We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 13 August 2014

For whatever reason, this hotel has moved away from a very successful buffet breakfast to a 'plated' service breakfast. The menu does not cater for children and there is no intention for it to do so (for example, we were offered a choice of tea or coffee for our kids). There is no cereal bar, no muffins, toast or satisfactory fruit/yoghurt options. When we complained about the breakfast which, incidentally was completely inedible, we received the worst customer service ever from a Duty Manager who could not bring himself to even offer an apology let alone undertake to look at the situation on our behalf. His indifference and ignorance was unprofessional and uncaring. In sum, this hotel fails to meet its Best Western Plus status in every respect; the accommodation is shabby and requires some new life, the breakfast is unsuitable for human consumption and the menu offerings for the restaurant evening service are extremely limited an uninspiring. We will never use this hotel again and will never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Adrian A

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. The areas highlighted by you have been worked upon and corrective steps will be taken so that you do have a better experience on next visit.

Steve N
Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Room was nice and comfortable, but main entrance was difficult to locate. Proximity to airport was main reason for staying here. Staff was helpful and caring. Value for the hotel was reasonable but having breakfast would have been nice

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Shafıq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Mr Shafiq,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 604-484-2565.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely, Steve Nadan , Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in many Best Westerns. This one caught my attention right away when I went to check in for my reservation. The front desk clerk immediately told me go sit down for five minutes, she was busy! The next thing was the smell and dinginess of the hallways. Old, smelly and outdated.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Gearld C

Thanks for writing this survey, we apologize for your discomfort during your stay at our hotel. Through these reviews we can improve our services, Once again we apologize.

Steve Nadan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel worn, musty & dark. Poor breakfast no buffet ,milk & juice were an extra charge. . Poor value for the money spent. Difficult to find as the directions given on the website are ALL wrong. Sewer smells near the front doors.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sue1946737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Adrian A

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. The areas highlighted by you have been worked upon and corrective steps will be taken so that you do have a better experience on next visit.

Steve N
Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is not as outdated as I thought it might be based on the other reviews. It's just fine. The bedding and carpeting in the rooms are new, which is most important to me with dustmite allergies. The hallways are dark for sure and the rooms could use another bulb or two in the ceiling fixtures, but there's good light in the bathroom, which is really where you need it. I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, Tuesday to Monday. The front desk was welcoming and informative. They, along with the restaurant staff, are very good at double-dutying as tourist information centers! Countless times, there were people at the front desk and even in the restaurant seeking travel and attraction advice to which the staff happily responded. They're GREAT at this. The "free" breakfast was fairly terrible - the choices were Vegetarian or Meat Lovers - both with scrambled eggs, potatoes (not hashbrowns as the menu says) and toast - one with vegetables (which my mum said were actually good) the other with ham and sausage. This is where the breakfast became terrible - the ham is way too salty to eat and the sausages were TERRIBLE - they use some kind of spice or seasoning that should not be in a breakfast sausage. All over the restaurant, you could see fairly empty plates but for sausages left everywhere. What a waste. Nobody liked them, yet they continued to serve them all week. By the third day, I was down to just potatoes and toast for breakfast. The "paid" menu choices were so extremely limited, I didn't bother to order and pay for anything else. We ate dinner in there once and it was pretty good. I thought our room was in a pretty good location for the first 4 nights - at the far end of the hallway (which usually means it's quieter with less people walking by to get to their rooms) - room #257. Then the fifth night, I found out that our room was directly - DIRECTLY above the "ballroom" area and they were hosting what I assume from all the speeches was a wedding. You could hear the speeches, and the music was literally vibrating the beds, floor, and furniture in our room. I called down to the front desk to inquire about when this would be over - deciding if we would need to change rooms or hotels. My only reply was that she would "talk to the DJ"... What? Um. Ok. You could imagine just how much good that did. None. The music continued, as did the speeches. It was a night of no sleep until close to 2am when I must have just finally fallen asleep out of sheer exhaustion. The next day, there was no apology or mention of it at all from the desk staff or management. Funny part is - this is the night I paid the most for to stay there! LOL. I wonder if they should consider putting WEDDING GUESTS over top of the WEDDING since theyre not in their rooms anyway - they're at the wedding! Or maybe a little warning to the guests staying 10 feet away from the wedding that they will get no sleep so they have the option of switching hotels. This was a huge disappointment in a stay that was actually fairly good up to this point. The walk to the Bridgeport Skytrain/Bus station was maybe 3-500 meters away (cut diagonal through the Costco parking lot to shorten your walk). This was probably the best thing about the hotel - it's proximity to the Station.

Room Tip: Don't stay near room 257 which is directly above the "ballroom"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank freezing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Freezing1

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.


Steve Nadan
Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our base camp for my family and I as we visited Richmond over a weekend. The hotel is definitely dated but for the most part it was clean and the included breakfast was very good, albeit service was slow as it is cooked and not you usual buffet of items. The room itself was clean and was roomy enough for our two young kids. The front counter was courteous and overall I did not have any problems with checkout and checkin.

As for things in the area; we visited the Richmond Night market by walking to the location which isn't too far away. There is a Costco across the street should you need some stuff from there. We did have a vehicle with us and found the parking to be okay although it seemed like it could be possible that you could have more tenants then car spots.

Overall a good stay. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again although there are similar accommodations that can be found nearby if they are full.

Room Tip: We had an upper level room facing the rear of the hotel, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EtownTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Etown Travellers,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Steve Nadan
Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have always enjoyed dining at the restaurant at the Abercorn - the food is perfect and the service exceptional. We were there tonight for my birthday and once again, the total experience hit the spot. When you get great food not once or twice but at least 10 times, something has to be done well - Congrats - the only thing - I could not find a specific spot on Tripadvisor to put comments on JUST the restaurant

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western P, Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Jim B

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Steve N
Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Travelodge Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £70 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing