We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here the night before our plane departed for home and I must say I was pleasantly surprised! Great, quiet night's sleep on a very comfortable bed, very clean carpets and we had a large, clean washroom. Very courteous and helpful staff and a good restaurant on the premises. Convenient shuttles to and from the airport, too.

Room Tip: Booked executive king at a great rate through expedia. King bed, sofa, fridge, microwave and a big b...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KrazyKatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was so well maintained that it appeared to be built in recent years. It was very convenient to the highway that goes to the B.C. Ferry dock at Tsawassen, to the River Rock Casino and to the airport. We quite enjoyed our dinner and breakfast at the adjoining Fogg N Suds Restaurant. There was nothing about this hotel that we could find fault with, other than the lower parking ramp was a little obscure and not marked well. We definitely would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Woody547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We chose this hotel because it avoided the high cost of downtown Vancouver, was well situated, and we thought provided free parking - so we were surprised that there was a parking fee ($9). Unlike other guests we did not get a free breakfast, but from other guests learned this was no loss. The hotel's location did provide easy access to everywhere we wanted to go: with a car you can be in downtown or Granville island in 20 minutes, to Stanley Park in 30 minutes, to the Richmond Night Market in 6 minutes, etc.; however, if you do not have a car then be advised that there are no services within easy safe walking distance! When we asked about restaurants for breakfast, the suggestions were: McDonalds, IHOP, and Denny's - not of appeal for us, but others may be pleased with this.

We found the rooms to be pretty comfortable, but our room (204) had no view and we could hear a lot of noise from both below us and from our neighbors. At midnight we called the front desk and the clerk said she would check things out. Within 15 minutes our neighbors stopped yelling so We can say we were pleased with the responsiveness of the staff, but the noise was a problem throughout our stay- in the mornings as well - so not a place for quiet sleep. The beds are comfortable, but not the pillows.

The hotel is doing some work to the property - terrible parking system (to enter you go up a two-way ramp and have to slide a key in a box located on the wrong side of the street - potentially dangerous should anyone be exiting) or you have to find the lower parking which is not very evident. The second night the box for the entry key was gone, but the intercom box was still on the wrong side - confusing and nobody had told us what was going on.

The hotel offers flavored water in the lobby but the dispenser was out very time we came by during our 2 night stay. The hotel charges $2.50/bottle for water in the room. There is a handy luggage scale In the lobby. There is a fitness center (no pool).

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that had only one adjacent room to minimize noise and not overlooking the ent...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldexplorer88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Booked a corporate negotiated rate for two rooms and two nights for my family while we were on vacation in Vancouver. The rate was a steal and included free breakfast vouchers, free parking, and free wifi.

Since I have Platinum Elite, the front desk receptionist also accommodated my request for an upgrade of a standard queen room to a Corner King.

The wifi internet speed is real. They advertise that they have fiber internet and it shows as connections were amazing. Made for very satisfied family members who frequently used social media and since we were roaming in Canada, didn't want to use our cellular data.

The parking was ample and secure, and the Front Desk staff accurately advised that the lower garage often had more spaces available in the evenings.

If you could, request a room away from the elevators, as the ice machines are located by the elevators and that thing was very noisy, even from inside a room adjacent to that area, plus you could hear voices in the hallway in the high traffic elevator landings.

The in-room TV is high-def and actually carry HD channels! Lots of Canadian channels as well as American standards. Only 2 defects of in-room tech were that the iPod/iPhone dock/alarm clock device had a non-functioning 30-pin only dock connector, and no other easily reachable power plugs near the beds. The desk and available plugs but my room's desk didn't seem work. Unplug a floor lamp to charge your stuff.

The breakfast vouchers offers you a choice of a combo 2 eggs, 2 bacon, 2 sausage, potatoes and toast, and coffee or tea. Its a large meal, so light eaters can opt also for just $10 credit on anything from the menu, which have healthy offerings like fruit, yogurt, and oatmeal.

Overall, a great value, and a very comfortable trouble free family vacation stay.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and away from elevators. Lower level garage has more spaces available.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I chose the Holiday Inn for a couple of reasons:
1) The hotel didn’t cost us much. No cash; we only had to spend a small amount of loyalty points each night.

2) It was close to the airport and had a shuttle service. I figured we could just use public transportation from there to get wherever we wanted to go.

Given the fact the hotel was essentially free, I have nothing to really complain about. The room and bathroom were clean and a decent size, the bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful. There was a bus stop just across the street from the hotel, so getting places was fairly easy. I used the gym two out of the three days we were there. It is well equipped with free weights and bench, a universal machine, several cardio machines, mats, and a stability ball. Those were the plusses. Here are the not-so-great things about the hotel.

1) The location was awful. The neighborhood, which is basically the outer edges of Richmond had kind of a dirty, run down feel to it. We were on a busy city-type street with no restaurants within an easy walk (Due to high volumes of traffic and inadequate sidewalks, walking on the streets of this neighborhood was not really safe or pleasant).

2) The hotel restaurant served food that was a half-step up from inedible. We ate breakfast there only once. The tab for two people was $40. The next day, we went next door to McDonalds and had a better breakfast for $12. This was probably my first trip to McDonalds in more than 35 years. The smell of their food makes my stomach turn. So, if I say McDonalds was better (I had oatmeal at both places) than the hotel food, that’s a pretty strong statement.

3) The common areas (hallways, reception area, etc.) are in desperate need of some TLC. A good shampooing of the carpet would go a long way.

4) The walls are paper thin. If you are a light sleeper and have noisy neighbors, you will not get much rest at night.

If we return to Vancouver, we will stay near the waterfront or in the city center. But, if you have to stay in Richmond or want to be near the airport, this isn’t a bad option. The hotel is inexpensive (even without using points) and the rooms are clean. So, it does fit my “bottom line” criteria for an acceptable place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces away from the airport. Planes are loud, but this might minimize noise level.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager3, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear wendy f,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detail about your recent stay with us! Paying attention to detail is high priority in our hotel so I will be sure to pass along your comments to both the restaurant management as well as our housekeeping department.

We know there are many options out there, so we thank you for choosing us for your hospitality needs!

Best Regards,
Adam McDowell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I received stellar customer service from Sabrina, Spencer, Ralph and Eric. We were there for an overnight stay after a large cycling event from Seattle to Vancouver. Many from our group decided to find lodging so we could stay for the night market and other local attractions. I made the reservation on Saturday morning to arrive later that afternoon. I've never done that before so was a wee bit nervous. But there were no problems with check-in once we got there. Sabrina explained the amenities of the properties and got us settled in smoothly.

I didn't hear the planes flying overhead and it was nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfast was included in our rate and was quite filling. There was a small surcharge for parking but it was much more reasonable than some of the other properties I've stayed at before. In fact, our vehicle was oversized and did not fit into the secured garage. There were also no oversize/over height stalls available so the front desk staff had us park in a place near them to ensure we wouldn't have any problems.

I also found out that the Holiday Inn Express down the road is another property owned by the same owner. It is a well maintained property and is easily accessible to many points of interest. All in all, a very nice stay and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Small surcharge for parking but is reasonable rate for secured parking garage. We were on the 3rd fl...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lopezj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights prior to boarding an Alaskan cruise..... Staff all very friendly and attentive.... room clean and spacious, bed the size of a football pitch, great shower. Food in bar excellent and a great range of Canadian beers. At first we thought it was a bit far out but the Vancouver public transport system is brilliant and cheap so it was simple to get around..... All in all highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
908 reviews
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport

Address: 10720 Cambie Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £108 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Holiday Inn to the Vancouver Airport. Award-Winning Richmond, BC Hotel Offers Excellent Service For a comfortable stay in a well-appointed hotel, come visit the 100% nonsmoking Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport Hotel in Richmond, BC. Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus to the nearby Vancouver International Airport (YVR). Our hotel's location in Richmond puts you in close proximity to both Richmond and downtown Vancouver. Minutes away from the Riverport Sport and Entertainment complex. Spend the day exploring the historic Steveston fishing village, Richmond Centre, River Rock Casino, or head to Vancouver to see Gastown, Chinatown and the beautiful North Shore Mountains. If you're on business in Richmond, BC, our hotel's northern location will give you easy access to McKesson, BC Lotteries, MDSI, CSA Airport Executive Park, Crestwood Corporate Centre, Key West Business Park and the businesses around Vancouver Airport. Our hotel also has 1,900 sq. ft. of meeting space, a business centre and a separate business floor to meet your needs. With amenities like gated parking, our Fogg n' Sudds on-site restaurant and the fitness centre , we go beyond regular hotels near Vancouver to give you the comfort you deserve. Every room has free high-speed Internet access, an iPod clock radio, a cable TV, triple-sheeted bedding and a workspace, ergonomic chair and two-line phone. Our Vancouver Airport hotel's staff looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing