We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Rock Casino Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great weekend get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Used the River rock as a base for two nights of PR in Vancouver. From check in to check out the service was exceptional. All aspects of our stay were first rate. Nothing was lacking. Very comfortable and quiet rooms. Super fast elevators. The spa is a very nice place to escape to some tranquility. We found the coffee shop very handy for a 'fix' and an excellent pastry. I highly recommend this resort as a destination or a base to discover Vancouver and Richmond.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad we were able to give a pleasant getaway. We feel we have a little oasis here that allow our guests to getaway for however long they like and receive tthe "River Rock Experience" we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    522
    156
    57
    53
See reviews for
344
511
70
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I brought my two daughters to celebrate from Bellevue WA and was completely blown away! Michael and Bay from valet were very friendly, utterly funny and made us all feel like princesses.

Aside from the management team giving us a hard time about two bottles of wine, we had a really nice time. The pool was clean and we ate at the all you can eat buffet, played the slots and enjoyed our room and plenty of hot water in the shower. Thank you to Kate helping my daughters during a minor emergency in the night, she provided the best customer service I've ever had an absolute asset. Can not wait to return or maybe we should just move in forever. thank you. Princess Ruth...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your response, my appologies if their was any confusion with our liqour policy. We are so very pleased that we were able to make you feel special as that is what we strive for. Michael, Bay and Kate doing an outstanding job for us and we are proud to have them as a part of our family. We hope to welcome you back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed earlier this month for a fantastic close to home getaway! Our main reason was to let our three toddlers , 3 and under swim!! Adeel, the manager,was superb and paid close attention to our demands and he more than kept his promise of a great family getaway! From valet to check out, every person that assisted us, impressed my family greatly! Rooms were spotless. View of planes, boats and sky train kept our trio quiet for hours!! Their pool is one if the best we ever swam! Water slide and temperature of water were added bonuses! Perfection!!
Both times we ordered room service, meals were hot, delicious and beautifully plated! The morning breakfast buffet is outstanding and wait staff could not be any friendlier. When young ones leave saying," that was the best ever!"it speaks volumes!!
Thank you to the hard working devoted employees if the River Rock establishment!
We will be back!
Gosal crew!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharzita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your response, we very much enjoy having families stay with us. We are a bit of a hidden secret for families. Please look for our upcoming summer specials for families such as yours. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We attended an event at the River Rock Hotel, April 13th. What a great venue for a banquet, the food was excellent and served in a timely manner. There is so much to do, from spending some time in the Casino, to listening to the fabulous band that was playing. We stayed at the hotel in a Penthouse Suite; the room was amazing, very clean and beautiful. The bed was comfy (I wanted to take it home with me) and the sheets very soft. The soaker tub was fantastic and I really didn't want to get out. Jana Yackel made the stay incredible and we can’t wait to go back. Thanks to everyone at the River Rock.

Room Tip: I would stay on the Casino side when I go again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 482Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so glad that you enjoyed your event and your stay with us. Jana Yackel, as Director of Sales does exemplary work continously. Thank you for making note of it. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

The only reason why I am giving this an overall "Poor" instead of "Terrible" is because of the incredibly friendly staff in Tramonto's. Thank you to our server and Restaurant Manager for being warm and friendly! Please know that this review does not reflect at all on the experience we had in your restaurant.

The reason for this rating is because of inconsistent, and highly unacceptable, check-in procedures. We were the only guests checking in at the time, and there was one Front Desk clerk there. It started out fine, albeit a bit lengthy, but quickly started to deterioate once she asked to make a copy of both my credit card and driver's license. I thought this was strange, but didn't say anything at the time, as I thought that is was a Canadaian hotel procedure (We are from WA State). However I became very concerned when she asked for my husband's driver's license (he was not on the reservation, nor paying) and said that she was going to make a photocopy of that as well! She disappeared for a few minutes to make the copies, and then finished our check-in. Again, I wasn't sure if this was "normal" procedure, so didn't say anything. However, it bothered me all night long, so I decided to get up early in the morning and speak to the Manager-on-Duty.

When I asked her if this was their normal check-in procedure, she said it was not. She was not able to explain to me why the Front Desk Clerk strayed from the norm, and said she would look into it and call me back. In the meantime, I confirmed with a relative, that works in the industry in BC, that they absolutely do not take copies of any ID or even credit card, as the credit card is normally just swiped through the machine and it isn't necessary. I also asked two guests who were riding the elevator with me, if they experienced this at check-in, and they said they had not. I felt very violated, and somehow profiled, as I couldn't think of any other reason why this would have happened. True to her word, the MOD did call me back, but all she said was that we were definitely not profiled and they are a multi-cultural hotel. She apologized, and said that they have to check ID's when adding someone to a profile. The opposite of what she told me earlier, but fine. I decided I would send an email to the GM with my concerns, and received several responses back from the Hotel Manager, none of which answered my question as to "why" this happened. He apologized for the way I felt, assured me that we weren't profiled in any way, and said he would bring it up at the next Front Desk meeting, to see if they could somehow change their procedure. While I appreciated his prompt return of my email, he really did not make me feel satisfied or answer the bottom line question.

As a hotel veteran for 12 years (Human Resources), I have never worked at, or stayed at a hotel that takes photocopies of credit cards and/or ID's. Ever. This practice is scary and frankly, unacceptable. It is particularly unacceptable if you do not do this same practice with every single guest, as it leaves the guest to feel that they were somehow singled out when you stray from your normal practice. The MOD herself confirmed that this is not their normal practice. She, along with the Hotel Manager, did suggest that perhaps it was "easier" to take a copy of my husband's ID, rather than just ask his name. I thought that was a strange comment, considering it took her several minutes to ask for the ID, wait for him to produce it, walk to the back to make a copy, and return. The whole experience was just unsettling, and whether we were profiled or not, this should not be a typical hotel practice. Our industry is open to fraud and theft on an everyday basis, and when we are exhibiting practices such as this one, I can see how it happens.

The purpose of our trip was to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Needless to say, we left there with a very bad taste in our mouth, and will not return. Nor can I recommend this resort to any of our friends or family. I highly suggest that if this happens to you, that you question why it is happening, as it is definitely not "normal" hotel procedure.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KristieR942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear KristieR942,

Thank you for your feedback. River Rock has already spoken to you in depth about this situation and it is very unformtunate that you do not feel it has been resolved. We assure you that we have investiagted this in depth and always look for opportunities to improve our services. If you have any further concerns, please contact me personally at rmonteiro@riverrock.com

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I think it's fair to say that River Rock has succeeded in differentiating itself from other hotels in so many ways. Certainly, it is a lovely facility with great rooms and a very convenient location, but what impressed me the most was the service.Every staff member we encountered from the desk manager to the restaurant staff, demonstrated a genuine desire to help and went ut of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. It really is a refreshing experience. I think most hotels could learn a few things from this place. Would I stay there again?...Absolutely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HaroldR122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear HaroldR122,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay and loved the service we provide to our guests. We are happy to hear you would stay with us again and I will be passing on this wonderful review to our colleagues.

Kindly,

Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have already reviewed the rooms and other wonderful features of this resort - I want to review the staff this time. Travelling with kids can be challenging at times - especially when there are special needs. The staff always go above and beyond, and here are some examples:

- HOUSEKEEPING STAFF have brought us everything from a toothbrush and paste, to a microwave in the middle of the night to heat up food for our child with severe dietary restrictions.

- the VALET and BELL STAFF not only greet us each time we arrive, but also make a special point to greet our children, and make them feel special.

- When we realized we forgot some important dietary items for our child, ROOM SERVICE/DINING STAFF have sought out off-menu food, even though it was not at all easy for them to do so.

On our most recent stay, the SERVER at Lulu's Lounge kindly agreed to package up food for us to take to our room, so we could eat the food we wanted, but with the kids (who can't go into the lounge). Also, the CONCIERGE gave some keychains and pens to the kids when we stopped to ask a question.

The River Rock truly has the best staff ever! It is amazing to ask so much from a business, and be treated so incredibly well. Five Stars (plus!).

Room Tip: There are two sides - the hotel side and the resort side. Make sure you know which you want to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Mel O,

I cant thank you enough for taking the time to tell us how wonderful the River Rock Staff are every time you stay with us! We want to provide each guest with the River Rock Experience so they leave with wonderful memories and have exceptional time here. I will be passing on your kind words to our colleagues as I know they will greatly appreciate them.

We hope to have you and your family back again soon.

Kindly,

Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Casino Resort

Property: River Rock Casino Resort
Address: 8811 River Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Rock Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Rock Casino Resort is Western Canada's only 4-Diamond Casino Resort located in Beautiful British Columbia. Situated next to the Fraser River in Richmond, River Rock's stunning location has waterfront and city views of Vancouver and the North Shore Mountains. With the Canada Line transit system right at the resort's doorstep, getting to downtown Vancouver is only 18 minutes away and the Vancouver International Airport is just a quick 7 minute ride. Featuring deluxe guest rooms, luxurious one and two bedroom suites, Executive rooms and spacious penthouse suites - River Rock has something to suit everyone. Amenities include a show theatre with world-class entertainment, a 24-hour casino with slots, table games and poker room, 10 food and beverage outlets, Spa, fitness centre, salt water swimming pool and business and conference centre. River Rock Casino Resort has everything you need to create the perfect mix for both business and pleasure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Rock Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Richmond
River Rock Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing