We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We drove up from Seattle and spent one night at the Fairmont Vancouver Airport before leaving in the morning. I wish it could have been longer. What a lovely hotel! Service was excellent, our room was gorgeous with a very comfy king bed and a great bathroom, and we had a great time watching activity at YVR and looking through the telescope next to our window. We had a light meal in the lounge downstairs and it was very good. We will be back up for a longer stay, just to enjoy this hotel as much as we can.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,128
    551
    88
    32
    22
See reviews for
679
964
295
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have stayed at the Fairmont YVR several times as a connection point. Never disappoints with all facilities. Especially nice to avoid the travel day mayhem by being able to walk to the check in or gate without any transfer hassles. Great beds, pillows and beddings. First choice for any connections through YVR

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that we made your travel experience more convenient and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Being Vancouver residents, we don't normally have a reason to stay at the Fairmont Airport, but we recently were put out of our home for a few days due to an electrical room fire. After a couple of nights at a cheaper express type hotel, we decided we'd splurge a little for the final three nights we'd be out of our home and stay at the Fairmont. I work in South Delta and my spouse in Yaletown, so it was an easy drive through the tunnel and an incredibly easy Canada Line hop to get to Yaletown. We stayed facing the mountains the first two nights and while the sound proofing is indeed amazing (we didn't notice the planes at all), we could hear the faint "beep-beep-beep" of the service vehicles at the gates directly below. I suspect older ears might not even register sound in this range though. We moved to a south facing room for our final night and it was whisper quiet. Too bad, as I prefer the (still large but cozier) layout of the studio rooms on the north side - they have no sofa bed, so the TV is a bit closer to the bed, which made for very enjoyable watching of the Canucks game in hi-def! A treat as we've gone TV-less at home in an effort to be less sloth like. South side rooms have the sofa bed, good if you are travelling with kids, but it does make the TV a bit of a touchdown throw away from the bed. I think I might live with the beep-beep next time for the cozier layout. Beds are the most comfortable of any I've slept on - bar none. Room service and food was excellent. Bathrooms are the usually opulent Fairmont, with large soaker tubs and walk-in-showers. We ate in the restaurant one evening - again, I could not find fault with the service or food as both were well above average. Pricing is Fairmont, but so is the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVRme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

A great Hotel at Vancouver International Airport , good for one night or a few days as its very easy to take the train downtown ( 15 minutes ) I stayed in a Fairmont gold room , very clean and excellent bed , lots of space and very nice bathroom . The Breakfast was very good and so was the service very friendly staff , good job by everyone I came in contact with .

Room Tip: spend the extra and enjoy the gold floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a stay at the Fairmont Airport since our YVR flight out was very early the following morning and would be the start to a very long travel day. We often stay at nearby hotels with free shuttles to be close to the airport when we have early flights but this was our first time at the Fairmont which is actually onsite at the airport - a 5 minute walk to the Departures checkin. First, we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was, especially considering it looked out over active gates with aircraft coming and going. The staff were pleasant, the king bed very comfortable and the express checkout via internet most welcome in the very early hours of the am. It's pricey but was worth the investment for a very early start to a very long day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandAmica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destruction Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We got this place just so we did not have to leave the airport all good all around but with the amount you charge why do you not have free internet also water for the room would be nice too room services was ok but the bread was cold and hard not a 5 star thing

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KluaneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Having to be in and around Vancouver Airport for a meeting, it was recommended that I stay at the Fairmont Hotel at the terminal. I've never really liked staying at airport hotels due to noise, airport congestion, and lack of amenities, but in this case all these concerns are eliminated since the hotel is located outside the hubbub of the airport, within the terminal are amenities such as convenience stores, liquor stores, pharmacy, and other types of businesses, a first-class restaurant with 4 star service and food. The room was excellent and the views of the airport beautiful as well as the local mountain ranges. Lastly, the bed turndown comes with a plate of chocolate covered strawberries and butter cookies shaped like planes. What a treat!! The only issue I had was the high expense for wifi service and the cab service in the lower level of the terminal versus outside the hotel lobby.

Other than those two items this is an outstanding hotel, especially since I can roll out of bed and check in within minutes of checking out!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALNNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location within the Vancouver International Airport. Before your next stay be sure to sign up for the Fairmont President's Club complimentary membership as it will give you the benefit of complimentary wifi among many others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Property: Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing