We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy hotel in a good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
378 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel in a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed here during the February Family Day long weekend en route to Whistler. I was here for one night and I was pleased to find that the room was spacious, clean and comfortable with enough room to stash snowboard equipment and accommodate 4 people. The complimentary breakfast served was adequate and the breakfast had cold cereals, pastries, toast, juice, scrambled eggs, sausages and waffles. I also liked the location of the hotel, it was across the street from Costco and close to the airport was well as Aberdeen Mall and Yaohan.

Now, some of the cons: the hallways looked a bit worn and were dimly lit in my opinion but since I'm not lodged in the hallway, it was no big deal. Our room location was pretty far from the elevator and I'd recommend anyone with lots of luggage, ski equipment or kids (car seats, strollers etc) to request a room closer to the elevator. Lugging a suitcase and a ski bag to the last room after taking 2 or 3 turns was indeed tiring. I noticed that the bathroom door in my suite did not open all the way. Around 45 degrees, it hit the toilet bowl (see picture) but there are no issues getting in and out. The gym was basically a really cold room with a tv mounted high in a corner, one treadmill, one elliptical, one bike and a small workout station. Very small exercise facility that can accommodate 2-3 people max.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    324
    172
    81
    36
See reviews for
197
328
68
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Due to flight connections in Vancouver we found we needed to stay at a hotel near the airport on 2 occasions this month. We selected this hotel mainly due to the fact it had a shuttle to and from the airport and the good name of Best Western and we weren't disappointed. On both occasions we were very pleased with the friendliness of the reception staff and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We also ate downstairs on both occasions at Bobby Gee's pub. The food was good and it was served in a nice atmosphere.

The breakfast buffet, which is included, was substantial and good quality with a wide selection of hot and cold items to choose from.

It's convenient having the free shuttle to and from the airport. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there on our next trip in or out of Vancouver.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Occy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Very nice comfy beds, older hotel but very cozy. Park and fly to Vancouver Internationl Airport. Make sure you don't get the room by the elevator, that room can be a bit noisy due to constant use of the elevator. Really nice Breakfast menu, use can use your continental breakfast coupon or had a couple dollars more and have eggs bennie ( it is really good there) great coffee as well if you are a coffee drinker. They have a computer in the lobby and West Jet has a keyosk to get your boarding pass printed so easy pass thru at the Airport terminal. All in all a really great place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator, you can hear it in the room close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We needed both long-stay parking and a hotel near the Vancouver Airport. The Abercorn Inn provides both at what seems like a bargain price to me. The deals seem to be a bit better if the park-and-fly arrangement is booked with outside agencies rather than through the hotel (or Best Western) directly, but there isn't much in it.
The room we had at this hotel was typical for a Best Western -- i.e. quite comfortable but not excessive. Free wi-fi is included. The hotel feature I particularly appreciated was a free buffet breakfast which included hot items (scrambled egg, ham, hash browns and waffles) as well as cereals and the usual things.
The airport shuttle service is shared with a couple of other hotels and it didn't exactly run to schedule. Our pick up to travel to the airport was about 20 minutes late. Not really the fault of the Abercorn Inn, but I am glad we had given ourselves a generous safety margin in our schedule.
I am not giving sleep quality a high score in the ratings because of the in-room heating and air conditioning unit. Being woken up at 1:30am by the noise of this unit kicking in did not make me happy. Switching the unit off for the rest of the night solved that problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nh525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel is a short 15 minutes to the airport and has an included breakfast buffet that has the usual cold buffet items plus waffles, sausages and scrambled eggs. Very affordable with comfortable beds and quiet air conditioning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Everything about my stay here was pleasant. I do appreciate the atmosphere of the olde english country inn which adds something to the ambiance. All the staff I dealt with were professional and friendly. My room was clean with all the amenities including a fairly large fridge. I was pleasantly surprised to find the restaurant almost empty when I went for a late lunch around 2:00 pm. It was peaceful and relaxing to have the whole place to myself except for one other single gentleman. The food was excellent and the chef accommodated a couple of special requests with generosity and good humour. When I couldn't get the TV in my room to work, a maintenance person was most helpful and fixed the problem immediately. Ditto with the internet connection. The complementary breakfast was very generous with lots of choice. This is my first time at this hotel but I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmetta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed 2 nights in February for a workshop. The hotel was recently renovated and was very clean. Despite being in Richmond close to the airport and next to the highway, I still found it quiet enough to sleep. The only problem I had was with the heater, in that it sounded like a train was going through my room, but if I shut the heater itself off , then all was quiet.

For the continental breakfast buffet I found it to be good. Hot eggs, bacon and sausage, cold cereals to choose from, and yogurt too. More fresh fruit would have been nice but not sure I would have eaten it myself anyway.

The location was good - right across from Costco, and easy access to the airport. The free shuttle was very handy, make sure to find out when the next shuttle is due to head out or you could miss it...

definitely would stay here again when travelling and had an overnight stay before flying out the next day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FroggyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn
Address: 9260 Bridgeport Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing