We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel as advertised”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Recently came back from a vacation to the Pacific Northwest including Vancouver. The stay at this hotel was as advertised. The facility and room were new and clean, as pictured in its website. The breakfast was fair with both hot and cold choices, but not as varied as some other, albeit more expensive, establishments. Anything not out (i.e.-hard-boiled eggs and blueberry yogurt) was quickly brought out by the staff upon request. The gym could be better equipped by adding free weights. Although it is located in a remote area in southern Richmond, it is adjacent to an entertainment complex and a quick drive to the Richmond Chinatown area. I would definitely recommend this hotel to visitors in the Vancouver area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hello BryanHE,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate your feedback.
It was wonderful to hear you enjoyed the rooms, breakfast and location. In addition, we will look further into adding free weights to the gym. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,

Scott Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    351
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
348
215
57
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and comfortable but is a Very long way from downtown Vancouver and it is not in a pretty part of town! The photo's online are definitely deceiving. The car park is chaotic and the breakfast set up is worse. No fresh fruit or yoghurt are readily available and I had to ask for them. No hot water available for cups of tea, had to ask for that too! The seating area is not big enough and there is an overflow into the conference room which is odd. The quality of the ingredients is good and the food and drink when you could actually get some was of good quality. Overall it was a comfortable, clean place to lay our heads and the staff were pleasant, helpful and courteous but 2 nights were enough!
Disappointing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Matthew H,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts. On the other hand, we are deeply sorry your breakfast experience fell below your expectations, and that our hotel location was a letdown during your stay.

Please be assured that all feedback will be acted upon as we rely on you, our valued guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We would love to welcome you back for a completely satisfying hotel stay.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I checked into this hotel on August 9, 2014 and checked out on August 11, 2014. From the time we checked in until we checked out we enjoyed everything about our stay and the service we received. The staff where extremely courteous and helpful in every way. The front desk was very welcoming and the manager on duty went out of her way to assist.
The room we had was clean, quiet and very comfortable in every way. It was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in in recent years.
It is quite close to a number of great facilities such as movies, restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: We had a suite which included a separate sitting room from the bedroom which had a king size bed. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamjambc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Pamjambc,

Thank you kindly for your glowing review and for choosing to stay with us.

It is extremely rewarding knowing you had such a memorable experience and that we were able to go beyond your expectations. We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with us and hope to have you back at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Riverport | Richmond again soon.

All the best,

Scott Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Newer hotel, very friendly staff, and very close to many attractions. I enjoyed my stay very much, the hotel staff was excellent, very helpful, and always looking out for the customer. I enjoyed the exercise room and pool facilities. Breakfast was very good, my only request would be to have it open at 6am instead of 6:30am because I had to rush to work. Would certainly stay again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosmozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Kosmozoo,

We greatly appreciate the review and can't thank you enough for the wonderful compliments.
It is pleasing to hear that the hotel staff were able to assist you and that you were able to take advantage of our fitness and pool facilities.

Next time you are at the property, please feel free to let the front desk know that you need to come in earlier for breakfast so we can accommodate you.

Looking forward to your next stay.
All the best,

Scott Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Newer facility, very nice. Restaurants, etc. are a short drive away. Excellent breakfast with a good selection. Comfortable rooms. Did not use the pool but it looked inviting. A little delay with check-in (trainee was having problems) but nothing major. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello Warren B,

Greatly appreciate the rave review.

We are happy to hear you like the recent renovations on the property. We just added 42 suites perfect for groups, and extended stay guests. In addition, we upgraded the breakfast room, lobby and meeting room facilities.

I also want to apologize for any delay you experienced during check-in and thank you for your patience. We look forward to your next visit and hope you will take advantage of the hotel amenities then.

All the best,

Scott Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is nice, right near a huge movie theatre and a few restaurants, but in the middle of blueberry country. The breakfast was great, but not enough room for people to sit and eat, we had to wait a long time to get a table, and with two little kids that is a trial. The pool was nice and used a few time by us in the two nights that we stayed. We arrived at 4 and our room still was not ready (check-in was 3) Being pregnant, with two kids and having taken a train from the port to the airport, and then a car from the airport to the hotel, I was exhausted, and had to wait even longer. When we got to the room around 4:30 it was clean, but we had to call for towels and pillows, as there was only one on our bed. We got subway for dinner which is just a walk through the parking lot. The tv stations were wonderful, and the free wi-fi was great too. The second night we got in at 4 and our room had not been cleaned, so again we called down for towels and more toiletries. The maid showed up at 6 and asked if we wanted our room cleaned. What is the point at this time? We dropped off our rental car that night and took the shuttle back to the hotel, and took the shuttle back to the airport in the morning. That was a great perk. The staff was friendly, but everything seemed to take forever.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSchu's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time and effort to do so.

I would like to apologize for the discomfort and inconvenience caused by these hitches. Although we do have a number of new teams members as a result of our recent expansion, we remain committed to meeting the needs of our guests. Clearly this did not happen on your recent stay with us.

Would you like to discuss your concerns with me directly? I can be reached at gm@hierichmond.com or via phone at 604-248-8204.

Once again, my apologies

Scott Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family & I (2 adults/2 teens) stayed in this hotel for 4 days in late July. Movie theater, a few restaurants (Subway, Old Spaghetti House & others) w/in walking distance. A short drive to other malls/restaurants. There is a "mini store" located on the main floor of this hotel where you can purchase drinks/snacks etc. Small pool, gym & laundry facility also located on main floor.

Our room consisted of 2 queen size beds, a small table/2 chairs, a microwave & a mini refrigerator. The room was very clean & felt quite spacious (we don't spend much time in the hotel since we're out & about). The hotel staff were very friendly & prompt when asked for more towels/shampoo etc. Ice/soda machines were located in a small room near the elevators, so had no issues w/ unwanted noise.


Hot breakfast is served every morning: eggs, meat, potatoes, an assortment of pastries/bread, oatmeal, cold & hot cereals, fresh fruit, cold & hot beverages & pancakes. Enough to get you through the morning. Dining room holds about 20-25 people, however the staff will open up the conference room for overflow. There is also a large table/chairs fronting the big screen TV just outside the dining room.

Overall, we had a great time @ this Holiday Inn Express. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kane82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhieriverport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello Kane82,

Thank you kindly for the glowing review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on providing quality hospitality and we are so pleased to hear that you were well looked after during your stay with us. I will be sharing the wonderful comments you posted on Trip Advisor with our team.

We look forward to your next visit.
All the best,

Scott Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
885 reviews
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport
Address: 10688 No. 6 Rd | at Steveston Highway, Richmond, British Columbia V6W 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond
#2 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Riverport | Richmond! Only the best for you, our hotel offers a complimentary on-demand 24/hour airport shuttle (call for pick-up), free parking, a complimentary Express Start Hot Buffet Breakfast, free high-speed wireless and wired internet as well as complimentary local calls. Relax after a hard days work or go for a leisure swim in the pool. Dip in the hot tub or simply fit in a last minute workout in our fitness centre. Planning a meeting? Look no further. The property offers spacious and technology-friendly meeting rooms equipped for any size group. Our staff are warm, attentive, and ready to help your event run flawlessly. Our Executive Boardroom is perfect for small groups of up to 14 people while our Banquet Hall seats up to 90. You'll love our location as we are conveniently located near several local attractions and business centres as well as to Vancouver and (YVR) Vancouver International Airport. Travellers enjoy staying at our hotel as they experience everything the Richmond and Vancouver area has to offer. Perfect for families or Business Travel in Metro Vancouver, we are just steps from the Richmond Ice Center, Watermania, and the Riverport Sports & Entertainment Complex. Numerous restaurants including two fabulous pubs and 19 movie theatres as well as, bowling are within walking distance. Nature lovers can tour the Vancouver Aquarium or explore the many parks in the area. Historic Steveston in Richmond and Gastown in Downtown Vancouver, just minutes from our Richmond hotel, offer visitors a glimpse into the past. Here for business? You'll appreciate our proximity to Ironwood Business Park, Crestwood Corporate Center, Annacis Island, Tilbury Business Area and Richmond General Hospital. Designed with you in mind, our rooms come complete with a fridge, microwave and coffee/tea station. Looking for a little extra room? Then you'll absolutely love our suites. Specialty rooms and Executive Suites to suit your needs - full kitchen; one and two bedroom suites (fully equipped apartment style), in-room Spa Suites, Junior Suites for the Executives, Kitchen Studio Kings, three fully ADA Accessible rooms and Standard King or Two Bedroom Queens rooms are also available. Stay connected with high-speed internet access and be efficient by using our media hubs allowing you to connect to the TV wirelessly via an HDMI plug-in or bluetooth (only available in our Executive Suites). Something for everyone - looking forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Riverport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Riverport
Holiday Inn Express Riverport
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing