We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day of Whales and Weather”

Steveston Seabreeze Adventures & Whale Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.53*
and up
Whale-Watching Adventure
Ranked #2 of 10 Tours in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale watching company based out of the historic fishing village of Steveston, BC. We operate from April-October offering a variety of tours and fishing charters. Our 40-foot semi-covered vessels accommodating groups of 23 passengers, offering comfortable inside seating & unrestricted outside viewing. Tours are minimum of 3 to 5 hours and are professionaly narrated.Ask us about our shuttle services and guaranteed sightings!
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
289 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Best Day of Whales and Weather”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Perfectly sunny, smooth waters and an extremely active J pod today! Arguably the best day of the season according to the crew. Lloyd is an awesome captain. Taz did a great job as well. Worth the money!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    48
    12
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medemblik, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice trip!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Couple of weeks ago we made a trip with Seabreeze adventures. We saw Orca's, sealions, eagle's en poissons. We stayed a really long time with the orca's. Thanks for that!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saskia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
656 reviews
421 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“a gorgeous day out”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our shuttle driver was prompt to pick us up at our downtown Vancouver hotel and was friendly and informative about the areas through which we passed on our way to the boat. It was a gorgeous day to be out on the water and our naturalist guide, Taz, was knowledgable and made sure she talked with everyone aboard explaining the waters and animals we were seeing. We saw California and Steller sea lions, harbour seals, eagles, various species of gulls and terns, a marbled murrelet - but no orcas or other whales on this day. As this is a guaranteed tour, we were all issued a coupon for a free re-booking for some time in the future, which we will use on another trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We have literally just gotten back from a whale watching trip with these guys. I looked at sooooo many different tours there are a lot to choose from and so many different boats and promises. We chose this one because it was a covered in boat although it was an amazing sunny day it was best to go covered as it was still chilly and being in a zodiac would have been freezing! And am I glad we did choose a covered boat we were out for 6 hours in total.

We left Steveston at 12pm and we also got the shuttle bus from vancouver. Although we were not staying at a local hotel we just wandered up to one from the apartment we are staying in. It arrived on time and was very well organised. The driver was very lovely.

We were out for 6 hours and it was 3 hours before we got to see a orca and even then it wasn't for long as they were being very illusive. However we saw bald eagles and a lot of sea lions and seals. The scenery as well was amazing. We have nothing like this back home so we were amazed by the beauty.

I didn't care that we only saw 2 whales the beauty of this amazing country was enough! If you do not get to see a whale they offer a second trip for free in the hope of seeing them the next time. No one can guarantee a sighting as they are wild animals.

The naturalist on board was great knowledgeable and friendly. We loved it and would do this again in a heart beat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great trip, well organised”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We just had one sunny day among a series of rainy days and went whale watching with Seabreeze. I looked at several options including the one in Vancouver itself but picked Seabreeze mainly for their type of boat - both open and covered plus an upper deck. In the end, it seemed like the right decision as even though it was sunny, it does get a little cold in the open waters of the ocean.

Coming to the tour itself, it was just incredible! We were picked up at Vancouver and driven to the quaint village of Steveston, which took about 45 minutes. Our boat departed on time and we saw a whole bunch of sealions, seals & bald eagles soon after.

It was a fair bit of search after that - for the next 3.5 hours we did not see the whales but we did see other wildlife and traversed through some beautiful islands. The scenery is not as stunning as my similar boat trip in Alaska but beautiful nevertheless.

While wondering whether this was going to be one of those days when the whales wouldnt surface, word came from other companies that they had spotted some Orcas. When we got there, we could see that all the operators had their boats there and we saw about 10 Orcas. We spent the next hour and half keeping pace with some of them and it was an awesome experience to see these wonders so close and personal!

Sometimes they were only a few feet away from the boat!! Its hard to judge where they would surface once they go under water but the captain seemed to have a sense of that as he would accelerate and wait, and you understand why when the whales surface near the boat! Amazing job!

It was funny that the whales were spotted only about 30 minutes from where we started. In a way it was good it took that time to find the whales, as we wouldn't have seen any of the islands otherwise. Overall it took 6 hours.

The Naturalist was quite friendly and seemed to know all about them though I must admit my concentration was on the whales & so wasn't listening to everything she said. The boat was good, toilet clean and they also have coffee & water. Left them a good tip and overall very pleased that I chose this company.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank skris70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steveston Seabreeze Adventures & Whale Watching also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Steveston Seabreeze Adventures & Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing