We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves its #1 ranking -- My YVR preffered hotel, bar none!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orleans, Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Deserves its #1 ranking -- My YVR preffered hotel, bar none!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I will make this my default YVR and Vancouver-area hotel from now on. This hotel is simply the best in terms of convenience, service and attention to detail, IMHO. Stayed here for 3 nights in early December and the location was perfect for my day trip over to Victoria and back and the next day's short 22 minute Skytrain ride on the Canada line into central Vancouver. The Jetside Lounge/Bar serves good food at reasonable "hotel" prices, the rooms are comfortable and spacious with good working space to watch TV, catch up on emails etc. Small touches as make up room/do not disturb lights, shoe shines if need be and the telescope in my tarmac/mountain view room were perfect. The gym is open 24 hours for Eastern travelllers to get in really early workouts and the 2-minute walk to US departures, 5 minutes to int'l gates and 10 mins (if you are walking slow) to the domestic gates reduces a whole ton of stress when flying home or connecting.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJR-041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enyoyed your experience and were able to take advantage of our convenient location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    568
    92
    33
    22
See reviews for
684
985
305
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is right in the center of the Vancouver Airport and makes access to the facilities very convenient.

Our room was very nicely appointed in general with a very unique view overlooking the gate area of the airport and the planes. This makes a visit to this hotel a rather fascinating experience.

The bathroom is very strange. There are louver doors that open between the bathroom and the sleeping area. Every sound made in the bathroom can be clearly heard in the rest of the whole room. So a visit with a loved one is sort of ok, but the same situation with a friend or business partner would be very strange and uncomfortable.

Dinner in the restaurant was very good and the food fresh and well prepared.

The front desk staff was in general very helpful, although our check in person seemed very confused.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InTheMomentManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your response. We have passed your feedback onto our operations team. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner in Globe@YVR. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Flying out early from YVR, this is your hotel!
Location within the airport itself, so no going outside at all if you don't want to.
Nothing to complain about from the check in staff to the room are up to Fairmont standard.
An extra plug for the check in staff.
They are always so friendly and effecient.
Thanks for your warm welcome, as we arrive each time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We have shared your kind words with our front desk staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Vancouver Airport soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We drove up from Seattle and spent one night at the Fairmont Vancouver Airport before leaving in the morning. I wish it could have been longer. What a lovely hotel! Service was excellent, our room was gorgeous with a very comfy king bed and a great bathroom, and we had a great time watching activity at YVR and looking through the telescope next to our window. We had a light meal in the lounge downstairs and it was very good. We will be back up for a longer stay, just to enjoy this hotel as much as we can.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have stayed at the Fairmont YVR several times as a connection point. Never disappoints with all facilities. Especially nice to avoid the travel day mayhem by being able to walk to the check in or gate without any transfer hassles. Great beds, pillows and beddings. First choice for any connections through YVR

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that we made your travel experience more convenient and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Being Vancouver residents, we don't normally have a reason to stay at the Fairmont Airport, but we recently were put out of our home for a few days due to an electrical room fire. After a couple of nights at a cheaper express type hotel, we decided we'd splurge a little for the final three nights we'd be out of our home and stay at the Fairmont. I work in South Delta and my spouse in Yaletown, so it was an easy drive through the tunnel and an incredibly easy Canada Line hop to get to Yaletown. We stayed facing the mountains the first two nights and while the sound proofing is indeed amazing (we didn't notice the planes at all), we could hear the faint "beep-beep-beep" of the service vehicles at the gates directly below. I suspect older ears might not even register sound in this range though. We moved to a south facing room for our final night and it was whisper quiet. Too bad, as I prefer the (still large but cozier) layout of the studio rooms on the north side - they have no sofa bed, so the TV is a bit closer to the bed, which made for very enjoyable watching of the Canucks game in hi-def! A treat as we've gone TV-less at home in an effort to be less sloth like. South side rooms have the sofa bed, good if you are travelling with kids, but it does make the TV a bit of a touchdown throw away from the bed. I think I might live with the beep-beep next time for the cozier layout. Beds are the most comfortable of any I've slept on - bar none. Room service and food was excellent. Bathrooms are the usually opulent Fairmont, with large soaker tubs and walk-in-showers. We ate in the restaurant one evening - again, I could not find fault with the service or food as both were well above average. Pricing is Fairmont, but so is the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVRme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A great Hotel at Vancouver International Airport , good for one night or a few days as its very easy to take the train downtown ( 15 minutes ) I stayed in a Fairmont gold room , very clean and excellent bed , lots of space and very nice bathroom . The Breakfast was very good and so was the service very friendly staff , good job by everyone I came in contact with .

Room Tip: spend the extra and enjoy the gold floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Property: Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing