We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as great as the first time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I first stayed here when the place had just re-opened after a complete overhaul and renovation (was previously a Delta then a Ramada). As before, the Sandman Signature did not disappoint. Friendly staff, spacious lobby, great dining options, pool, waterslide, indoor tennis and more. The rooms are wonderful, spacious, and the beds are amazing. Excellent value and right near YVR International Airport. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OceanB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2010

Reasonably priced, and conveniently located close to the Vancouver airport. Stayed here for only one night, and the place did not make a great lasting impression. The lobby feels cavernous and lacks charm and warmth. The view was dreadful, and we were not able to connect to a supposedly free internet; in spite of the valiant effort on the part of the staff. We had both dinner(dreadful) and breakfast(ok) at Denny's located next door. Give yourself enough time when leaving as the shuttle was late. If we would not take a taxi we would have missed our international flight. We also waited a long time for the shuttle to be picked up from the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AwesomeSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed during the Olympics. My original hotel was oversold, and Expedia ended-up putting me here. I was on the top floor, with a nice view south, and a rather large, well appointed room. The hotel was very buys, with international travellers, TV crews, etc. in for the Olympics. Staff were always smiling and quick to help with anything.

I didn't have any issues during my 2 night stay.

I enjoyed having a balcony, as I like to have an evening smoke, and the weather was accomodating for that, while I was there.

I was pleasantly surprised by how "deluxe" this hotel was. With it being associated with Sandman, I wasn't expecting too much, but it has a nice pool area, a tennis dome, nice steak house restaurant, large sports bar nearby, etc. I initially thought "resort" was going a bit too far, but after my stay I felt it was pretty much a resort feel after all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed here for one night in early August before catching a morning flight home.
When we checked in the lobby was large and well decorated. We didn't have to wait to check in, but during check in the girl who was checking us in seemed preoccupied with something else and eventually passed us off to another gentleman who completed our check in. Not a huge deal but it didn't seem real professional. There was a kiosk in the lobby where you can print off your boarding passes for the airport which was handy.
Because there were five of us I reserved the family package which is supposed to be 2 adjoining rooms. The rooms did have their own foyer in the hotel hallway that you could block off by closing the hall doors (which were keyed to your room), but the rooms did not adjoin, nor were they keyed with the same card to get in. I called the front desk to ask if they had anything that actually adjoined but they didn't. They said they would send up some beanbags to hold the room doors open so we wouldn't feel so separated. They never did follow up and provide these.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable and had a balcony that you could sit outside if you wanted. The one thing I didn't like, and didn't use was the in room coffee maker. For some reason they thought it was a good idea to put this in the bathroom on the counter by the toilet. I decided I would pass on that and hit a Starbucks at the airport instead.
The hotel did have a swimming pool which we thought the kids might use. We went to see it and it didn't look that great so we decided not to. It was indoors, but you had to walk outside to get to it. It was pretty small.
My rate was $315.20 ($364.06 with tax) for the family package. Knowing what I know now I'm sure I would have been better off to reserve two individual rooms since our rooms weren't connected anyhow.
Overall this hotel suited our needs for one night before our trip home.
I would likely stay here again, but would likely book individual rooms instead of the family package.
LIKED: spacious, comfortable rooms
DISLIKED: coffee maker in bathroom & service

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We travel a lot, and normally are pretty sympathetic towards stressed-out hotel staff, especially on long weekends. However, our experience at this hotel was unbelievable. Long wait times (to check in and out) aside, having the service staff glare at you and give one word answers, answer a phone call while "servicing" you, then making you wait in line when you've returned to let them know that your key is not activated (all the time watching you in the line while helping others and shouting out "are you checking out now?" from across the room). On top of that, after extending our checkout time, we were greeted with "you are still here?!" when trying to check out at the front desk, audible enough for the entire lobby to hear. Upon pointing out that we had extended our checkout time, we just received an "oh. Here is a copy of your receipt". Wow.

The hotel lobby itself is beautiful, and they have done a great job renovating the interior. The rooms were average - they do not vaccuum on a regular basis, and our garbage bins already had some garbage in it when we first entered the room. A car is recommended if you stay at this hotel, as the local transit is not as easily accessible.

Overall, not the best experience, and it wasn't even that great a value for a hotel this class.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tourist008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of august. As an airport hotel for a night, this place is decent. The decor of the lobby is very nice and modern and looks like a 4 or 5 star hotel. The room was also decorated nicely with a nice colour scheme in the washroom. We had a room with a king bed and there was an ample spaced sitting area with a small balcony. We had a nice high room on the 17th floor. It was nice.

However, upon staying, you can see why it's only billed as a 3 star property. For instance, we had to try several times before we are able to get a hold of the front desk from the room because the line would either cut off or keep on ringing with no answer. Also, the AC in the room was really loud when it was on (so loud it drowned out the tv). We didn't want to switch rooms at 11pm and tried to solve this by turning it off and sleeping with the balcony door open, but the noise from the highway was bothersome as well. Luckily I remembered I had earplugs in my purse and that solved the problem. Also, there were limited amenities in the room (ie. no cotton swabs, sewing kit, liquid body wash, minibar, minifridge etc.). There were also no bellmens or doormens (or none that I could find), valet parking, or in-room dining.

So all in all, if you're used to staying in 4-5 star hotels with excellent amenities, a high standard of service, and an overall feeling of luxury, then this is not for you. But if you're used to the best westerns, ramadas, and other sandmans, then this hotel will be more than sufficient! For myself, I was a bit disappointed initially, but after reminding myself that this IS a sandman hotel for a price of $89 (rather than a $300 luxury downtown hotel), all was forgiven and I walked away thinking I got a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweet_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed at the Sandman Signature for 5 nights with our extended family, as we were all there for a wedding. The hotel is quite nice, but I was very disappointed with the service. On the second last morning, I went to plug in my flatiron, only to find it was not where I left it. Apparently, the housekeeper who last handled it wrapped it up tightly and stowed it away with the hairdryer under the bathroom sink. After frantically looking for it, I went to plug it in, and it didn't work anymore. I immediately talked to the duty manager, who told me their housekeeping staff are not allowed to put anything out of sight and an "investigation" would be conducted. It has been 3 weeks since I last spoke to anyone. Even after sending emails and leaving phone messages for the hotel manager, and calling the Sandman head office, I have yet to hear a reply from anyone. What's the point of leaving a personalized message at check out to contact the hotel manager if you have any concerns, if he has no decency to even reply? I have never had this type of experience at any hotel before.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borntotravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort

Address: 10251 St Edwards Dr, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 2M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £80 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, Relaxation, and Comfort await you at the Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort. Located just minutes from Vancouver International Airport, the property is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests will be greeted with exceptional services and amenities including luxurious rooms, complimentary high-speed Internet access and airport shuttle, indoor Swimming Pool, Hot Tub & 225 foot long water slide, fitness centre, Indoor Tennis, and Squash Courts. By harmonizing our legendary Sandman Service and Amenities with fresh contemporary design, our guests will experience a refined yet unpretentious quality reflected in the details and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandman Signature Vancouver Airport Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Signature Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing