We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really expected more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Rock Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Rock Casino Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I really expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I really expected more, especially in July, peak tourist season. First off, the walk from parking to the actual hotel is a bit much. Would have been nice if they had planned this building better but perhaps there was more to it than we know being so close to the airport and in the flight path. So in short, by the time you park on P2 as all of P1 is reserved, get into the elevator to take you to P1 so that you can enjoy a 7 minute walk either directly through the casino where nobody seems to smile or outside of the hotel should the weather be nice as it was for us, to get to your room from the time you park is roughly 15 minutes. A bit much do't you think?

The Fairmont which is right at the airport was way quieter when it came to planes flying in and out over your hotel so that was another point lost in my books PLUS the rooms could be maintained better in the sense that the toilet could stop running as that would be nice (we have water meters, we pay for crap like that, wonder if hotels do?) and the biggest beef when it comes to the rooms is that internet completely and totally sucks. No reason for that - especially not at the price being charged to stay here. There is so much here that feels kinda hokey.

Now, I want to leave this on a high not by sharing what I DO like! Depending on the room you choose, the view is fantastic, everything is very neat, clean and tidy, the staff has been fantastic right from A - Z and the food here is really good! Not too terribly fond of the breakfast buffet myself, haven't tried the lunch but the dinner was more than worth it, but if you're not into a buffet dinner they also have a nice a la cart restaurant on the other side of the floor that we really enjoyed as the food was superb there as well as the personable service.

All in all, I'd like to give this place a 3.5 to a 4 but not quite a 4.......we enjoyed it, but we feel there could be room for improvement.

Room Tip: The West tower is nicest but you will pay for the convenience of it and we're wondering if it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannieCade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Dannie,

Thank you very much for your review! We take pride in providing the best customer service possible and glad your encounters with all of our staff were pleasant ones. Also glad to hear you enjoyed The Buffet and will let our culinary team they are appreciated by our guests.

We continuously strive to make the stay as comfortable as possible for our guests and would be more than happy to switch rooms for you should any of the room appliances disrupt your stay. Also, we apologize about the internet connection and would like to update you that it is now upgraded to a new system.

We do thank you for staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to make your next trip a memorable one.

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    511
    150
    56
    52
See reviews for
332
506
66
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just stayed the the hotel overnight for a family wedding. The lobby was very elegant and under-stated. The rooms were a little on the small side but comfortably appointed with a fridge that was empty so you could actually put water into it! We were just under the flight path for the airport and it is amazingly quiet in the room, you could not hear a thing. The casino is over a walkway and has all the excitement you could want and a food fair for a quick snack. Overall a great experience and right on the Canada Line for easy access to all parts of the city.

Room Tip: Choose a river room, much more scenic than the city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnston4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Johnston,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the amenities in the room! Also happy to hear you were also able to take advantage of the sky train. It’s pretty convenient to have the Canada Line sky train at our finger tips!

On your next stay, you could select your preferred view by making a request at the time of booking to have your room overlooking the river instead. We would be more than happy to honor that request for you!

Take care and we hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We switched to this hotel based on a recommendation from a colleague. Great change! When we arrived (close to airport, but not too close), the front desk informed us we would be upgraded to an executive suite. The room was nice size and quiet even though there was a large convention going on. The hotel is great, whether or not you like gambling. Staff is friendly and helpful, offering suggestions of things locals like to do. It is not close at all to downtown Vancouver, but there is a SkyTrain station within 100 yards of the hotel (literally) that is about a 20 minute ride to Waterfront, and you can buy day passes inside the hotel.

Room Tip: When making an online reservation, put high floor in notes so you get extra quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We take pride in providing the best customer service possible and glad your encounters with all of our staff were pleasant ones!

We are also pleased to hear you were able to take a scenic ride to the Vancouver waterfront by taking advantage of the sky train conveniently linked to our hotel.

We thank you for switching over to River Rock on this stay and hope you stay with us on your next visit to Vancouver!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel and casino is right on the light rail line, only a few stops from the airport. The Bridgeport Station is attached to the hotel. Even if you don't plan to use the casino, try this hotel. Because of the rail line, you can get anywhere in town without a car. We stayed in the new hotel tower. It was quiet and comfortable. The rooms are really beautiful and the beds are super comfortable with upscale linens. We stayed in a King room and it seemed huge after coming off a 7 day cruise! It was an excellent value with added convenience of being close to the hotel. We took a tour of Vancouver with airport dropoff from our cruise and then took the rail back to the hotel, but if you wanted to walk to the station from the cruise dock and go straight to the hotel on the train, I think that would be a doable option. Loved this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel tower with a view of the river and the mountains. You could ask for this view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbrock62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your amazing feedback! We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy the newly built hotel and what sounds like an amazing sleep after coming off a 7-day cruise. We take pride in offering the most comfortable and enjoyable stay to our guests, both for business and pleasure travel. Fantastic to hear you were also able to tour Vancouver by taking advantage of the sky train conveniently linked to our hotel!

We thank you for choosing River Rock for your stay and hope you come back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

It has been 20 years since we visited Vancouver. This time we pick this hotel, and it was the best decision. We 'Pre-paid' this hotel several months ago so we got a very good deal (also with free parking and free WIFI). The hotel is connected to the sky-train, it took less than half an hour to get to water front in Vancouver. The hotel is also next to the night market.
The hotel is clean and the service is excellent.

Room Tip: We were at the south building, the view was excellent (room 1159 and 935)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sara,

Thank you for your great feedback! We are very happy to hear you chose to stay with us on your return visit back to Vancouver after a long time coming. We take pride in providing the best customer service possible and an enjoyable stay to our guests. Fantastic to hear you were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery and took advantage of the quick access to the Vancouver waterfront - it’s pretty convenient to have the Canada Line sky train at our finger tips!

We thank you for choosing River Rock for your stay and hope you come back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My boyfriend recently stayed at the River Rock Casino for a get together with about 30 friends. After a long fun night, I received a call in the middle of the night from him. He let me know that he lost his room key and Front Desk wouldn't let him in his room. I called the Front Desk and inquired about the situation. They let me know that because his name was not registered on the room that they would not allow him to have a room key as that is their policy. I gave Front Desk all of the information on who's name it was registered under (full name, phone number and address) and they still would not give my boyfriend a room key. Frustrated at this point, I asked to speak with management and they put me through to the manager on duty that night. I explained the situation to him and he still gave me the same line "His name is not registered on the room, so we cannot give him a room key as that is our policy". I called and woke my friend up in the middle of the night whom her fiance was sharing a room with my boyfriend and asked her to call the Casino to give talk to them to see if she could persuade them more than I could. She called me back and let me know that they escorted him up to the room and finally let him in. I could not believe the terrible customer service I received over the phone, I had more than enough information for them to let my boyfriend into a room that he paid hundreds of dollars for. Management needs to think about changing their policy, or even ask everyone at check in what are the names of the guests staying in your room. I'm sure if they had asked that question at check in, this whole disaster wouldn't have happened.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TayMet1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the difficult experience you had endured during your stay. We are sorry your boyfriend had problems gaining access to the hotel room as he was not registered at the time of check-in. We unfortunately do not ask our guests during the check-in process if they have additional guests/guest names as some have taken offense to that question in the past.

We place high importance when it comes to the well-being of our guests and as a result, could not give him access due to strict privacy regulations.

Please feel free to call us if you would like to further discuss and we would be more than happy to. We do thank you for staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to make your next trip a memorable one.

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Some coworkers and I split the cost of a room the night of our company Christmas party, and had a good stay. The size of the standard room was a bit smaller than I am used to at other hotels but it was very well appointed. The shower was fantastic and the beds allowed us to grab a good sleep before checking out. Would stay there again,can easily find great rates for this hotel. Great access to the airport, and casino onsite for those who are so inclined.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Julie,

Fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We take pride in offering first-class comfort at our facility and glad to hear you enjoyed a peaceful sleep on one of our Serta Perfect Sleeper Mattresses! Stay connected on our social media network to learn more about our special dining offers and hotel deals.

Take care and we hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Casino Resort

Property: River Rock Casino Resort
Address: 8811 River Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Rock Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Rock Casino Resort is Western Canada's only 4-Diamond Casino Resort located in Beautiful British Columbia. Situated next to the Fraser River in Richmond, River Rock's stunning location has waterfront and city views of Vancouver and the North Shore Mountains. With the Canada Line transit system right at the resort's doorstep, getting to downtown Vancouver is only 18 minutes away and the Vancouver International Airport is just a quick 7 minute ride. Featuring deluxe guest rooms, luxurious one and two bedroom suites, Executive rooms and spacious penthouse suites - River Rock has something to suit everyone. Amenities include a show theatre with world-class entertainment, a 24-hour casino with slots, table games and poker room, 10 food and beverage outlets, Spa, fitness centre, salt water swimming pool and business and conference centre. River Rock Casino Resort has everything you need to create the perfect mix for both business and pleasure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your River Rock Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Richmond
River Rock Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing