We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't use the swimming pool, very dirty, and slimmy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
River Rock Casino Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Ladysmith,British Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“can't use the swimming pool, very dirty, and slimmy”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have stayed at the River Rock a few times, when we head to Vancouver we always book at the River Rock because we love the pool there, and the rooms are always clean and the staff are number 1, but very disappointed in our last stay there(August, 6, y2014) the pool was so disgusting , it was slimmy and un usable, we were very disappointed because we spend a lot of time in the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 885lauralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the River Rock and for providing us with your feedback.

We are proud to hear that you always enjoyed your stay but truly sorry that the pool was not up to par during your last visit. We sincerely apologize for the appearance of the pool and have already advised our Chief Engineer of your comments. We will look back in our Maintenance log so we can find out what the pH and chemical levels in the pool were on August 6 and see what corrective actions we took.

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    536
    158
    58
    53
See reviews for
349
518
70
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one evening while she was attending a work conference that included meetings on both the Saturday and Sunday. The hotel itself has been refurbished from many years back when it used to be a shopping mall, you would not know it now. As others have commented that the hotel is in two parts, we were staying on the newer section close to the metro system and not the original section that includes the casino but you can move easily between the two. We faced the train/metro platform and never heard it so we may have been high enough but this did not pose an issue for us. The room was very nice, modern looking, sleek fixtures, little touches that added to the whole experience, coffee maker, robes, mini fridge, chair and work station, large bathroom. We had the chance to visit one of the suites in the original building on the 12 floor, wow, large balcony with wet bar and two bathrooms. If you have the budget look at these rooms.

My one and only complaint is that all of the rooms are pet friendly. We discovered this after both myself and my wife stepped in wet spots on the carpet in our room. We confirmed our suspicioin by putting down face cloths and seeing them soak up yellow liquid. The call to the front desk dealt with the situation very quickly, slipplers were brought up a credit was given to us for drinks and the breakfast buffet and while we were out for dinner they came up and shampooed the carpets. Every effort was made to correct the situation but it is still unfortuneate the some do not take care of their pet responsibilities and leave others to step in them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FP4BMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the River Rock Casino Resort and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We truly apologize that the issue was not caught by the housekeeper. We do have a policy in place where we require guests to advise us if pets will be coming in so we can deep clean the room upon their departure. Unfortunately not all guests advise us; however, we are pleased to see our staff rectify the situation immediately for you.

We continuously strive to make the stay as comfortable as possible for our guests and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the spacious rooms along with the many amenities we offer.

We thank you and your wife for choosing to stay at the River Rock and hope to make your next stay with us a more memorable one!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the River Rock in July and I must say it couldn't be in a better location! The Hotel is right in front of the Sky Train Station in Richmond which Is a 20 Minute ride from downtown Vancouver! The Hotel is super modern and our room and bathroom were very clean! The Casino is right across the street. It has a great pool and gym which is free to use! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3JAS526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the River Rock Casino Resort and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the amenities we offer – short sky train ride to a scenic downtown Vancouver, the west coast inspired pool and the hustle and bustle of the casino games!

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return stay with us.

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed over night at this hotel rooms were nice the bedding was amazing. The pool was nice with a slide and hot tub and a few loungers out side. We ate at the buffet great value for the money the food was good, great crab and lots of variety. The casino was nice not a lot of variety of machines.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caryll B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the River Rock Casino Resort and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We take pride in offering first-class comfort at our facility and glad to hear you enjoyed a peaceful sleep on one of our Serta Perfect Sleeper Mattresses! We are thrilled to hear that you were also able to take advantage of the many other amenities we offer – the west coast inspired pool, the hustle and bustle of casino games and the delicious array of selection at The Buffet!

We thank you for choosing River Rock and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We needed a break in early August and had stayed here previously. We were not disappointed.

For new visitors to Vancouver the hotel is located in Richmond, the area close to Vancouver International Airport, near the main highways to Washington State. It is also an easy connection from the Tsawwassen Ferry Terminal. Another plus for this hotel is that it is adjacent to the Bridgeport Station on the Skytrain making getting downtown and to the airport very easy. We drove and covered gated parking came with our room rate.

The hotel is modern design and well maintained and serviced. Front desk staff are pleasant and informative. Our standard room was clean, adequate in size and well furnished. Bathroom large and well fitted out and all the usual mod cons (coffee maker, wifi ) worked well. The room was quiet and comfortable.

The gym in the casino complex across the street (connected by walkway) was well fitted out and not busy at seven in the evening. It looked down on a large pool/hot tub area which also was not busy on a mid-week evening. My wife used the spa and was pleased with the massage.

All in all a nice stay. Most people clearly come to visit the casino but the proximity to the airport and the Skytrain make it a good place to access Richmond which has some spectacular Asian cuisine and downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your amazing feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer – the spacious rooms, the award-winning Absolute spa, the west coast inspired pool/fitness facility, short sky train ride to the Vancouver Airport, the location being so close to the Tsawassen Ferry Terminal and main highways, and last but not least, the endless dining options within and outside of the resort.

We thank you for choosing River Rock for your stay and look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is quite the spot. The hotel is very modern with a casino, restaurants and entertainment centre across the road. It's very quiet and the bed are to die for. The food court across the street had lots of choices to pick from.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayDubinHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback! We take pride in offering the most comfortable and enjoyable stay to our guests, both for business and pleasure travel.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed a peaceful sleep on one of our Serta Perfect Sleeper Mattresses during your business trip! Also happy to hear you were also able to find some downtime to enjoy the restaurants and entertainment on the resort casino side.

We thank you for choosing River Rock and look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, Ca.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We checked out of our Seattle hotel a day early so that we could drive up to BC for a night. My 20 year old daughter was looking forward to being able to gamble in Canada where the age is only 19. When we arrived the room was very nicely appointed.

I had read ahead of time that we would need to exchange our US dollars for Canadian. No problem I went straight to the cashier and exchanged $1000.00 US for 1050 Canadian. They gave me a slip of paper receipt and said if I come back before 5:30 am I can exchange back to US dollar for no charge.

We went to the Craps table and noticed that no cocktail waitresses coming around. I asked and was told that you had to buy your drinks at the bar. That is a pain but oh well. I left the craps table and went to the bar and paid $7.00 bucks for a drink which I thought was a rip off. I went through all my cash pretty quickly so we decided to get dinner. We found out that our 16 year old son could not eat at the food court and only had one choice for dinner which was a place called Curve I think. We looked at the Menu and none of my family wanted any of the options. My wife , Daughter and I ended up eating food court crap and getting my son a slice of pizza once we finished. He ended up getting sick later that night.

We decided to go back to the casino for more action but needed to hit the ATM to get cash. We were told that all ATMs were out in the casino. They blamed the Phone company in Canada for this issue but they said you can go off site and find an ATM if we wanted. Who wants to go try and find an ATM at night in BC? We decided to just give up but my wife still had $200.00 Canadian that she wanted to exchange back for US dollars. When she went to the cashier and handed them the money and her receipt for her original $300.00 she started with they told her that she can only cash it in if she had exactly $300.00. What the heck is that all about? Who breaks even in the casino? You either win or lose and it is hardly ever exact. The lady behind the counter said that is how it works so sorry.

I can say for sure that they will never have to worry about me coming back to gamble in BC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmcd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland M, General Manager at River Rock Casino Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the experience you had endured during your stay. We are sorry your son had problems gaining access to the food court as any food facility/facility on the casino floor strictly prohibits minors from entering due to regulations.

As for the ATM, we apologize as there may have been a network outage at the time that was out of our control. The only ones working were the ones on the casino floor at the time.

As policy for currency exchanges, buybacks are to be returned in the full amount that was initially exchanged. We unfortunately cannot do partial buybacks with the $300 you had remaining. It would have to have been the full $1050 CDN in order to do the full exchange for you.

Please feel free to call us if you would like to further discuss and we would be more than happy to. We do thank you for staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to make your next trip a memorable one.

All the best,
Roland Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Casino Resort

Property: River Rock Casino Resort
Address: 8811 River Rd, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 3P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Rock Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Rock Casino Resort is Western Canada's only 4-Diamond Casino Resort located in Beautiful British Columbia. Situated next to the Fraser River in Richmond, River Rock's stunning location has waterfront and city views of Vancouver and the North Shore Mountains. With the Canada Line transit system right at the resort's doorstep, getting to downtown Vancouver is only 18 minutes away and the Vancouver International Airport is just a quick 7 minute ride. Featuring deluxe guest rooms, luxurious one and two bedroom suites, Executive rooms and spacious penthouse suites - River Rock has something to suit everyone. Amenities include a show theatre with world-class entertainment, a 24-hour casino with slots, table games and poker room, 10 food and beverage outlets, Spa, fitness centre, salt water swimming pool and business and conference centre. River Rock Casino Resort has everything you need to create the perfect mix for both business and pleasure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Rock Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Richmond
River Rock Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing