We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Close to Vancouver airport, decent room, very nice complimentary breakfast ,and free wireless. A variety of restaurants are a short drive away. Hotel cost was reasonable. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willow-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2008

The wireless internet access was spotty and frequently did not work. The hotel says that there is wireless access in the rooms. Not true.

The business center was a joke. Just a computer and printer in the lobby.

Lastly, when I asked about a two hour late check out I was told I was told that was not possible. I offered to pay a day rate, but again told no. When I asked why, they said the hotel was booked full and they needed my room. I called down again a minute later and asked to extend my stay another night. No problem. I then asked why they could not give me a 2 hour late checkout because they were full, but they could extend my stay one more night. No answer. Essentially, the front desk made no effort to help.

Will not go back. Better airport hotels to stay at.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ljdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We were booked to splurge on the Fairmont at the airport which we loved, but a moment of frugal thinking made us change our mind and looked on Expedia for a cheaper alternative. We were surprised at this little gem. The rooms were small, and a bit dated, but they were clean, and the internet access was free and fast. The location is easy to get to, but road noise from the overpass may be bothersome for some. We had some business to attend to, so didn't stray far from the hotel, the pub provided outstanding service, and the food was good, pub fair selections at an average price. Considering it was peaceful and quiet and the WiFi connection was good it was a cozy spot to do a bit of work.
Free parking, free interent, free breakfast and a clean simple room were all I needed, and for the price I paid, it was a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank timidtravelerAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Room service food was prepared poorly - the main course of fish was mysteriously smothered in chocolate sauce. I was unable to get the TV to work properly, and the front desk staff was unwilling to assist. I tried to reconcile a problem with the billing for a movie, and the front desk person lectured me about hotel profitability rather than helping with the problem. Of 200+ stays at various hotels throughout the world in the last 365 days, this ranks as the worst. Congratulations Best Western Abercorn, your service is the most appalling.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank JHORNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2007

We were booked into this hotel by our travel agent. Upon arrival, we had problems checking into the hotel as there was a mix up over our last names. The staff present was less than helpful and insisted that we did not have any reservations. We told her that this is unlikely as the rest of the tour group had already checked in successfully. There was no apology, or rather, we got bad body language in return.

Getting around town
We decided to call for a cab to get to the nearby Chinatown. The front desk called for one and told us that it would be a 5 min wait. We waited for 20min, all this time within the receptionists' clear view. We could see them chatting to each other, but none came to follow up on our status. When we asked for their help again to call for the cab company, they picked up the phone in frustration and told us that it was a Friday and the delay was to be expected, all this while rolling her eyes at us and making it seem like we were interrupting her conversation with her colleague. We cancelled our booking and decided to take the 30min walk to Chinatown instead.

Breakfast in the morning
The service at the hotel café was disastrous. We waited 15min before realizing that people around us have been waiting for more than 30min had not been served. Tables were not cleared, and there was only 1 waitress in attendance. We suspect that there was probably only 1 cook inside the kitchen as food was coming out very slowly. I do not blame her for her frustration working there, but question the hotel’s bad management of their human resources.

The rooms
The rooms are very cramped, with large furniture. And the walkways are dark and dingy. There is a lot of noise coming from the planes taking off at the nearby airport. With only 1 lift servicing 3 levels, waiting for the lift also took a long time especially with so many luggage and too little space.

We will not be staying at this hotel ever.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BeanieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

We booked this as we were arriving late into Vancouver after a long flight from Europe. The courtesy coach was prompt and efficient. Check-in was polite and helpful and the restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate us explaining that our 8 yeard old daughter could'nt sit in the bar area or nearby because of licensing laws but then found us a great table on the deck outside (by then it was 4.00am according to our body clock).
Breakfast was perhaps a little bit expensive and the service was not the fastest.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ALHECA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2006

We booked this hotel for 1 night only as it was close to the airport, as we were going to fly in late and didn't want to pick up the hire car late at night then search for our main hotel which was in Burnaby. The room was large and well furnished although it did smell a bit musty, opening the window for a few minutes helped sort that out.
A word of caution the only real negative came when I switched on the jacuzzi, it obviously had not been run for awhile as soon as it started up the water stank like a stagnant pond.
The included breakfast was a muffin (with butter and peanut butter)or toast, or croissant, friut salad and tea or coffee. Not huge but enough to keep you going.
The staff were friendly and polite, booking in/out was quick and a very helpful thing was the half hourly shuttle to the airport.
The location of our room was fine but you could get one near a raised dual carridgeway, but after a 9 hour flight I'd sleep anywhere.
All in all good value for money and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sapperjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Travelodge Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £70 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing