We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit Scottish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A little bit Scottish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

It’s not because I don’t like the other airport hotels I stayed at in Vancouver, it’s that Priceline.com dictates which hotel you get when you use the bargaining tool. This time it was Best Western Abercorn. We enjoyed our stay here. At first I thought the hotel looked like a German Gausthaus but turned out to be Scottish. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was a good start to our day. Had a good sleep before our flight over seas. I would stay here again. Try the restaurant. It was excellent (see my review).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Raroboy,

Thank you for the positive review and we all hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    324
    172
    81
    36
See reviews for
197
328
68
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at the Abercorn inn YVR for our trip as usual. Noticed they expanded their patio at the restaurant,we sat there for our supper and enjoyef the sunshine. Staff were very friendly and rooms were clean. We definately enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fenfenho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hi Fenfenho,

Thank you for your respond and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

After visiting this hotel I think that BW chain is being too generous in awarding the "plus" to it. It is your typical regular Best Western nothing really special about it to be named plus. However, there was something else that made me give it a poor rating: the cleanliness of the bathroom. When one thinks of comfy beds and other more intangible things it is a matter of opinion but cleanliness cannot be disputed once you see the dirty spots. The bathroom so dated that you can see from the pictures I took. The towel, very thin and worn out, had yellow marks on it, the shower tiles had hair stuck on them so that made me wonder how the place had been cleaned. Mind you this hotel claims it has gotten an award for cleanliness. Well, not at the room we stayed. The sink is so low that is better fit for a child than for an adult. Also, we asked for a quiet room since we came from a long trip and we wanted a night to rest before hitting the road. Our room was on the ground floor right in front of the parking lot so we heard every other guest arriving and rolling their luggages. The room itself is spacious but despite for the flat screen tv everything else is dated, including the bathroom. The good thing about the hotel is that it is really close to the airport and the airport shuttle driver was very kind and helpful and a careful driver. Breakfast in the morning was crowded with a lot of tourists trying to get their food from a very small area. Standard BW breakfast but I didnt like that the yogurt was in a huge bowl where everyone just scooped their portions out of it into their bowls. I dont consider that to be a very smart decision because of contamination issues considering that yogurt is very easy to spoil. It would be much better to have small one person packaged portions that all other BW offer as standard. If the reason for offering it from a big bowl was to save money I would rather they do not offer it at all. Someone may one day get ill by eating that yogurt. To summarize, thinking it was a BW plus I had higher expectations. Given it was just your standard BW I at least expected it to be clean. I will not recommend it neither we will be staying there again when coming to Vancouver. I usually dont take pictures of my stay but since my complaint was related to the cleaning of the place I thought it to be appropriate.

Room Tip: I you want a quiet room do not stay on the ground floor in front of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milepost2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Milepost2012,

Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize on behalf of our team. This is certainly not the standard that we meet for the cleanliness in our guestrooms. Providing clean and comfortable accommodation is our number one priority and it is evident that we failed to meet your expectations at this time.

We deeply apologize for the dissatisfaction and hope that you can consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

San Diego, California, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Hotel is located very close to airport. In fact it would be a perfect viewing spot to see planes descend to land right in front of hotel. Noises from planes are there but not unbearable. Book rooms on the back of hotel would be a good idea which was where we stayed and we had good sleep. Room and furniture are maintained satisfactory and not aged with nice flat screen TV. However, water temperature is a big issue since it's switching hot and cold affected by the usage by other staying guests. We were constantly turning handle knob constantly. Complimentary breakfast was very nice but watch out for big group tourists pack the room. They also could make noises at corridor in early morning. Overall, it's a decent and above average Best Western for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Yuehfeng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Yuehfeng,

Thank you for your review. We will certainly check the hot water issue in our guestrooms. Glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had a great stay at the BW in Richmond. The check-in was fast and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are specious and have everything one needs. The breakfast is amazing with hot and cold items. Internet and parking are free, a big plus in comparison to staying in Vancouver. The Hotel is very convenient, close to the Interstate, Airport and Skytrain. For shopping there is a Costco right across the street.
On the negative side, the shower was hard to use because the faucets are on the older side. It has 2 separate knobs and the water was either too cold or too hot. We also had a ceiling light in our room hallway that was constantly blinking despite the fact it was off. And since we came "home" after midnight it was too late to have it replaced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank moinhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Moinhilde,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. The hallway light has been replaced and we will be looking into improving our shower faucet. We appreciate your comment and hope to welcome you again in near future!

Best Regards,

Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Efficient place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room seemed a bit dated, but was clean and comfortable. Everything worked. Internet was good. Price (via Priceline) was the key factor. It's close to the city- but traffic into Vancouver is generally bad. Try Richmond's city center for couple of pretty nice malls and for excellent Chinese food!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deaconzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Deaconzach,

Thank you for the feedback. Our property has gone through extensive renovation as of 2011and currently looking into upgrading our guestrooms. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn and hope to welcome you again in near future!

Best Regards,

Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is a bit dated, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and functional. Free Wi-Fi and decent buffet breakfast. Walls are a bit thin -- we had a room next to the elevator, and were hearing people talk from the room on the other side of the elevator (strange set-up, because our room had an "adjoining door" to that room (not sure what the layout was in the other room, given the elevator was between our rooms))

Price was very reasonable. Close to airport and nearby Steveston village (worth a visit to this lovely fishing village -- now a cute seaside town)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear honeybee1951,

Thank you for your review of our property. Your feedback is duly noted and we will certainly look into the noise issue. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again at the Abercorn Inn!

Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn
Address: 9260 Bridgeport Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Abercorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing