We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Vancouver Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grouse Inn(North Vancouver)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lonsdale Quay Hotel(North Vancouver)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Buchan Hotel(Vancouver)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
69
132
82
22
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
132
82
22
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinestanley parkcapilano suspension bridgegrouse mountainroom was cleanfree breakfastfree parkingbusy streetyogurtoutdoor poollast minute bookingfridge and microwaveeasy accessan older hotelshort drivetwo queen bedshorseshoe bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is an independently owned motel and attention to detail and pride of ownership were evident throughout the property. We liked the location, and the easy access to Lions Gate Bridge, downtown Vancouver and Stanley Park. This is a "budget" motel so expecting anything else would be unrealistic. The rooms were large, clean and updated. There is a nice pool on the property.( It would be nice to have a map of the property in the room, it took me forever to find the ice machine- it is in the laundry room.) Breakfast was good but seemed understaffed. The two women who were washing dishes and re stocking food were constantly on the run and they were always out of something. Over all, we really liked it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank road trip'n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to your liking. Having a map of the building in the rooms is an interesting idea which we will definitely consider. We occasionally have very busy morning when our staff shows their high efficiency and competence, and on an average morning they are well up to the task. We do take pride in our property and everything we do and it is very rewarding to know that our guests notice it. We strive to provide good value and a comfortable stay. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in Vancouver.

Yours in hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The rooms were clean. But no help was offered with the bags. The manager was completely rude and didn't seem to have a clue about local attractions, nor did he seem interested in helping us. The breakfast was badly organised and buses of school children piling in made for an unpleasant experience. The lady who worked in the breakfast room was obviously working her best and was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraserAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are glad to know that you found the rooms clean and the breakfast staff helpful. We do have a lot of sports teams that stay with us, and although there are a lot of them they are usually very good about keeping the noise to a minimum and being respectful of the other guests. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in Vancouver.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and 6 month old stayed in the North Vancouver Hotel for one night to break up a trip from Victoria (Vancouver Island) to Whistler. We also chose this hotel for it's closeness to Capilano Suspension Bridge.

Our stay overall was fine, we booked with Booking.com and received a room on the bottom level, close to the street and across from the reception - but didn't hear much traffic during the night. The room was clean, tidy and crisp. They supplied a cot for our son with bedding. The kitchen in the room was small - I wouldn't cook there, but good enough to maybe heat something on the stove or in the microwave.

A 15 minute walk around the corner accessed a Save On Foods as well as other shops - 10 minutes in the opposite direction were fast food outlets.

The only issue we had was that we required a kettle to boil water for our son's formula, when we asked for one the response was 'there should be one there' even though there wasn't - and that was it. Luckily there was a saucepan and stove as a poor back up.

The free breakfast is average, and the room to eat in is tiny. We lobbed in around 8am and we had to sit outside in the rain, under a small marquee that leaked. The free WiFi is also quite slow / non-exisent. Go to Denny's around the corner for faster..!

There are a bunch of other hotels on this strip - Best Western etc... check them out for better prices, they all looked the same as this hotel. Good for a one night stay, mainly because there's not much in this area of Vancouver to keep you there any longer than a stop off trip.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom level - I don't think there are lifts, so that would have been hard for people with prams or wheelchairs. Whilst on a main road, we didn't hear much traffic.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your thorough review. We are pleased to know that you found our location convenient and our rooms clean and comfortable. We do have kettles at front desk for guests to use but there would not be one already in a kitchenette room. It is our mistake that front desk did not inform you of this and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We have an indoor seating and outdoor seating for breakfast, and there is also the option to take the food back to your room. We are aware that our Wi-Fi is slow due to shared band width and a large volume of traffic and are in the process of upgrading it.

There is a lot to do and see in North Vancouver, not to mention it is just 10 minutes from downtown and has way more reasonable prices. Just up the road from us is Capilano Suspension Bridge and Grouse Mountain. We have Park Royal shopping mall 5 minutes away and Ambleside beach. Maybe next time you are here you can enjoy all the great things there is to do around our hotel.


Yours truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a double queen room close to the main road. The room was not cleaned well, with hair in the hair dryer and shower, and dust on the surfaces. My general opinion is that it was a little run down. However, the location is great, the breakfast is good (cold and warm options), and the staff were very nice and helpful. Everyone else seems to love this hotel, so perhaps we just had a bad room.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sunnygrrlSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you found the location convenient, the breakfast to your taste and the staff friendly and helpful. It is very unusual that we would have a room that was not thoroughly cleaned. We apologize if that was the case and we hope that you will stay with us again to see that this is not our usual standard. Thank you again for your feedback.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is located in a terrific and within walking distance of other chain hotels and local restaurants. The room was clean, but did have a strange smell that eventually dissipated. Parking is tight and it's an easy drive to get downtown. Earls restaurant is around the corner and should be part of your plans. The front staff were very helpful and the breakfast was average. Other hotels nearby.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C, Manager at North Vancouver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you found our location convenient, and our staff helpful. It is unfortunate that there was an odor in your room. It is possible that you were put in a pet designated room, in which case we would have let you know and offered a discount rate if you don't have a pet with you. Unfortunately we do not have enough information to know exactly what happened. We do, however, apologize for any inconvenience and we hope you will consider staying with us again.


Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews