We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one answers the phone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“No one answers the phone”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Tried to book a few rooms, called the hotel directly several times, emailed the hotel directly several times. No responses, no call backs. Very disapointing.
I called one month before scheduled trip, again a week later, and again a week after that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Rick B,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I would also want to share your comment with our front-line members to re-enforce quality service and rapid response. I hope to see you again so we can provide you a better service next time!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    344
    181
    85
    41
See reviews for
209
348
70
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I've been visiting Richmond approximately 3 times a year for the past 10 years. If you know your way around Richmond and looking for an economic place to stay this is it.

I found the hotel staff to be friendly, the rooms are a bit on the small side (2 beds in the room fill it up), and the bathrooms have what seems to be an unusually large (half glass) shower, but a small turning area and a large counter.

My room had a coffee maker and mini fridge, plus a digital safe large enough to hold a few laptop computer in. Wifi is free and zippy. I got 2.89 Mbps down & 2.25 MB up (via wireless) when I speed tested it.

Complimentary served breakfast (Not a buffet but with servers, serving you) is available in the morning from 6:00am to 10:30am. The earlier you get there the better chance you'll get to help yourself to the complimentary fresh cut fruit and yogurt, but once they run out of those they don't get replaced. With your room stay you'll be issued a 8 CAD Voucher per person, which you can use on anything on the menu.

The gym is on the 1st floor, opens at 6:00am and only contains 3 pieces of equipment plus the TV is mounted at an odd angle. Towels were sometimes available in the morning, sometime not. On the way to the gym I suggest stopping by the bathroom to get some paper towels as they have spray sanitizer available in the gym but nothing to wipe down the machines with.

Breakfast: Stay on the left side of the menu and you should get what's in the (picture):
Coffee or tea, Fresh cut fruit, yogurt, eggs, potatoes, toast (white, wheat, multi-grain or sourdough), and a choice of ham or sausage, all covered by the voucher. But don't forget to leave a TIP for your wait staff. After all the breakfast was included and the service was pretty efficient. I left a $1 per person every morning.

This location is right across the street from the Costco in Richmond. If you are really hungry and don't feel like dining in the restaurant. To the right (East) and one long block away is a Tim Horton's. To the left (West) and two long blocks away is a burger king, but to me Richmond has the best Chinese food in the world and it's all along number 3 road. You can't walk from the hotel to any of the good restaurants along number 3 road but try to find a way to get there. A car would be extremely helpful. You can also walk to the River Rock casino (approximately 3 blocks to the north) which is where the nearest air train station is too and take that in to Richmond as it goes along No 3 road to the last stop Richmond Center.

This place also operates an airport shuttle. While I didn't take the airport shuttle anywhere, it seems to run frequently.

Parking is available and free and I think they offer a park and fly package (where if you stay 1 night you can leave your car in their parking lot for 5 days).

Lastly I suggest management fix the men's handicapped toilet seat. It's missing a screw so it's lose and also put the trash can in the men's room closer to the door so you don't have to basketball the towel when leaving.

Room Tip: Select rooms on the south side which is the opposite side of the roadway for a quieter nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisWish301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear CWipes,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and your very detailed recommendation! We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for our service in general. We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Best Western Abercorn is within walking distance to the Bridgeport Sky Station. The Boathouse Restaurant. Across from Costco. Has a reliable shuttle service to and from the YVR. We stay here because of the location and the courteous staff. Rooms vary. I have given the rating a very good as the restaurant is not what it used to be. They are working on it, however it could be better. It is not that the food is bad. It has room for improvement. Liked the old style buffet breakfast. They have gone back to a limited menu breakfast. Still worth it. If you are driving. The location has easy access to downtown, YVR, Steveston, Surrey etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wibs39254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Wibs39254,

Thank you for choosing your stay with Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn. We are glad that we were able to meet your accommodation needs.We appreciate your positive vision for the restaurant operation and thank you for letting us know. We do hope you return and look forward to the possibility of hosting you again!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, B.C.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had occasion to stay at this hotel overnight because of an early morning flight.
Hotel was very clean and the reception was courteous. Bed was comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was very good. Our only complaint was the occupants of the rooms next to ours where the inconsiderate people kept up the noise until 2am on one side of us and the other side of us a little dog was barking (although that stopped at a reasonable time). This was very annoying but I know I should have asked the desk clerk to put a stop to it. My fault. Other than that it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudySurrey_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear JudySurrey_B_C_,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and your positive recommendation! We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for our service in general. Next time please definitely let front desk agents know, we can always coordinate noise situation for you to make sure every guest has a quality sleeping. We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and myself checked in on Friday Feb 28 2014.We found the clerk very rude and not helpful.When asked where we parked our car for the duration of our trip she just grunted and said in the back,no directions of any kind,when I asked her opinion of what would be a good time for shuttle pickup for our flight time,she just glared at me as if to say you figure it out.We in the future will never stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Deborah J,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I would also want to share your comment with our front-line members as a training purpose. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We boked into Best Western Abercorn Inn in Richmond BC Canada for the purpose of getting to the airport next day real early (we live in Chilliwach, 130 Km away from airport , our flight was leaving next day at 9:25 am, didn't want to risk missing the flight if travelling from home all the way, so we travelled the day before). Plus, the hotel offers a long term parking for a small fee if you park your car on hotel premises if you spend a night in the hotel (hotel shuttle takes you then to and from the airport every 1/2 hour).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Helmut_Sardis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello Helmut_Sardis2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and your positive recommendation! We were very happy to see the appreciation you had for our service in general. We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here on a layover. Nice hotel and good value for dollar. Beds are great! Good location by YVR. No issues and would stay here again. Includes breakfast. Found the best rate on the hotel web site.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Dana S,

Thank you for choosing your stay with Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn. We are glad that we were able to meet your accommodation needs. We do hope you return and look forward to the possibility of hosting you again!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn
Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing