We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you have an early flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you have an early flight”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Actually, booked a last minute room at the Fairmont Vancouver Airport. It began snowing the night before our flight. The only way we could guarantee that we would be parked and at the terminal on time was to stay at a hotel in the airport.

Getting an booking was easy. We checked into the hotel after 1:00 a.m. The entrance to the hotel is lovely and the staff was quite accommodating. The room was large but could perhaps do with a little refurbishing. The best part of the hotel (besides for the location) is how quiet it is considering the fact that you are staying right in the middle of the airport.

We had a nice breakfast at the hotel prior to going to our gate. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who has the slightest doubt that they will make their flight in the morning. With the construction and traffic difficulties surrounding Vancouver, it is worth the time and money to have a good night's rest before your flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location in addition to our breakfast offerings. Thank you for your feedback regarding our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    568
    92
    33
    22
See reviews for
684
985
305
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed in one double room which was large and had wonderfully comfortable beds. When we had to stay another night due to flight delays no one complained and we enjoyed a good meal in the hotel restaurant. Highly recommended and looking forward to staying again on our outward journey this weekend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank guidedbythelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I arrived at Vancouver airport after a day of hell. Fog cancelling flights from Vancouver island and needing to get to San Francisco. After driving and ferrying all day I arrived at Vancouver airport at 1am and walked through the terminal to the Fairmont deciding it was worth spending the money to lie in a bed and I was right. This hotel is AMAZING! Admittedly, they only had the 'flash' (gold) rooms left but the money was well worth it. Access to a 'living room' style rest area, someone to greet you each time you entered and left. Maps and advice on where to go and what to see on a very short stay. Even after trying to get on flights the following day, I was able to come and go to my room which gave me a wonderful rest spot after a harrowing day. I also loved sitting and watching the planes come and go while I was waiting around. I totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We understand that people end up with us due to unfortunate unforseen circumstances so we are just happy when we can turn a negative experience into a positive one. I have shared your kind words with our team on Fairmont Gold. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hopefully it is under more positive circumstances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in July 2013. It was perfect for what we wanted - a spacious room for a family of four located within the airport complex. The staff were great (and helpful), the rooms were large and well appointed. We ate in the restaurant because the children were underage and could not sit in the bar, but the staff let us choose items off both the bar and the restaurant menu. We loved viewing the planes from the room and it was unbelievably quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at this airport hotel for 1 night during December after flying in from the UK. The hotel is ideally located within the airport complex, a short walk from arrivals. The hotel is fairly modern with friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and have great views of the airport terminals. There is also a nice bar and restaurant on site. The only downside was the fairly long walk to pick up the hire car, but this was not the hotel's fault. Would highly recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade_Loz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is easily the best airport hotel I've ever stayed in. Very conveniently located right in the terminal. It features a great gym and spa, as well as an exercise pool. The restaurant is fantastic. I loved everything I ate, and it far exceeds any "airport food" I've had in the past. My room was very spacious, very clean, and had a deep soaker tub, which is exactly what I needed after a 13 hour flight. The hotel is totally soundproof. I didn't feel like I was in an airport hotel at all, rather a high end resort!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontYVR, Director of Sales at Fairmont Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Fairmont Vancouver Airport. We are so pleaed to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our Health Club and Pool. I have passed your kind words about your Globe@YVR dining experience along to our food and beverage staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Whenever I travel early in the morning from Vancouver airport, I always look forward to the breakfast at the Fairmont. A nice buffet or you can just place your special order. I always prefer to seat by the window so I can see the Tarmac and the flights. Not a bad place to kill time before you board your flight. Caution don't forget time flies so be careful not to miss your flight. So this time too I left to board one hour before my plane leaves for Toronto.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Godsent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Vancouver Airport

Property: Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Address: 3111 Grant McConachie Way | PO Box 23798, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Vancouver Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel is the only soundproofed, luxury hotel and spa conveniently located within Vancouver's International Airport (YVR). Situated directly above the US departures terminal only a two-minute stroll from the luggage carousels. Sleep in luxury right above your gate and avoid shuttles. This AAA / CAA 4-diamond airport hotel features:- an extensive Health Club and Spa- soundproofed guestrooms- breathtaking floor-to-ceiling views- day use roomsThe Fairmont Vancouver Airport hotel's award-winning, signature restaurant, GlobeYVR Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.Wireless Internet Access is available in all of our guest rooms and is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Richmond
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver Airport
Fairmont Richmond
The Fairmont Vancouver Airport
Vancouver Airport Fairmont Hotel
Richmond Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing