We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supremely comfortable BUT so Eco-Unfriendly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Supremely comfortable BUT so Eco-Unfriendly!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

After having stayed at other hotels in Richmond, this one was a very pleasant surprise in terms of price quality (98 CAD+ tax). The hotel is clean and modern with all the amenities one would expect. The bed was first class and we slept very well. I would have given the hotel a five star approval until we went to breakfast. We should have been warned when we saw one guest in the lift bringing down his own cutlery. It is not the food, which was quite acceptable except for the synthetic orange juice. The BIG ISSUE we had was with the dishes and utensils - all very much cheap plastic. In this day and age of green consciousness it is unbelievable that a hotel would use a fully disposable set of plastic cutlery and dishes not at all bio-degradable. It just gives the client the wrong image and certainly tainted our view of this chain. This "all plastic" policy is a mistake and its management should do their sums again on its cost/benefit if it has such a turn-off with customers which it will certainly do as we all become more aware of the environment and the resources we waste and unhealthy refuse we create with disposable plastics.

Lets hope common sense prevails and there is a turnaround in this policy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin22059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    270
    118
    35
    16
See reviews for
175
208
57
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This hotel is loacated in a Asian community, Richmond, walking distance to lots of Asian restaurant. This is a bonus if you like asian food. The hotel is a few years old, but I was surprised in pretty good condition. Service is amazing, free internet, breakfast and swimming pool. I will definitely go back to stay if I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

There were 10 of us traveling together and we needed a place that was reasonable in price, safe, and easy to find in Vancouver. By chance I had booked a one night stay over the internet for the La Quinta, since it allowed 5 people in the room instead of the usual of only 4. The service was great when we got there. A roll away bed was provided immediately and the room was large enough for all of us. The hotel was easy to find and it is in the most unique location. We found us in a China Town setting with tons of authentic Asian cuisines to chose from for dinner. We had to pick up my daughter and her husband from the airport, a 10 minute drive that was easy to find. We are hoping to return to Vancouver, Canada again now that we know that it is only a short 4 hours from our place in Washington. Richmond and Vancouver are interesting cities and diverse in culture and ethnicity. Our overnight stay at the La Quinta was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eburgvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed for 3 nights last week with a wonderful time in the middle of Richmond, BC's 2nd. Chinatown for R&R. Highly recommended & one of the best-kept secret for value/dollar spend as current exchange rates between USD & CAD is nearly 1:1 only - saved $$ vs. staying at Hamptons, HI Express & Ramada, etc. priced at higher nightly rates.

Flying into YVR, hotel is 15 minutes away from its free, 6 am-midnight shuttle van. We stayed also at a Coast hotel for 2 nights & LQ simply outshined them on a comparative & competitive basis (and theirs charged for parking, located in middle of nowhere) We're able to check in early - around 1:30 pm & was fast, easy by friendly desk staff, obtained our free parking pass to put on dash - lots has capacity for about 35 cars & will be full when it's busy (slots between parked cars are tight since they tend to drive more compact cars, our Corolla from Hertz fitted nicely - gas is $1.15 per liter now or expensive around here - about $4.30 USD per gallon, ouch - $41 to refill the tank !!!) On-street parking outside on Alexandra Rd. is metered until 9 pm but available if needed, as in all urban areas, remove all valuables & use common sense - thiefs will skip your obvious rentals/US-plated cars & look for those fancy Benz, BMW & Acura, etc. Leaving a GPS/mount on the dash is simply saying, "break mine & run."

Open 2 story-height interior lobby is bright, airy w. seating areas & breakfast section is on opposite side, 24 hour coffee/tea/hot water service + microwave (none in rooms) & meeing room is open for extra seating in morning hours for hot buffet - loved the waffles, eggs & sauages, and very good coffee too. Mini business center with 2 Dell PC connected to a multi-function printer, which we used to print our airline's return flight check-in & boarding passes - 7 pages at no extra charge (ever try that at the Marriott or Sheraton's) - great & thanks, LQ management. Otherwise, HSI was working in our room - wirelessly & via Ethernet cable, speed was around 1 MB up/down - not fast, but good enough for web surfing & email, etc. using our own laptop, plus it has a 3 outlet extensions at the work desk - got our cameras & usb-chargers all plugged in.

Swimming pool is small but okay, great for family with kids on a rainy day (brief showers & rain aren't ususual in YVR or BC area, but sun will come out - Alaska cruisers, plan accordingly as you will need those raincoats in your ports of call, as we learned & many were surprised by it, sunny days are rare) - there's a shower area & clean towels. Small gym room with 3 pieces & cups for bottled/filtered water provided - open from 6 am to 10 pm, and it was great to burn a few calories before dinner at the treadmill. Next to elevator are vending machines & ice, instant cup-a-soup noodles sold for those 2 am jet-lagged stomach urges.

There's just 1 elevator and it could be slow when the place is busy, so walking down the chairs might be quicker (exercise - hint, hint) and as our photo showed, hallways & rooms are very bright & well-lite, clean & still got that "new" look. Security cameras are mounted at different places and we feel very safe both inside, outside & around the property at all times.

Upgraded to an Executive King at no extra charge (FF membership in "Returns" ??) for 3 nights at end of 3/F hallway in main building, so it was very quiet for us. At certain times, we could hear jets taking off as they climb & turn, but didn't bother us & it's common if you stay in airport vicinity no matter where. We take along binder clips on all trips to hold those darkening window blinds together tight so morning lights are never a problem as we slept, jet-lagged or not or after staying up late (as we checked out the nearby casino for some fun).

Bathroom is basic, clean, roomy & toilet flushed great, multi-adjustable showerhead & very good water flow (newer sections have shower stalls only) & fast running tap (no restrictors) - we have options of cleaning bed linens/sheets every 3 days only but always fresh bath towels daily by housekeeping. Bath essentials were okay, no hand lotions or hair conditioner, but at least there's a mini-sewing kit.

Small but cute clothing closet, okay for hanging a few items like suits & dresses - free digital storage safe on the top shelf working, and we used it to store our camers & passports, etc. while we exerecised or dined around the corner at night. Working mini fridge to store anything cold & coffee maker, and we used it to boil hot water - then kept it cool & saved on buying bottled water (tea bags in lobby) Work desk was nice as one night, we decided to buy takeout from the nearby Aberdeen Centre mall's Asian food court & ate in our room while watching TV with a view out toward the parking lot in the front, occasionally hearing jumbo jets taking off nearby - airport is busy with landings/takeoffs even at 2 am, yes, to Europe & Asia. (Our alarm rang at 4 am & we checked out at 5 am for our 8 am departure since we had to do a Hertz dropoff & allow extra time to clear US customs & immigration at the departure first)

A small roof-top garden on the 5/F, room key is needed to unlock & gain access, has 2 outdoor long bench, great for watching the skylight & snow-capped mountains to the east as daylight fade away (sunset ?? if it's not cloudy or showering, etc.) - or just to relax, sip a cool drink (bubble tea, Starbuck latte, wine or beer) & munch on snacks before heading out to dinner or night in town. There's a large Karaoke club - lounge (Asian customers) across the street to the right, it's open late in the day & well into the early morning hours, we didn't check it out as not our style at all, just FYI.

La Quinta is 2 blocks from the pricier Four Points Sheraton also located on Alexandra Rd, and this 3 long blocks can be best described as "restaurant row" dotted with many at various price points - the Radisson Hotel is also not far from us either, next to the Yaohan Centre with a huge choice of Japanese/Asian food, bakery, unique cakes, snacks & pre-cooked items for takeout & also a food court. Back on our block, if you are spending more than a day or two, check out the Chinese restaurants that offer "western" style breakfast & sandwiches in the morning (open at 8 am) with great coffee/dark tea with enriched milk at $6 or $7 pp and their daily "set lunch" specials - all under $10 pp - just ask the front desk staff to point out a few for you. Pho 99 served the rich-brothed Vietnamese beef noodle soup (that's why it's named as "Pho") & dripped ice coffee with milk (it's strong & better than Starbuck's cappachino. At least several restaurants on these blocks have daily "dim sum" specials with discounts before 11 am, and there are the all-you-can-eat Chinese hot pots & cook you own in the soup specials for around $20 pp, and of course, the high priced seafood restaurants with fresh jumbo shrimps-abalone-lobster-king crabs-raw oysters & shark-fins soup, etc. You will also find Japanese & Korean restaurants here, and, in case you missed it, there's a Wendy fast food on No. 3 Road that's about 5 minutes away by car - and a IHOP further south.

All and all, LQ is ideally situated in the middle of all these action and for what we paid, it's truely a bargin and definitely worth it, it's not your typical Sheraton, Crown Plaza or Marriott propety, but it's on par with the Hamptons, HI Express & Ramada's if not a notch better - no extra charges or surprises, even free newspaper in the morning outside the door, very helpful & friendly housekeeping and front desk staff - hate those that bang on the door or make so much noises at 11 am with the DND sign to ask about cleaning your room.

If you plan to drive around BC with a car, their location is ideal & it's just 20 minutes to downtown during off-peak hours, easy for us to drive to Stanley Park or to Gastown, and we took a leisure day trip on the Sea-to-Sky Hwy up to Whistler for the scenic beauty of the coastline along the way, stocking up our "picinc" items at nearby mall's food court before we head north.

LQ is definitely on our highly recommended lists to friends & relatives planning a stay in YVR, and for our next return trip to the area somewhere in the future again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mking8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay because we could walk to both a broad selection of Asian restaurants serving a wide variety of dishes within acceptable price ranges and to several malls which spanned the usual chains to the imported exotic. Vancouver city was a convenient train ride away.

The hotel has a shuttle service to and from the airport (about 15-20 minutes away depending on traffic); however, if you drive from the airport, take the third exit which has a sign for Richmond City Center. Cross Moray Bridge. Turn right on No. 3 Road, which will be the first road on your right at the elevated SkyTrain metro line: at the intersection, this main street did not have a sign visible giving its name. Continue down past Yaohan Center mall, the Radisson hotel, Aberdeen Center mall and Leslie Road, all on your left. The next street will be Alexandra Road. Drive to the end; the La Quinta Inn will be on your right, across the street from the Pho 99 Vietnamese Noodle House. Though parking is free, you will need to obtain a permit from reception and display it when parked on the motel lot.

If you arrived by train at Lansdowne SkyTrain station, cross over No. 3 Road towards Lansdowne Park Shopping Centre. Walk up No. 3 Road opposite the direction the train just came from. Cross Alderbridge Way (a busy main road). Alexandra Road will be the next street on your right and the La Quinta Inn at the end.

Though Alexandra Road appears as a dead end on maps, you can drive through to and from Garden City Road by slowly passing through the parking lot of a small shopping center behind an oil change garage on one side and a car wash on the other.

The hotel has 70 rooms and comprises an L-shaped concrete building. The shorter arm (about five years old) faces Alexandra Road and Alderbridge Way and has five stories (ground floor plus four above); the longer arm (about one year old) is perpendicular to those streets and has four stories (ground with covered parking plus three floors above). The newer wing has shower stalls only, so if you prefer a bathtub ask for a room in the older wing.

Staff at reception were pleasant and cooperative. Goldie, the manager, was especially congenial, helpful, gracious, cooperative and accommodating. The public areas were clean, comfortable and well maintained.

From the top floors you have a view over surrounding low-rise buildings and trees, in one direction towards the mountains north of Vancouver city. (The fifth floor of the hotel gave access to a rooftop patio with views over the surrounding area.) The room we had on the fourth floor of the older wing was spacious, clean and in good order. Though the windows had double-glazing, we could still hear the occasional noise of planes passing by as they took off and landed at the airport. As it depended on flight patterns and weather conditions, this noise was infrequent and did not bother us. We could hear the sounds of people talking, movement and doors closing in the corridor. As long as other clients restrained themselves we did not have a problem. The maid service appeared to start at around 8 a.m. but worked quietly. The hotel had a personal feel rather than institutional, though pictures on the walls of the room corridors would have made the public areas warmer and more homey.

We found the bed and pillows comfortable. The room had a bar refrigerator and a work desk with free access to the Internet via WiFi and via ethernet cable. The hotel is upgrading this service which, at the time of our stay, functioned slowly. Local phone calls were also free. The (narrow) closet had a room safe which eliminated our need to carry around personal documents and the like. Other standard appointments included bedside table and wall lamps, clock-radio, TV, telephones, a bureau with two drawers, and coffee-tea making facilities. The room air-conditioning unit worked well.

The lobby had an alcove with two computers giving access to the Internet for people not having a laptop with them. Coffee and tea were available all day in the breakfast area. The ground floor also had a small laundry room with a washer ($2.50 per load) and a dryer ($1.50 per load), a room with vending, snack and ice machines, small indoor swimming and spa pools and a gym.

Each morning, a complimentary copy of The Globe and Mail was left outside the door of each occupied room. Additional copies were available in the lobby waiting area. A buffet breakfast was available from 6 a.m. till 9 a.m. As late risers, we would have appreciated breakfast available till 10 a.m., at least till 9:30 a.m. It included a standard range of items for this class of hotel: dry cereals, oatmeal, milk, waffles and syrup, beef hamburger patties and scrambled eggs, bagels and breads, cream cheese, jams, peanut butter, margarine, muffins, apples and oranges, yogurts, orange and apple juices, tea and coffee, cream and sweeteners. Arrive before 9 a.m. if you would like to have access to the full range.

Conveniently located literally across the street is the Pho 99 Vietnamese Noodle House. We dined there a couple of times and found the food both good and reasonably priced. If you walk a block up Alexandra Road you will find small shopping plazas with other restaurants (ranging from basic noodle dishes to sophisticated Chinese cuisine) at least one open till midnight and another till 3 a.m. If you enjoy Asian food, you could dine in the general area every night and always eat something quite different.

Within convenient walking distance (5-15 minutes), you can explore along No. 3 Road —

south of the hotel — Lansdowne Park Shopping Centre (on Aldridge Way behind the hotel and opposite Lansdowne SkyTrain station) and Richmond Centre mall (about two blocks long with chain stores and opposite Richmond Brighouse SkyTrain station)

north of the hotel — Aberdeen Centre mall (multilevel with a performing fountain in the centre, a Fazioli top-end grand piano outlet for classical music lovers, and a Lamborghini automobile showroom!) and Yaohan Centre oriental mall (which includes a cheap, varied and good food court).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond,WA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This seems to be a new hotel - or at least, newly refurbished; lots of fresh paint smell.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. A good bed, comfortable furniture, excellent work area/desk, and well lit. They were clean and in a good standard of finish.

Two of the three staff I interacted with were very poorly trained (one each upon checkin and checkout - the third person had to come and help the first person).

Biggest issue for me was the internet. Both the wired and wireless internet was dysfunctionally slow - it speedtested to about 10kb/sec, if I still had a modem and dialup account, I'd have got faster speeds on dialup!!! Internet access is absolutely essential to me when traveling, so this is a deal breaker and I'll not go back because of that. I see other reviewers have commented on the slow internet too, so clearly it isn't just a one off, and because it was still slow at midnight, I don't think it is just because everyone was using it at once.

If you can, request a lower floor room that doesn't face the airport flight approach path. Planes flying low overhead can be noisy.

Two other small points. First, my sense is that the car park may be too small if the hotel is full of guests, and (noting the comment about a break-in suffered by a previous reviewer) you'd definitely not want to park outside on the street. Second, the elevator is impossibly slow. Budget extra time to wait for this!

Oh, beware of their airport shuttle service - it isn't a 24/7 operation, so if you're needing it early in the morning or late at night, check to see if it is operating.

Overall, if you don't need internet access, then this is a good hotel at an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We've stayed in a lot of La Quintas because they allow pets and we travel with our dog. This La Quinta has a nice newness to it. Provides the typical breakfast items. Our car was burglarized, though, and that left me feeling very ill-at-ease about the place. The manager wasn't in that day and we were told that only the manager can view the security camera footage. We returned home and have yet to hear from them. There's someplace called Partyworld or something like that across the street from the hotel and it's open until 2 am or so. Even though the La Quinta has security cameras they might want to provide a guard for a few ours overnight. If you stay here try to park near the front door.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shelbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport
Address: 8640 Alexandra Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 4K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond
La Quinta Vancouver Airport
La Quinta Richmond
Richmond La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing