We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and near airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
River Rock Casino Resort
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and near airport”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is quite the spot. The hotel is very modern with a casino, restaurants and entertainment centre across the road. It's very quiet and the bed are to die for. The food court across the street had lots of choices to pick from.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayDubinHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback! We take pride in offering the most comfortable and enjoyable stay to our guests, both for business and pleasure travel.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed a peaceful sleep on one of our Serta Perfect Sleeper Mattresses during your business trip! Also happy to hear you were also able to find some downtime to enjoy the restaurants and entertainment on the resort casino side.

We thank you for choosing River Rock and look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    553
    161
    62
    55
See reviews for
363
528
71
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, Ca.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We checked out of our Seattle hotel a day early so that we could drive up to BC for a night. My 20 year old daughter was looking forward to being able to gamble in Canada where the age is only 19. When we arrived the room was very nicely appointed.

I had read ahead of time that we would need to exchange our US dollars for Canadian. No problem I went straight to the cashier and exchanged $1000.00 US for 1050 Canadian. They gave me a slip of paper receipt and said if I come back before 5:30 am I can exchange back to US dollar for no charge.

We went to the Craps table and noticed that no cocktail waitresses coming around. I asked and was told that you had to buy your drinks at the bar. That is a pain but oh well. I left the craps table and went to the bar and paid $7.00 bucks for a drink which I thought was a rip off. I went through all my cash pretty quickly so we decided to get dinner. We found out that our 16 year old son could not eat at the food court and only had one choice for dinner which was a place called Curve I think. We looked at the Menu and none of my family wanted any of the options. My wife , Daughter and I ended up eating food court crap and getting my son a slice of pizza once we finished. He ended up getting sick later that night.

We decided to go back to the casino for more action but needed to hit the ATM to get cash. We were told that all ATMs were out in the casino. They blamed the Phone company in Canada for this issue but they said you can go off site and find an ATM if we wanted. Who wants to go try and find an ATM at night in BC? We decided to just give up but my wife still had $200.00 Canadian that she wanted to exchange back for US dollars. When she went to the cashier and handed them the money and her receipt for her original $300.00 she started with they told her that she can only cash it in if she had exactly $300.00. What the heck is that all about? Who breaks even in the casino? You either win or lose and it is hardly ever exact. The lady behind the counter said that is how it works so sorry.

I can say for sure that they will never have to worry about me coming back to gamble in BC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmcd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the experience you had endured during your stay. We are sorry your son had problems gaining access to the food court as any food facility/facility on the casino floor strictly prohibits minors from entering due to regulations.

As for the ATM, we apologize as there may have been a network outage at the time that was out of our control. The only ones working were the ones on the casino floor at the time.

As policy for currency exchanges, buybacks are to be returned in the full amount that was initially exchanged. We unfortunately cannot do partial buybacks with the $300 you had remaining. It would have to have been the full $1050 CDN in order to do the full exchange for you.

Please feel free to call us if you would like to further discuss and we would be more than happy to. We do thank you for staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to make your next trip a memorable one.

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The River Rock Casino and Resort was a pleasant surprise when we had to overnight in Vancouver between a cruise and catching a flight in the morning. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. It is luxurious with a very reasonable price. Although there are not many amenities around the hotel, the hotel offers great bar and restaurant options as well as the casino if you want to be entertained. Depending on when you are there, it also offers great music and entertainment in its theatre. Depending on your room, you may have a great view of the marina. It is only a short walk to get to a walking path along the bay. Airport is a few minutes cab ride away and cabs are always available at the front door - no waiting for a cab.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Lily,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are pleased to hear you chose to make River Rock your overnight stay during the course of your cruise trip. We take pride in offering first-class comfort at our facility and glad to hear you enjoyed the spacious rooms with a beautiful view of the marina, entertainment at our theatre and convenient access to the airport.

We thank you for choosing River Rock and hope you had an amazing time on the cruise!

Take care and we hope to see you back again soon.

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Upon arrival we opted to use the valet parking (12 Canadian dollars) but it was well worth the money. Every time we needed the car it was with us within minutes and the front of hotel staff were very friendly (particularly the English guy...forgotten his name). It was no hassle to go up to the 3rd floor for check-in and we were thrilled to discover that we had been upgraded from the Executive Suite we'd booked to a Penthouse Suite. What can I say about the suite except it was utterly fabulous. Everything about it from the huge bathroom with a large jet bath, extra toilet, kitchen area, large lounge, dining area, dressing area and gorgeous bedroom was perfect. We even had a view of the marina and airport. Yes, you could hear the planes going overhead but the planes do stop overnight and it didn't disturb our sleep as the room was well insulated. Personally, we had great fun watching the planes land!! The bed has to be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and coming home I am so desperate to get a new bed now like the one at River Rock. I have never slept so well!

During our time at River Rock we ate and drank at Curve and Lulu's (good food and friendly staff) and the breakfast buffet provided a good selection. The band at Lulu's was fabulous and the atmosphere was great. We did go in the casino for one evening but did not really know what we were doing (not born again gamblers) but it was fun until we ran out of the money we'd chosen to spend!! We used a helpful lady on the concierge desk to book our boat trip to see the whales, which was a fabulous, highly recommended trip. We also conveniently jumped on the sky train (access through the hotel) to visit Downtown Vancouver then hired bikes and cycled the perimeter of Vancouver.

There isn't much around the hotel but that didn't matter to us as we had a car or jumped on the train. The marina is nice to wander around in the evening. We enjoyed using the pool one morning but didn't use the spa as the prices were a little too pricey for us.

If you stay and have a car, a trip to Whistler is well worth it. Took us 2 hours to get there but you need to leave early to make the most of your day there.

All in all, we had a brilliant stay made better by our room, view and the staff. If I ever return to Vancouver, I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the River Rock Casino Resort and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the amenities we offer – short sky train ride to a scenic downtown Vancouver, the west coast inspired pool, the hustle and bustle of casino games, meals and drinks at our many food facilities, and the beautiful marina view after being upgraded to the Penthouse suite! We take pride in offering first-class comfort at our facility and glad to hear you enjoyed a peaceful sleep on one of our Serta Perfect Sleeper Mattresses!

We are also pleased to hear you were able to get out of the city and take in BC for its beauty while bike riding around the city perimeters and the scenic sea-to-sky drive up to Whistler.

This truly does sound like the perfect trip and we look forward to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Vancouver!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Ile-Perrot, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Beautiful, well appointed, well run and close to the airport and the sky train station. The room was well set up and well equipped. The buffet supper was varied and everything was properly prepared. The staff was friendly and attentive.
I am not a gambler, but I enjoyed watching the family use the casino. There were a variety of machines and table games and the bar staff and service staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We take pride in providing the best customer service possible and glad your encounters with all of our staff were pleasant ones!

We are pleased to hear you had an amazing stay with us and were able to enjoy dinner at The Buffet and convenient sky train access to the airport!

We thank you for choosing River Rock and hope to see you and the family back again soon!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights on our way in and out of the Vancouver area....The staff was attentive and very friendly, especially Daphne at the concierge desk. She was awesome and very helpful. Thank you! The location and the amenities were great. Easy access to YVR airport. I enjoyed the casino and hope to go back and win next time!

Room Tip: Close to airport and in the flight path but well and insulated and quiet for location. Rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We take pride in providing the best customer service possible and glad your encounters with all of our staff were pleasant ones!

I will forward your comments to Daphne’s supervisor team as well as submit a nomination into our employee recognition program and the Vancouver Tourism Awards Program for her outstanding service.

We are pleased to hear you had an amazing stay with us and were also able to take pleasure in the casino games and convenient sky train access to the airport!

We thank you for choosing River Rock and hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

While it was a hotel parking lot in which we parked, the directions to the hotel reception desk were very poorly marked and frustrating. After checking in, we were advised to move our car to prevent it being towed, which we did, at inconvenience. We found out later we didn't actually have to move it. Finding the parking to be free was a bonus; the challenge of the experience negated that.
We gently expressed our concerns at check out and the response was tepid. We certainly didn't feel that the clerk empathized with our position.
However, the room and facilities were quite nice. Room service was outstanding and reasonably priced. In summary, could be a great facility if only the staff could be better trained.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVRReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We will remind the Front Office staff to provide proper directions and information about our self and valet parking options at check-in.

We appreciate your business. Please feel free to contact us directly when you return to Richmond on your next trip to Vancouver/Richmond so we can assist you with your reservation and offer free valet parking.

We are pleased you enjoyed rest of our facilities and appreciate the positive feedback. Thank you for choosing River Rock for your stay and hope to have you back again in the near future!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Casino Resort

Property: River Rock Casino Resort
Address: 8811 River Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#6 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Rock Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Rock Casino Resort is Western Canada's only 4-Diamond Casino Resort located in Beautiful British Columbia. Situated next to the Fraser River in Richmond, River Rock's stunning location has waterfront and city views of Vancouver and the North Shore Mountains. With the Canada Line transit system right at the resort's doorstep, getting to downtown Vancouver is only 18 minutes away and the Vancouver International Airport is just a quick 7 minute ride. Featuring deluxe guest rooms, luxurious one and two bedroom suites, Executive rooms and spacious penthouse suites - River Rock has something to suit everyone. Amenities include a show theatre with world-class entertainment, a 24-hour casino with slots, table games and poker room, 10 food and beverage outlets, Spa, fitness centre, salt water swimming pool and business and conference centre. River Rock Casino Resort has everything you need to create the perfect mix for both business and pleasure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Rock Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Richmond
River Rock Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing