We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Japanese restaurant in Vancouver/Richmond”

Ichiro Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 902 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Steveston
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite Japanese restaurant in Vancouver/Richmond”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Ichiro restaurant is located in the Steveston area, which is well-known to be the film location of "once upon a time." Ichiro brings out the best authentic Japanese food in, I would say the Lower Mainland.

This restaurant was recommended to us by a family friend. Since then, I have been to the restaurant many times, and have always recommended to local + visitng guests. Walking in, you know the restaurant is great just by how neat and tidy it is. The servers I have met so far have all been Japanese, which is a great cultural experience compared to a diverse range of servers from other all you can eat or small Japanese restaurants.

The price is certainly higher than the average Japanese restaurant, and it is totally worth it. The quality is great and you will not be disappointed by any of the items they bring out. The sashimi is always fresh and everything is presented so nicely.

If you are in a tight budget but want to try them out, I would certainly suggest their box sets. It ranges up to $26 which is very affordable in terms of what they give you. The Matsu, which is what they recommend give you: various nigiri, various sashimi, miso soup, california roll, ebi suno mono, various tempura, and chicken teriyaki. Trust me, you would be so full with this alone.

If you want to be a lil more adventurous, try their monthly special roll. Every month they would feature a special roll that is created and will only be served during that month. Their Steveston roll is also delicious. For something hot, they have mussels in a delicious broth and you also can't go wrong with their tempura!

For dessert, you have to try the deep fried ice cream which they also smartly named "dino egg" dessert. Great for sharing!

This restaurant is very popular so make sure you make reservations if you want to visit during a busy night!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy Candy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    34
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I had trouble finding the place at first (despite GPS) - from the outside it doesn't look like much. On the inside it is a very busy place (full of obviously Japanese customers, which I think is a recommendation in itself). The staff is very friendly (I didn't have a reservation and they were full when I first arrived (on a Monday night at around 7pm), but they got me a reservation for half an hour later, and I spent the wait in a nearby park at the ocean). Service is quick, the place is reasonably priced, but most importantly, the food is excellent!

If you are in Richmond and into Japanese food (they have a lot more Japanese dishes on their menu than just Sushi), definitely check this place out - it might be wise to get a reservation, though, because they are very popular.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“better than your run of the mill Sushi joint”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Place to go for better than average Japanese food. We enjoyed grilled beef tongue (cooked tender), beef tataki (nothing special),oyster motayaki (not too greasy), all sushi ordered was well made (rice soft and seafood fresh), katsu don (good, not large order). A bit pricier, small delicately presented dishes than many Japanese restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Audrey19602012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

For the best authentic Japanese food in Richmond! Sashimi is always fresh and the hot foods awesome too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvfood18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sample the local fish”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I love sashimi. And I love going to Steveston. There is a great fish market on the wharf, and when it's salmon season, a great place to find fresh whole fish. They also sell sea urchins, or uni, that can be eaten raw in sushi. I was curious, but not enough to buy the live urchins and take them home. So...

For lunch we went to Ichiro, a well established Japanese restaurant in Steveston. And they had fresh uni in many variations. There was uni sushi, a Kaisen Don, an assortment of fresh fish with uni over rice, and a roll.

It was not fancy, but good quality. The uni was sweet and fresh and a treat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireFromYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ichiro Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Ichiro Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing