We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel a number of times and while it is dated and tired we have come to expect and enjoy the comfortable beds and clean rooms. What we did not expect was to walk into a large bathroom where the bathtub had been removed leaving only the shower. while we realize this is the norm in many hotels in other countries and in some newer hotels in North America, we did not expect that in this hotel. Always there has been a tub. We were not told there was no tub when booking and when we enquired if we could change rooms it was conveyed to us was that it was our fault for not making a specific request for a bath tub. Our displeasure then lay in their attitude. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfynes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear sfynes2,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Our hotel offers 8 kinds of room types, and some rooms are shower only to be able to provide guest with different options. I would recommend you and your family to choose the favorite room type upon your arrival next time. I would want to share your comment with our front-line members to re-enforce quality service. I hope to see you again so we can provide you a better service next time!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times, including May 2014. The staff are very professional and helpful and they are one of a few hotels that acknowledge the Best Western diamond status benefits we have when checking in. It is an older hotel so it has lots of character and is well maintained: the amenities are all we need when traveling. It is handy to the airport and to Steveston Fishing Village which is where we spent our time. We enjoyed the breakfast in their dining room (it used to be a buffet style and is now served at the tables).
We would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Debbourne,

Thank you very much for giving us a five star! We were very happy to see that our services had meet your accommodation needs. We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Abercorn has a an up and down review on Trip Advisor. My stay was up. Dated-somewhat, but the bed was comfortable, the towels fluffy, water pressure excellent,the room pin neat and clean. I do not travel as much as I once did and this is the first time I have stayed at the Abercorn, but I enjoy being able to open windows and not be a/c'ed sealed off. I had a room facing Bridgeport and the traffic noise was a reality, but hey this Ricmond BC!. Voucher for breakfast is a great deal too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Herb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Herb H,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn. We appreciate your valuable feedback and were very happy to see the appreciation you had for the service in general. We looking forward to see you again!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed one night after a long flight from Sydney and then travelling on to Toronto the next morning. Close to the airport, having a shuttle bus and being a Best Western rewards member were the reasons I selected this hotel. The bonus was the Tim Hortons in walking distance just down the road.

The room was comfortable and clean, king bed and pillows were really comfy and provided a good nights sleep. The onsite restaurant had good food with great service - can't comment on breakfast as I left early the following morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Showhorse68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Showhorse68,

Thank you for choosing your stay with Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn. We are glad that we were able to meet your accommodation needs.We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience when you visit Vancouver area next time!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Convenient hotel with good service and parking, seemingly clean rooms, complementary breakfast and 24/7 staff. but I woke up on my 3rd morning with my legs covered in bed bug bites. Beware, and check the beds!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear traveller09625,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. We would like to take the bedbug issue seriously please provide detail information about your stay. (you name and check-in date). From the past years, we had never experienced problem with bedbug but we want to make sure the room you have stayed at is safe for the next guest. We appreciate your comment but encourage you to bring up the issue while you are still at hotel so we can assist you in a better way. We looking forward you reply. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I chose this hotel first because it was Best Western and second because it was where I was married 27 years ago. Outwardly the hotel has not changed and retains its Tudor charm. The thistle theme remains in the carpeting and the room décor which harks back to its Scottish founders. I found the room to be small but comfortable with all the amenities I needed. The king-size bed was excellent and the tile walk-in shower was great. I dined with friends in the restaurant and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The service was excellent and we felt we were really looked after. Same in the pub/lounge - friendly, efficient and relaxed. The only disappointment was the breakfast and perhaps my choice of sausages and scambled egg was the wrong one. I would recommend this hotel as a good alternative to the expensive glitzy ones near the airport if you want a good night sleep at a reasonable price in comfortable surroundings with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank keeshasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear keeshasmum,

Thank you for choosing your stay with Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn again! We are glad that we were able to meet your accommodation needs. We appreciate loyal customer as you and thank you for recommended us to your friends and family. We looking forward to improve on the item you mentioned and aiming to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Linda Zhang
Best Western PLUS Abercorn Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had a nice stay. Thought it would be noisier but it wasn't. Room was clean. Location was handy as Costco is just across the road. There was live music in the lounge. Great atmosphere! Will be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jodyg813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear jodyg813,

Thank you for choosing your stay with Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn. We are glad that we were able to meet your accommodation needs.We looking forward to provide you with another superior experience!

Best Regards,
Best Western Plus Abercorn Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Travelodge Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £71 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing