 'N Ear bar had live music Friday and Saturday nights and was very busy, but I could not hear a sound from there in my room. The hotel seemed very safe.
The restaurant breakfast was great - and very busy on Saturday morning. I hope to return, to enjoy Steveston again.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room, if you don't want to hear the noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Delightful little gem. I normally stay in a guest suite in the condo unit where my son lives. My last night was booked so I had to move so decided to try out this hotel. I will stay here in future and scrap the condo suite. Clean, friendly and charming charming charming!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steveston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steveston Hotel

Property: Steveston Hotel
Address: 12111 3rd Ave, Richmond, British Columbia V7E 3K1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Steveston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing