We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should not be a BW plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 11 June 2013

After visiting this hotel I think that BW chain is being too generous in awarding the "plus" to it. It is your typical regular Best Western nothing really special about it to be named plus. However, there was something else that made me give it a poor rating: the cleanliness of the bathroom. When one thinks of comfy beds and other more intangible things it is a matter of opinion but cleanliness cannot be disputed once you see the dirty spots. The bathroom so dated that you can see from the pictures I took. The towel, very thin and worn out, had yellow marks on it, the shower tiles had hair stuck on them so that made me wonder how the place had been cleaned. Mind you this hotel claims it has gotten an award for cleanliness. Well, not at the room we stayed. The sink is so low that is better fit for a child than for an adult. Also, we asked for a quiet room since we came from a long trip and we wanted a night to rest before hitting the road. Our room was on the ground floor right in front of the parking lot so we heard every other guest arriving and rolling their luggages. The room itself is spacious but despite for the flat screen tv everything else is dated, including the bathroom. The good thing about the hotel is that it is really close to the airport and the airport shuttle driver was very kind and helpful and a careful driver. Breakfast in the morning was crowded with a lot of tourists trying to get their food from a very small area. Standard BW breakfast but I didnt like that the yogurt was in a huge bowl where everyone just scooped their portions out of it into their bowls. I dont consider that to be a very smart decision because of contamination issues considering that yogurt is very easy to spoil. It would be much better to have small one person packaged portions that all other BW offer as standard. If the reason for offering it from a big bowl was to save money I would rather they do not offer it at all. Someone may one day get ill by eating that yogurt. To summarize, thinking it was a BW plus I had higher expectations. Given it was just your standard BW I at least expected it to be clean. I will not recommend it neither we will be staying there again when coming to Vancouver. I usually dont take pictures of my stay but since my complaint was related to the cleaning of the place I thought it to be appropriate.

Room Tip: I you want a quiet room do not stay on the ground floor in front of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milepost2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Milepost2012,

Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize on behalf of our team. This is certainly not the standard that we meet for the cleanliness in our guestrooms. Providing clean and comfortable accommodation is our number one priority and it is evident that we failed to meet your expectations at this time.

We deeply apologize for the dissatisfaction and hope that you can consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Hotel is located very close to airport. In fact it would be a perfect viewing spot to see planes descend to land right in front of hotel. Noises from planes are there but not unbearable. Book rooms on the back of hotel would be a good idea which was where we stayed and we had good sleep. Room and furniture are maintained satisfactory and not aged with nice flat screen TV. However, water temperature is a big issue since it's switching hot and cold affected by the usage by other staying guests. We were constantly turning handle knob constantly. Complimentary breakfast was very nice but watch out for big group tourists pack the room. They also could make noises at corridor in early morning. Overall, it's a decent and above average Best Western for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Yuehfeng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Yuehfeng,

Thank you for your review. We will certainly check the hot water issue in our guestrooms. Glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had a great stay at the BW in Richmond. The check-in was fast and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are specious and have everything one needs. The breakfast is amazing with hot and cold items. Internet and parking are free, a big plus in comparison to staying in Vancouver. The Hotel is very convenient, close to the Interstate, Airport and Skytrain. For shopping there is a Costco right across the street.
On the negative side, the shower was hard to use because the faucets are on the older side. It has 2 separate knobs and the water was either too cold or too hot. We also had a ceiling light in our room hallway that was constantly blinking despite the fact it was off. And since we came "home" after midnight it was too late to have it replaced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank moinhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Moinhilde,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. The hallway light has been replaced and we will be looking into improving our shower faucet. We appreciate your comment and hope to welcome you again in near future!

Best Regards,

Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Efficient place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room seemed a bit dated, but was clean and comfortable. Everything worked. Internet was good. Price (via Priceline) was the key factor. It's close to the city- but traffic into Vancouver is generally bad. Try Richmond's city center for couple of pretty nice malls and for excellent Chinese food!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deaconzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Deaconzach,

Thank you for the feedback. Our property has gone through extensive renovation as of 2011and currently looking into upgrading our guestrooms. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn and hope to welcome you again in near future!

Best Regards,

Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is a bit dated, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and functional. Free Wi-Fi and decent buffet breakfast. Walls are a bit thin -- we had a room next to the elevator, and were hearing people talk from the room on the other side of the elevator (strange set-up, because our room had an "adjoining door" to that room (not sure what the layout was in the other room, given the elevator was between our rooms))

Price was very reasonable. Close to airport and nearby Steveston village (worth a visit to this lovely fishing village -- now a cute seaside town)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear honeybee1951,

Thank you for your review of our property. Your feedback is duly noted and we will certainly look into the noise issue. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again at the Abercorn Inn!

Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

the internet reception was terrible in the room I stayed at! But over all i would say "it is ok place to stay at" ... the pleasant surprise was the free breakfast which was pretty good! I you are flying out of YVR (Vancouver Airport) it is a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Mehran H,

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear about your internet connection issue. We are currently looking to upgrade our internet speed and change our provider so that we can better serve our guests.

Please consider staying with us again so that you may experience the upgrade.

Thank you.

Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Yes, this hotel looks dated and tries to masquerade as a Scottish hotel, but it is clean, the staff are hospitable and the price is right. Arrived by skytain after a trip down from Whistler by Greyhound. 5 minute walk from the Brighouse Station... Interesting crossing at the junction though, took us a while to work out the priorities!...5 minutes to cross the road :) Having bought a day ticket for the skytrain, we then went back to town and across to N.Vancouver on the seabus. Great afternoon in the city, ending at Granville Island.

The hotel is fine and the shuttle is efficient... even the first one of the day for an early flight. We used the bar for eating in the evening and the food/ beer was good.

Would stay here again, for the convenience and the welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear WorldTraveller55,

Thank you for your review and we are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again. Our hotel will be upgrading our exterior so that the property will have a more refreshed look. Please consider staying with us again so that you may see the new upgrade.

Thank you!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Airport
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport
1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Airport South
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport
0.3 mi away
Days Inn - Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £71 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing