We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage experience”
Review of Steveston Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steveston Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Richmond B&B and Inns
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heritage experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We wanted to spend a day at Steveston and as this was the only hotel in the village, we figured we'd give it a try. It was built in 1895 so we had no illusions of luxury. It fit well with the history of the area and we had no issue getting a room on a Friday night. We took the regular/deluxe room which was overlooking the Cannery and wharf to the South. Our only complaint about the room was that not all of them had coffee (ours did) but did not have a microwave. A small inconvenience, considering there was a full service breakfast/lunch café downstairs and a pub adjoining for dinner.

We had dinner at the pub and enjoyed the 'heritage' feel of the place with the modern touch of the sports bar theme. The meals were hearty and the Friday night prime rib was 'melt in your mouth' delicious. The pub staff were great!

I could easily envision the fishermen and sailors staying at this hotel a hundred years ago. It was an interesting visit for us, for sure.

Room Tip: The 'economy' rooms are over the pub and apparently they can get a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Nikkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the August long weekend, as it was the only place in Richmond we could get a room for 2 nights at very short notice. We were visiting Steveston but did not have our own transport locally, so this is a fabulous location to walk around the village and access all that it has to offer (which is a lot - it's lovely there). The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we had breakfast in the cafe which was very good (especially the omelettes!). We had a "standard" room which was very basic, and yes, the hotel is old and somewhat outdated. Everything worked though, and the new beds are great. I suggest checking out what facilities are provided if you call to book, as they did not provide, in the standard rooms at least, things such as coffee-maker, hairdryer, so as long as you know, you can be prepared. Some of their rooms (economy) have shared bathrooms, but they also have jacuzzi rooms, so there is a variety.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the night after our Christmas dinner party at a near by restaurant. The service at the hotel and bar was fantastic. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was also great. The room we had was less than impressive, very outdated kind of 1940's style. Old fashioned furniture, small tube style TV, no wifi, flower print bedding, vinyl wallpaper, pictures bolted to the walls? Etc. I would go back to the bar and restaurant but don't think we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We recently took a trip into the historic fishing village of Steveston just south of Vancouver. This small corner of the predominantly Asian city of Richmond boasts numerous shops and eateries and sits right on the mouth of the Fraser river. After a taking a whale watching tour and enjoying some sight-seeing in the village and a late dinner with drinks, we decided not to drive, but spend a night at the only hotel in the area, the Steveston Hotel. This turn of the century building houses not only the hotel, but also a bar and a restaurant.
The room was old and antiquated and loud noise from the bar could be heard, but instead of complaining about it, we went into the bar and enjoyed some beverages with the very young crowd until closing time. Back into the room, the evening's libations took over and we passed out immediately. During the night, nature called and I was forced to use a shared washroom. These rooms are bare bones basic, old furniture, old matresses, old carpets with a musty smell. If you are looking for 2+ star accomodations, look elsewhere. This place caters primarily to the local fishermen and is in dire need of updating in almost every area. It is cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
774 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I did NOT stay here but we (four of us) ate a really good dinner here, the service was great, fast and friendly, portions were good, and the big screen shows the game.Of course I tried the fish and chips and you get a good platter.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KweqSmanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Not bad for being in the centre of town but a bit dowdy overall. Smelled like it is old - which it is. No screens on the window that opened. Steep and long flight of stairs to the second floor (where all the rooms are.) Good air conditioner but noisy. Melas overpriced in the dining room. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachlander14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Steveston is a charming little piece of fishing community heritage and history, and this hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the village to make it easy for you to explore. There is a beer and wine store on premises, a restaurant, and a pub (the Buck and Ear) that was a lot of fun, which also serves a very good breakfast in the morning. The employees at the hotel were super friendly and the hotel itself was very clean, quaint and charming as well. The prices are very reasonable, and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyesiamtrish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steveston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steveston Hotel

Property: Steveston Hotel
Address: 12111 3rd Ave, Richmond, British Columbia V7E 3K1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Steveston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing