We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Layover 'almost nightmare'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Layover 'almost nightmare'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Got into Vancouver late at night. We got on the first Sandman shuttle we saw. I take total blame for this, it was my fault and my ratings won't reflect this. It took us to the Sandman, NOT the Sandman signature so shuttle riders, beware! Once we arrived at the hotel, this was the WORST check-in process I've ever been a part of. This is no exaggeration, we waited in a line of 5 people for over an hour to get checked in. There was 1 person behind the desk. The issue was that apparently this is a hot airport for airline staff and when ever airline staff would enter, the check in attendant would stop whatever he was doing and take care of them. People in the line would keep complaining, he didn't seem to care. I have never seen anything like it. Other than that, the rooms and bathroom were great, can't complain about any of that. Shuttle back to the airport in the morning was on-time and good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewsntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin J, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member...

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I'm disappointed to learn of your experience and would like to express our apologies for the inconvenience suffered during your check-in.

We value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests. I can assure you your comments are being dealt with and we hope to welcome you back to The Sandman Signature not before too long.

As your encounter certainly falls outside of our typical standards of service, I would invite you to contact me directly so that we may review the details of your stay and resolve this matter appropriately.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Jonathan Dow
Front Office Manager
Direct: 604-276-1142
Email: fom_signatureyvr@sandman.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    255
    146
    83
    57
See reviews for
211
166
45
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very good hotel. We had one night there, then did some travelling and came back for a further night. The second time we were upgraded. Having a rental car, we found it important to have complimentary parking at places we stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin J, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to hear from our valued repeat guests and we appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Jonathan Dow
Front Office Manager
Direct: 604-276-1142
Email: fom_signatureyvr@sandman.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The check-in staff are very pleasant and efficient. The rooms are well appointed and a reasonable size. The bed is very comfortable. I agree with other reviewers that you want to be in the tower.
We arrived late into the airport and promptly went to the meeting place for the shuttle. We waited almost 15 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. It was full from the international pickup. We were told by the driver to wait another 30 minutes for the next shuttle. It was after 11 pm at night so no way we were going to wait. It costs us almost $20 for a taxi to the hotel. Generally the hotel is a convenient location for airport travel but this time we were wishing we had gone to one of the other hotels with a free shuttle that weren't full. So if you arrive at a busy time be prepared to wait around for more than one shuttle or spend the money on a cab.
We went to Chop for breakfast. It was expensive, the service indifferent, menu selection limited and the food just okay. I recommend that you walk just down the street to Denny's for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Roberts, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have stayed here many times flying in and out of Vancouver. If you get a room that is not in "The Towers" pay the difference. The rooms are much nicer and easier to access. Although the hotel is a bit dated and could use a facelift, it is clean and the beds are very comfortable. For the money, you probably won't get a better stay than this - staff friendly and smiling, restaurant on site is good, and the overall value is a good incentive!

Room Tip: Get in the Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkDragonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed over night for an early morning flight back home. Finding our hotel room was the first strange encounter - although very friendly staff tried to give us a brief map. We walked around and around. When we did get tour room and decided to go to the hot tub and pool we took a very long circuitous and very confusing walk and never did see a room clearly marked pool. When we figured it out by change the room was freezing cold, concrete and very uninviting with a very small pool with a kid's rope of buoys down the middle. Later the Chop bar played extremely loud high throbbing music (was almost empty) with a very weird decor vibe. We drove to Moxie's nearby. A strange smell permeated the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and so, I guess, the most important thing was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islaholic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was a great place to stay and park prior to our 6:30am flight from YVR to Cancun. It was so easy to park and then pick up our car when we arrived back. The room was just fine for one night and we enjoyed hanging out at the Shark Club the evening that we arrived. The shuttle bus was great - it arrived at the airport just as we walked out with our luggage and the driver was very pleasant. Would definitely stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywooey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before and after a 2 week trip to Cuba and both nights were good. Our first night was on Jan 6th, we were in a nice King room in a tower with a great view. We had a very comfortable bed and got a good rest. The shuttle in the morning was a quick ride to the airport. Our second night was Jan 21st but our plane was delayed (Sunwing) so we missed the last shuttle. I called the hotel and they told me to take a Richmond Cab and they would cover the charge, and they did. The second night we had a King Suite, it was a very large room with a nice kitchen. We had no problems with the front desk and they called both times to make sure our room was ok. We were lucky 13 guests both nights and we received a special gift and letter both nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerlovin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort

Property: Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort
Address: 10251 St Edwards Dr, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 2M9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, Relaxation, and Comfort await you at the Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort. Located just minutes from Vancouver International Airport, the property is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests will be greeted with exceptional services and amenities including luxurious rooms, complimentary high-speed Internet access and airport shuttle, indoor Swimming Pool, Hot Tub & 225 foot long water slide, fitness centre, Indoor Tennis, and Squash Courts. By harmonizing our legendary Sandman Service and Amenities with fresh contemporary design, our guests will experience a refined yet unpretentious quality reflected in the details and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Signature Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing