We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced”

Kirin Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 895 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The restaurant is fancy but the food is average. For the price and hype, it is not the most satisfying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kadence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    59
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good dim sum - but overpriced!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

My family went to Kirin for Dimsum last weekend and ordered the standard dishes; shrimp dumplings, pork and shrimp, rice rolls, chicken feet, etc. The food was pretty good but perhaps placed too much on presentation over quality and price. The final price came to close to $65 - compared to maybe $30 I would pay in LA or in a less flashy restaurant for similar quality.

Also - you have to order off a menu vs. the traditional pushcarts. The advantage is that the food arrives warm - the downside - it's just not the same experience!

Net - if you are looking for fairly good Dimsum and are willing to pay a premium price for presentation and experience, check this place out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rkwok68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This is the real deal in dim sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Great selection of traditional dim sum offerings. I imagine if you wanted to splurge, you could go really big here. We saw some gorgeous lobster go by. All the dim sum was first rate, well prepared and promptly delivered (most of it was not served off of carts when we visited for a Friday lunch). The staff speaks Chinese first, English second, at least the waitstaff we had. Not a problem if you know your way around dim sum. Could be interesting if you aren't familiar with dim sum dishes. Big bright dining room full of people who obviously know a thing or two about dim sum - Chinese business people, Chinese grandma's and grandpa's, Chinese families. I would suggest reservations. We didn't have any, but I think we got lucky!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharonincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
390 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good quality, lots of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

No disrespect intended, but I know this must be a good place for Asian food when I'm the only non-Asian in the place, and the place is packed... on a Thursday evening! Service is quick and attentive and prices are reasonable but not a bargain. Only problem was finding the front door which is off the street and on the back side of the building but easily found if you are coming from the parking lot.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA State
Level Contributor
220 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Top notch Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Today we did Dim Sum at Kirin, more or less as a spur of the moment idea. Lunch time on a Friday and the place was quite full. Even so, we got in with about a 15 minute wait which actually was quite enjoyable, doing some people watching.

The restaurant is quite large and very nicely decorated. The service was impeccable and the food excellent. If there was any (picky) criticism we could have it was that some of the deep fried dishes were slightly oilier than they needed to be. On the other hand the BBQ buns were among the best I have had and the prawn/crab/seaweed rolls were superb.

The Dim Sum menu is quite extensive and contains some unique items for the “more adventurous” eaters. (Some items, like the deep fried milk may seem a bit strange due to tortured translation). On balance, the whole experience was outstanding. If a “local trip to Canton” is your thing, this is a must do.

Note that the restaurant is hard to see from the road. Look for the parking area in front of The Bay off Westminster Hwy at the shopping center. The surface parking area can be quite full. The restaurant has its own indoor/garage parking. Take your ticket in for validation. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Semibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kirin Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Kirin Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing