We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

The American Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The American Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 909 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Cross street: Minoru Boulevard
Transit: A short 5 minute walk from the Brighouse Canada Line Station.
Description: Located in the heart of Richmond at the Vancouver Airport Marriott Hotel, The American Grille continues to be one of Richmond's most popular lunch and dinner destinations. Offering a comfortable business-casual setting by day and elegant candlelit dining at sunset, The American Grille is sure to wow you and your guests.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Have been going to this restaurant several times for weekend brunch and the service from the staff is always great especially Shehnaz & Tomomi. Wide selection from buffet brunch menu with made to order omelettes . Other friendly staff working in the restaurant are Vanessa and Linda who are both very helpful in giving tips to tourist about visiting other places in Richmond .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taka K, Manager at The American Grille, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Jon,
I appreciate your recent review regarding "friendly staff". Vanessa is a long time Trip Advisor follower and came across your review, she was thrilled to see her name. By the look on her face you can tell she was proud!!!

Thank you for the encouraging words, your review will be shared with the entire team.

Cheers,

Taka Kuwata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    121
    37
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
275 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Gem in the middle of Richmond”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having been to this restaurant before, we recently returned to see if our fabulous meal was a fluke. But it was no fluke. We both had halibut with fennel and the dishes were superb. The halibut (which was in season) was super fresh and herb crusted. We love seafood and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The staff were prompt and attentive and the atmosphere was very relaxing. For people who like seafood, we found this place to be a gem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taka K, Manager at The American Grille, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Brian,
Thank you very much for your kind words, our team strives on excellence and I will be sharing this review with our culinary brigade and service associates.

Hope to see you soon.

Taka Kuwata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouer, BC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average Food At Best”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Deplorable Service and Quality of Food

Linda who I have previously spoken about was the only positive to my experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taka K, Manager at The American Grille, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor regarding your dining experience at the American Grille Restaurant.

I'm disappointed to hear about the service and food quality received, I was happy to hear that Linda our Restaurant Supervisor had spoken to you the following day!

I will be sharing your comments with the restaurant associates and culinary team and focus on the quality of food / service.

We hope to see you back the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Taka Kuwata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dried out salmon”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

So I have to start off by saying the Restaurant came good by replacing the fish after a 30 minute wait for a new plate of food.
In a city known for it's fresh fish I could not understand how a salmon dish could arrive at our table as dry as you could get it but then it was such a tiny piece of fish I guess timing is everything.
The service was great and you could clearly see the restaurant is working hard at improving it's past poor reviews but the portions are very small and could use some additional flavoring. I really enjoyed the crab cakes but they sat in a strange tasting sauce that had no bearing on the dish.
Would not bother trying it again as there are so many places that are amazing in this beautiful City.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poulsog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taka K, Manager at The American Grille, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your recent dining experience at the American Grille restaurant. We pride ourselves on serving consistently delicious food, and I am surprised to hear this was not the case on your recent visit. Please contact me personally in advance of your stay so that I can ensure your next visit in an enjoyable one.

Sincerely,
Taka Kuwata
Manager, Food and Beverage
taka.kuwata@vancouver-marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty PrimeRib”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Through the Travelzoo Offer, I was able to purchase a voucher for Dinner for 2 at the American Grill. My friend and I had a delicious meal that time. Shared a delicious crab cake as an appertizer and I had quite a succulent steak cooked medium rare. My friend had a grilled Halibut and said it was very tasty and we both enjoyed our meal. We then shared a dessert.

The service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelique218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taka K, Manager at The American Grille, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. Your comment is very motivating and our service and culinary associates will be thrilled to hear your comment. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The American Grille also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to The American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing