We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn - Vancouver Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Days Inn - Vancouver Airport
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Perfect for an overnight stay on our way out of the country. Jeremy at the front desk was extremely helpful. Unfortunately the airport shuttle does not run early so we had to take a cab (relatively inexpensive ) and didn't get breakfast but the room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    672
    286
    76
    68
See reviews for
414
620
184
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here because it was close to the airport and had a shuttle service. Rooms were clean and average size. Breakfast is muffins, toast, cereal and a waffle maker. No fresh fruit or yogurt.

Check the times of the shuttle. We arrived late at night and had a delay waiting for our luggage. Shuttle stopped running at 12:20 p.m. so we missed the shuttle and had to take a taxi to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Friendly staff, free wifi, quiet comfortable clean room, huge shower/bathroom/room, accessible hdmi inputs on the TV (bring cables, I didn't :( ), staff make you breakfast in the lobby, recommend great dinner restaurants, and are super helpful with ordering cabs and finding local services. Price was extremely reasonable for great experience. Go to the Boathouse for dinner! Steak is fantastic!

Room Tip: Hard to balance electric HVAC, use the "comfort zone" range - very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkDineen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is the WORST stay ever in my life in any hotel. I have stayed at other Days Inns and they were all excellent. This one, Days Inn Vancouver Airport Hotel, is absolutely the opposite. It is a long story so I appreciate it that you would bear with me.
We redeemed points through Wyndham Rewards online booking. According to Wyndham website, kids 12 and under stay free at Days Inn Vancouver Airport Hotel. However, when I called the hotel to verify I was told that kids 11 and under stay free; and anyone 12 and older are considered as an adult. If there is a third person 12 or older stays, a $10 plus taxes will be charged. We also need to provide Either Photo I.D. or ALL of Social Insurance Number Card, Birth Certificate, and BC Medicare Card, to prove each kid's age. I was told all three I.D.s are required to sufficiently prove the age if no Photo I.D. That means I have to bring 9 I.D.s for three kids. I then called Wyndham customer service to clarify the discrepancies, and was transferred to general Days Inn customer service, who politely told me each hotel has its own policy.
I then called this Days Inn to verify. At some point, the agent told me other than the documents mentioned before, I could get a form from kid's school for proof of age. First, it is quite a hassle to get a form from school just for one night's stay. Besides, I had never heard about age proof form from school; so I asked her exactly what kind of form it is. Then she asked me if I want to be transferred to a Mandarin or Cantonese speaking customer service agent, because I do not seem to know about the form from school.
It was a mistake to judge the languages I speak by my last name. I do speak absolutely fluent English if not 100% perfect. Neither Mandarin nor Cantonese is my native tongue, though I do understand both. My native tongue is actually Japanese. I was born and grew up in Japan. But above all, I was asking the form from school, which has nothing to do with language issue. I felt I was insulted. I told her it is not about a language, it is about the documents the hotel requires.

I booked a room at this hotel anyway just for the better rating on internet. When I checked in, a male staff asked for the kid’s I.D.s. He needs to make sure the 10 years old is 10 years old, not 12 years old? I told the guy I will bring them just in front of you to see, and then you will know that. I even asked if 4 years old looks like older than 12 years old. He immediately said 10 years old could be looked like 16 years old. (If you fist politely ask me to bring the kids and take a look first, then if he still not sure the 10 years old is really 10 or 12, he can ask me to get the documents. I would have felt much better.) Anyway, he told me to sign the paper before I go get kids. As I was very upset, I did signed the paper quickly and roughly, but told him that three kids were in the car just outside of the back door. For safety, I suppose to go get them first before I signed it. He said “It only takes 30 seconds to sign the paper”. I replied him “Yes, it only takes less than 30 seconds, why you urge me to sign the paper right away?” I also told him there might be one more 12 years old girl showing up later, if so I will come to pay for extra $10 plus tax, which fee was verified yesterday over the phone. He said ok, I will charge you extra. Then I said “WAIT A MINUTE!” That girl has not shown up yet, now we only have 1 adult and three kids, age 12, 10 and 4. You should not charge now. I have already told you if another girl shows up, I will pay for her fee.

After we drove back home to get all three I.D.s, I placed them on the counter. He even not touching the documents first, then asked my 134-cm tall 10-year-old: how old are you? That was very insulting! IF YOU EVER TRUST the age by asking the kid directly, why you insist you need to see the documents? I did not have to drive all the way back home to get 9 documents? IF HE DOES NOT TRUST what my kids or I say about the age, you just take a look at the 9 documents, which has been already placed JUST IN FRONT OF HIM.Later, he said only one document is enough. You do not have to bring three…. Your people say that I need to bring all three I.D.s to prove the age sufficiently!

As he asked me to sign another paper, I said give it to me. He told me to calm down. When he asked me to type PIN without any explanation, I grabbed the machine. He again insulted me. He said, “I WARN YOU. THIS IS YOUR LAST CHANCE. OTHERWISE, I WILL NOT LET YOU CHECK IN.” At this point, I could not express anymore. Is this how a hotel treats its customers? Insult them, upset them, and then try to get rid of them after they've signed in. We were treated as if we had been beggars instead of customers.
Then I see 250 bucks charge. After I asked what it is for, he said it is for security deposit for no long distance, no smoking, and no damage.

This review will be posted on Wyndham's website and Trip's Advisor; and is sent to Days Inns head office. The review may not have any significant impact on the hotel's rating but for sure we will ensure as many people as possible are aware of this treatment before they decide to stay here.
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 207CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Vancouver Airport

Property: Days Inn - Vancouver Airport
Address: 2840 Sexsmith Rd and Bridgeport Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 2H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Vancouver Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn - Vancouver Airport. We are a NON smoking property, located 2 km or 1.2 miles from Vancouver International Airport and approximately 20 minutes from downtown Vancouver, the British Columbia / Washington Border crossing and the Tsawwassen Ferry Terminal in the heart of Richmond just a few blocks away from River Rock Casino. Well appointed clean and comfortable rooms come with amenities and services like Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Free Airport Shuttle, Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Local Calls and Newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn - Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
Days Inn Richmond
Richmond Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing