We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was so good tonight!”
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #14 of 910 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The food was so good tonight!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hostess cheerfully greeted us at the door and we were seated promptly. Unfortunately, we wanted to sit in a group with a bunch of friends but the restaurant was too busy and we were scattered throughout at tables of four. Otherwise, good with hot tasty food, good service and portions large enough ex did not have room for dessert. Darn. Pleasant atmosphere, like all CC Cafés.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bumsy5147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    72
    22
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food - Painful ambience”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We enjoy the Cactus Club restaurant chain in British Columbia, especially for the well prepared food & innovative menus. Recently we attended in Richmond and were subjected to throbbing background music which combined with the patron conversation was very unpleasant & almost prompted our departure. The owners & management should understand that loud & intrusive music does nothing to mask patron noise but rather increases the overall level of conversation. Dining, even in a restaurant that appeals to the younger set, should include good conversation. Loud music simply increases the overall level of noise. For a pleasant dining experience with both good food & conversation, pass on Richmond Cactus Club. And for the staff there, have a little consideration as we'll!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank activeseniorsKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. ”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Food selection is great. The staff are warm and friendly. Requests for substitutions are readily accepted. This is a favourite location of mine.

Helpful?
Thank stuartt619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Tough Steak..”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

came for a late dinner. The atmosphere was gorgeous., the ambience was relaxed very ideal for a late night. Ordered striploin steak medium. With Beer and Cocktail. The steak was very tough and chewy, No mabling at all but have lots of Tendons in stead. It takes forever to chew it. Like I am having a gum in my mouth. I can't help it, have to say somethiing about it. The server talk to the Chef. Said the striploin cut comes that way. Had to replace it with their recommedation:double braised pineapple hoisin short rib – of course it it will be soft. But not what i would like to eat. Dissapointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GSF_842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My go-to spot.”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I like every Cactus Club.
There was about a half an hour wait when we first arrived but we sat at the bar and had yam fries and a drink (best Sangria anywhere, ever), and were quickly told a table was available.
They have, for winter, converted the covered patio to all weather seating. Although it was nice, the table they put us at was kind of in the middle of the room and the area was brighter and breezier than I wanted. I go to Cactus because I like the dimly-lit, cozy atmosphere mixed with the hustle-bustle. I didn't even need to say this to my initial server - he knew. He quickly arranged for a small booth next to the kitchen and I was super happy.
We shared our new favourite - the Szcheuan Beans - and a couple more drinks and took our time ordering entrees - Salmon Rice bowl and a burger. Perfect and exactly what we were craving. It's awesome that each CC has it's own style, but the drinks and food are always spot-on. This was our first time to the Richmond one and, if I can sit in the restaurant side, I'll definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank applesandantlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing